We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour to your Saves list
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Little Pier Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

In the city for our anniversay so stopped at this hotel for the night. Very central within walking distance to everything, but still quiet and peaceful within the hotel. Would definitely recommend and come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    648
    419
    126
    61
See reviews for
268
597
146
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a short layover in Sydney. I checked in late and got a mediocre room.
I missed breakfast in the morning but enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Market City and Sydney Entrainment Center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed over easter for three nights. Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to darling harbour with great places to eat, shop and great childrens park at darling quarter. Room was small but was ok as we were out all day and only came back to hotel in the evening for showers/sleep. Bed was very comfortable and no issues with noise. one night there was an issue with the water as a pipe had burst but this was out of the hotel control and they managed the situation as best they could and put a nice note under our door saying sorry. We had breakfast included and it was great, would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

my wife was booked into the hotel for a few days for a work conference, and I joined her for the last night at the start of a trip catching up with friends

it is easy to get to from the airport by catching the train to Central Station, then take a short walk (600m) or cab to the hotel. The location is good if you want to be at that end of the city as it directly opposite the Entertainment Centre, close to the Casino, and adjacent to some great restaurants in the Darling Harbour and Chinatown areas.

however the area around the hotel is somewhat desolate if there are no events going on in the area, so you do need to take care when returning in the early hours.

The rooms are modestly furnished with basic amenities, however when I had stayed there 3-4 years ago it was a bit tired, and it doesn’t look like they have done anything to it since.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay of two nights.
loved how easy the controls were for the air con system (everywhere else is dodgy).
Loved the bath and shower to lay in (plus a lil hard to get out).

loved the gym and pool and the fact my room was literally 2 steps away.
I swam in the pool twice, once in the morning and then late night, I found the temp alot cooler at night then the lovely temp during the early morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights, and it was really good. Everything was very close.
Breakfast is excellent, and for dinning there are so any places around
We were so busy , that could not inspect the swimming pool and a gym. Nest time perhaps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel as it is directly across from the Sydney Entertainment Centre. We flew from the Sunshine Coast to Sydney to see the Paul Simon concert (April 2) and didn't want to rely on a taxi to get to and from the concert.

When we arrived (by taxi) the parking valet had so many unattended cars in the driveway we had to get out in the street and walk up to the hotel.

Our room on the 4th floor (401) was very small, old and tired. There was mould growing on the air vents in the room and the bathroom. The carpet in the room and in the hallway was well worn and needs replacing. All along the doors and the walls in the hallway are marks - looks like the kids have been playing in the hallway with bumper cars. The marks and scratches are from trolleys and suitcases. The hallway needs some serious maintenance and painting.

The windows were so dirty you couldn't see out, let alone see any view. In the bathroom the grout in the bathtub/shower needs a good cleaning or replacement. There was a fancy new toilet in the bathroom which took up a lot of room. The shelf in the bathroom is very narrow and wouldn't even hold a hair dryer.

The bed and towels were OK, but the rest of the room was substandard.

About the only redeeming value of this hotel is it's location directly across from the Sydney Entertainment Centre. But don't expect a nightcap at the hotel after a concert. We arrived 'home' at 10:30 p.m. only to be told the bar was already closed for the night. Next time visit the Entertainment Centre we will seek accomodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Address: 17 Little Pier Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour is ideally located in vibrant Darling Harbour within easy walking distance of the city centre of Sydney. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks, the hotel is adjacent to the QANTAS Credit Union Arena. Guests can enjoy a drink or delicious meal in our renowned heritage listed Pumphouse Bar and Restaurant. Other features include meeting facilities, a heated indoor lap pool and a gym. Close to all the excitement and attractions Sydney has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novotel Hotel Sydney
Novotel Sydney
Sydney Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.