We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable hotel, refurbishment overdue !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Save Saved
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Strictly Ballroom
Ranked #53 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable hotel, refurbishment overdue !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a double executive room this May.

We tend to concur with several reviews on tripadvisor :

- Good location, right on Darling Harbour, quite central, good connection to public transportation although the most accessible one, the monorail, will be taken down in a few weeks so this advantage will vanish.

- The staff is usually very pleasant and helpful, with special thanks to the concierge, Akif : very gentle, helpful, efficient and of good advice.

- Nice view over the harbour

- Good buffet breakfast. A bit expensive but on the other hand they have this nice policy to offer complementary breakfast for kids staying with adults.

- But significant issue with the overall condition of the hotel : carpets worn and full of stains (some of them I even dare not describe), beds so-so, and furniture missing !! We arrived in a large room with no chair at the desk and nowhere to sit except on the beds. Normally those rooms have a desk chair and a sofa... I was told at the reception that they might not be able to find any, actually. They almost seemed irritated I was asking for that... (finally at least they managed to get a sofa in the room). Room stuffy with no aeration (none working anyway) so after shower it would turn very damp and you can feel the room never gets much fresh air : it smells mouldy. When we checked in there was a nice clean ozonation smell but I guess they do that only between guests and not during your stay (even though we did stay 3 nights).

- Wifi for a hefty price. Quite ridiculous and extortionate considering the price for the room. But on the other hand they have 1/2hour free per day in the lobby and some computers at everyone's disposal.

So not a bad experience, but definitely this hotel could freshen up quite significantly in order to keep justifying its price and grading.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    795
    1,090
    445
    118
    77
See reviews for
779
879
187
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room provided was pretty basic.
My 'platinum' status was not even recognised.
No greet and bell service upon entry, or in exit.
Location on the other hand is excellent.
Service could be better, especially as in my above comment upon 'greet and entry'.
Value in this instance was acceptable.
The quality of sleep achieved upon the beds provided were not as expected. We woke up with excruciating back aches..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are very sorry you were not happy with the allocation of your room. We pride ourselves on all of our rooms being true to the Novotel brand and suitable for all our guests, including our loyalty members. We apologise that the room and bed did not meet your expectations; however we are working towards improving and upgrading all of our rooms.

We have to agree Darling Harbour is an unbeatable location in a renowned tourist destination. We are glad that you found our location perfect for the purpose of your stay.

We are very disappointed to hear that you were not welcomed at our lower floor. We would like to apologies on behalf of our Porters and Concierge who are always waiting with a smile to great and assist our guests however failed to meet expectations on this occasion.

Whilst we cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and would like to welcome you back when you are next visiting Sydney so that we may have an opportunity to provide the service and standards in which we pride ourselves.

Kind Regards
The Novotel Darling Harbour Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Recently my husband and I attended a confrence at the convention centre and so we booked Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. Our room had a fantastic view of the city, the staff were helpful, coffee at the bar downstairs was good and the rooms, though not fancy, were very clean.

As well as being so close to the convention centre, it had many restaurants, Star Casino and Harbourside shopping centre within walking distance. For these reasons and those I mentioned above, I would recommend this hotel. However, if you were after something particulary upmarket, then this one isn't for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

An excellent and well located hotel. Rooms are a generous size. Would prefer a stand alone shower rather than a shower over a bath. The wind down shades on thw windows are excellent and block out all external light.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Cant complain about service, cleanliness or location these are some of its very best qualities. However....my room needed a major renovation with some basic things that had been overlooked eg a hole plaster patched in the ceiling had not been repainted so there was this big ugly patch, tiles in bathroom cracked, grout missing, bath surface chipped & worn. But as I didn't spend much time in my room, it didn't concern me a great deal, it just leaves an impression and that's what you come away with. I left feedback with the hotel so hopefully they act on some of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was welcoming with lovely views of the Sydney Skyline across Darling Harbour. We stayed in a very large beautiful room also with a view of the harbour - two double beds. Happy hour between 5 and 6pm and the food was nice. Car parking a little pricy but this is practically the centre of Sydney. No complaints. Staff friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Room ready on arrival even though we were there 4 hours before offical check in time. The view across Darling Harbour was just beatiful and the lage window framed it to perfection. Had dinner in the hotel restarunt and the meal and presentation were top class. had a bit of a problem as the entree order was lost in the system but easily sorted out. Very comfortable room with all the things you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour.

I apologise that there was a mix up with your order in the restaurant, but I am glad we were able to remedy it and that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards
The Management Team at Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour is a 4.5 star hotel surrounded by the premier attractions of Sydney including the SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums, Star City Casino and the Entertainment Centre. The hotel has direct access to transport, making this the ideal location for business trips, holidays and city breaks. With 525 rooms boasting panoramic views of the city or towards Olympic Park, the hotel features a restaurant, bar, pool, tennis court, gym and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.