We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney - of course!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Sydney to your Saves list
Mercure Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   818 - 820 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    1,706
    661
    129
    71
See reviews for
974
1,079
436
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the mercure sydney for 1 night. Check in was very fast and efficient. The staff were friendly and attentive. Parking was great $29 overnight which was very reasonable for parking at a hotel in the city and plenty of spaces available. The hotel is situated only 5 minutes walk from central station which is very handy. Our room Although a little tired looking boardered on modern and was nice and comfortable. Great bed and they have a pillow menu with all different kinds of pillows you can have. Never seen this before so this was a good surprise. Unfortunately didn't get to try out the facilities like the restaurant and the buffet breakfast. Would definately recommend staying here

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest from Brisbane,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that our team was friendly and attentive and you encounter a fast and efficient check in as well as enjoyed the convenient city location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

While presenting at a Conference last Mon/Tues/Wed I booked myself into the Mecure as it had in the past been a better than expected experience. This time I was a little disappointed from the lacklustre initial welcome greeting to the lack of information given when requested. I asked for map of area and information on massage services for following night. I was passed onto the concierge who was to busy to even acknowledge my existence with not even a look in my direction as the reception staff scurried to get me a tourist guide map. I was not a tourist. My room was smaller than expected with a view into an office building across the street. The more I think about it the more disappointed I was. I wanted to use the pool but there was no information in my room about services. The up side to this short stay was the location. Across the road from many eateries and a short walk to Central railway meant I was able to travel to Technology Park easily for my presentation. Bedding was comfortable, room was clean, towels white and fluffy, I would have loved a bathrobe or an extra blanket.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient city location as well as found your room to be clean and bedding comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Lovely, friendly staff greeted us on our arrival, which after a very long haul flight with 3 young children was nice. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were clean, tidy and more than adequate.
Will stay again for sure. Cheers

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest from Abu Dhabi,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and accommodating during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.