We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Save Saved
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Strictly Ballroom
Ranked #53 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Wollongong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Australia Day long weekend with family including 3 primary school boys. Hotel was generally clean and modern but not a lot available on site for kids to do. Pool is small but ok. Boys enjoyed playing Nintendo Wii - 2 available in lobby area. Having said that, you come to Sydney to do stuff around town not particularly to sit in a hotel all day.
Breakfast and dinner were good. We benefitted from discounts with being Accor Advantage Plus members. Avoid arriving for breakfast at 9am as this is peak hour - probably only an issue with full house like it was when we were there. Otherwise it was great to have dinner away from the noise and crowds in the Harbourside shopping centre restaurants and food court in front of the hotel.
The room we got was nice and large with amazing panoramic view of darling harbour. Had all we needed but not always fun being stuck in the room with 3 kids :) Beds were comfortable but we were incredibly unfortunate enough to be disturbed in the middle of the night on both of the nights we were there by a false fire alarm.
The biggest thing going for the hotel is its location - so close to everything including aquarium, powerhouse museum, ferry, IMAX and for us, the fireworks. Made life so easy as a family.
All in all the hotel was a good place to stay, and whilst it probably didn't have a huge wow factor in and of itself, and definitely did not detract from our stay. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    796
    1,091
    445
    119
    77
See reviews for
779
881
187
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My first experience in Australia did not disappoint me to some extend.the location is perfect ,you just take the lift and come down to lower floor and after 2 minutes walk you are I middle of a good food court and then you walk out there and you find yourself in middle of the harbour.
You can walk to anywhere in city centre in just few minutes .

In terms of the hotel itself the reception was fantastic ,quick and easy,the room was OK,big as I booked a two double bed,but the cushions need changing as been very old and dirty.
The one thing that needs huge improvement was breakfast .
You can wait for good few minutes before you find any clean glass or plate,there is just one chef who really did try hard to serve everybody but he was the only one and cold not mange all.
After all fuss that you can see on Australian hotel websites about the bank fats and its pricing
I did expect much higher standard I should say,with the same money or less you can get better
Breakfast anywhere else in the world .

Room Tip: Book a room in high floor and with street view,you will be in darling harbour until late anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Perfect spot to stay close to Maritime Museum for Art Exhibition Would stay again And hope my art is selected again next year ! I also can recommend dinner in the restaurant & breakfast was excellent !! The beds were very comfortable too !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Denise2151,

Congratulations on your art being selected to be on display at the Martime Museum and we do hope that you are selected again also as we look forward to welcoming you back to Sydney.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner. Thank you for providing this lovely feedback on your stay with us.

See you again soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great Location, good amentities and friendly staff...however I requested adjoining rooms as traveling with family (and booked months in advance) but request wasn't fullfilled so it was difficult to spend any family time in our rooms with 5 people squashed onto two beds with no lounge area within the rooms. Also our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4.30pm (check-in time 2pm) and we had to wait a further 1/2 hour before we were able to go to our rooms...they did offer us a complimentary drink though which was nice. Also it was a bit strange having to walk through reception to get to the pool as that was the only access...slightly uncomfortable. Other than that the hotel itself was great, and breakfast delightful and would definitley recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many time during my business trips. The location itself is unbeatable. Unlike those establishments in CBD, Novotel on Darling Harbour has access to CBD within 10 min on foot, 3 min to Darling Harbour, 10 min to the famous Fish market.

The room itself is always clean and spotless.I like best is the roll-down blind which could make me sleep really well even in the day light. Gym though small but work just fine for me. Food quality I must say it is value for money. Very good quality of food! I enjoy the burger (A$16) and sit at its verandah facing Darling Harbour under the blue sky. But the breakfast buffet is a no- no. Too crowded and the quality of breakfast buffet is below par.

Staff are generally friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed three nights and had a room on an upper floor overlooking the harbour. Room had a fantastic view of the harbour, was of a good size, clean, a good bathroom and air con. Breakfast was more than ample with a good variety of choice. There is a good gym and swimming pool area. Location of hotel really is excellent, a walk bridge connects hotel to shopping mall right on darling harbour. Sydney harbour ferry is approx 200 yds, the monorail and hop on hop off bus stops outside. For someone stopping as a tourist this hotel was ideal and would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms facing harbour are away from street and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour is a 4.5 star hotel surrounded by the premier attractions of Sydney including the SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium, Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums, Star City Casino and the Entertainment Centre. The hotel has direct access to transport, making this the ideal location for business trips, holidays and city breaks. With 525 rooms boasting panoramic views of the city or towards Olympic Park, the hotel features a restaurant, bar, pool, tennis court, gym and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, ACCOR, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.