We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on Darling Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #64 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel on Darling Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had a harbour view room, which did have a great view. The location is very convenient for the convention centre, and provides easy access to the main Sydney sights. The hotel breakfast buffet was very good and convenient, although not cheap. The staff were very helpful, and overall this was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Favenmarg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our service and it's location.

Darling Harbour is a renown tourist destination and we pride ourselves in providing friendly service and convenience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    1,175
    506
    149
    93
See reviews for
828
965
194
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

What a great hotel, close to everything and excellent for a young family. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone however leave the car at home. The $80 parking bill for 2 nights was an unpleasant surprise as it was not stated anywhere on my booking information.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Accorhotels.com traveller,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us here at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

In terms of our location, we have to agree with you. Darling Harbour is a renown tourst destination and definately a place to be in Sydney with endless bars, restaurants, attractions, entertainment options and obviously stunning scenery of Darling Harbour and the city skyline.

We apologise for the any inconvenience caused with the car parking price, however, we can confirm that this price is listed on our website and all reservation booking collateral. The car parking we offer is the most convenient and cost effective for all of our guests.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next travelling to Sydney.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Accor's Darling Harbour Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is comfortable and in a convenient location and best suited to short term business travelers or families, but is not a luxury hotel. Don't expect too much or the usual Novotel experience, and then you won't be disappointed. It is great value for money though, with two nights over the weekend costing the same as one night in many other inner city hotels (during March). For the price, it is worth it.

The best thing about Novotel Sydney is the location. It is a 2 min walk down to Cockle Bay/Darling Harbour, where there are ample restaurants, street performers, and a shopping center. The Monorail stop is also a 2 min walk, which quickly gets you to many attractions, including the city center, for a reasonable price. Many attractions are within walking distance, including the Maritime Museum, the Powerhouse Museum, the Exhibition Center, the Wildlife park and Sydney Aquariam, Madame Tassauds, Sydney Ferry stop, Harbour Cruises and many more. There is a taxi rank out the front of the hotel for longer trips.

The rooms are comfortable and a reasonable size (we had a harbour view room with 2 double beds plus an extra roll out bed on the forth floor). Comfortable beds and fairly well appointed bathroom. The shower nozzle is a bit pathetic.The room did have a musty smell, but was clean. Noise wasn't a problem. The view, while not spectacular from the forth floor, is still pleasant. There are GREAT block out blinds.

Overall, the staff really let this hotel down. There were a couple of exceptions, but many were rude and disengaged. We needed to take a taxi and were directed to the taxi rank, but no one ordered one for us. We were made to feel like an inconvenience when we asked to leave our bags at the hotel on our last day. Overall, just not very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast spread is good, but quality of food not great.

I guess the thing to remember is the price compared to other inner city hotels in Sydney. It is very reasonable, and while the hotel isn't excellent, it was comfortable and convenient, and therefore great value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Harbour View Room! The rooms at the back of the hotel have a terrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Found this location to be very convenient to Darling Harbour and the Harbour. Facilities and service were quite good. Could do with another chair in the room for two. Staff were polite and helpful. Food in the restaurant was delightful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hello. I have had a chance to stay at this Hotel. I is not ideal for everyone. My room smelt all musky, I saw a cockroach run across the floor. One of the door men was not ver happy and snorty. The others were helpful and directed us when we asked. The breakfast was not very nice. I hope this helped you very much.They did not give us very well service, because the cleaners did not even give new loo paper, the shower nosle was horrible.

Thank You

Room Tip: Too the right is of the building is darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Jaydy G,

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review. We certainly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

Jaydy G, we were most concerned to hear of your comments regarding your recent stay at Novotel Darling Harbour. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay. We apologise if we did not meet your needs and expectations.

In regards to the sighting of a cockroach in your room, the hotel regularly ensures that pest control treat rooms as necessary. We have not had any reportings of pests recently. We would like to investigate this further to ensure we maintain a high standard and proactive attitude towards pest control. Please contact the hotel directly on +61 2 9288 7116 so we can identify which room you were staying in as well as if the sighting was reported. In future, may I suggest you notify the Duty Manager to ensure we can act immediately and reduce any inconvenience or discomfort.

Jaydy G, it was disappointing to hear your accommodation room did not meet your expectations and you found it to have an odour. Our accommodation rooms are deodourisd on a regular basis. Upon a guest notifying the Duty Manager of their concerns,we are able to implement processes to remove the smell including using an ozone machine or floral spray. In the circumstance that this fails, subject to availability a room move may be organised through reception. Jaydy G, as mentioned previously, please don't hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty to inform them of your concerns so we can attend to these immediately.

Jaydy G, although we can not turn back the clock on your experience, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to demonstrate the service and standard we pride ourselves on and one would expect from Novotel.

Regards,

Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour

Address: 100 Murray Street | Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome and stunning view of Darling Harbour and the city skyline at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, proudly located in one of the world's great waterfront destinations. Connected via undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre, you can walk right outside our doors to an array of restaurants and clubs along with Sydney's premier attractions. Venture over to Sydney City and Darling Harbour, pay a visit to Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, get up close and personal with a Koala at WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, walk under water at SEA LIFE Sydney Aquarium or experience world-renowned exhibits at Powerhouse and National Maritime Museums. Modern and comfortable, the hotel provides a variety of facilities and services all for our guests' well being - Business Centre, 24-hour room service, The Ternary - our brand new restaurant offering Asian & Grill Kitchens along with a Wine Bar & Charcuterie and great recreational facilities including swimming pool, gymnasium and an outdoor tennis court. From our convenient and comfortable accommodations to a myriad of free entertainment and festivals in the precinct, embrace the vibrancy of Sydney at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novetel Sydney
Accor Sydney On Darling Harbour
Sydney Novotel
Darling Harbour Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.