We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure at CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Sydney to your Saves list
Mercure Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   818 - 820 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #52 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    1,599
    631
    123
    66
See reviews for
926
1,009
417
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in February and overall had a good experience. The rooms were clean and updated, and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is a bit of a walk to Circular Quay and Sydney Harbor (about 45 minutes) but definitely do-able. We chose to take the free 555 bus most of the time and bought bus tickets a few times when the 555 was not running later in the day, as it was often raining. Otherwise, we probably would have walked. The gym leaves something to be desired, as there are no free weights; but at least it's there if your desperate for some cardio. Would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest from New Orleans,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as well as enjoyed the clean and newly renovated rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends first time in Sydney. Within walking distance of Darwin Harbour many fine restaurants Staff very good and helpful we were able to check in early.great swimming pool.Room clean and tidy would certainly use again next time in Sydney l

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear guest from Gateshead,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful as well as enjoyed our facilitates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, booked 2 rooms for my family, the most important thing is the location are beside the Central Stations so to get and from the airport or visit an interesting places on a suburb are very easy to reach. just a few steps to the nearest Free CBD bus stop! so most of the place like Sydney Opera House feels so nearby. The rooms are clean, actually stayed here at end of 2012 so at that time there's a light renovation but thats ok, really dont bother me anyway and thats a such big plus!. Overall, good places to stay, service are fine, rooms clean, comfortable sleep, one issue for me is the price was slightly over my budget, hehe but thats what you get if you want to stay at Central Sydney, there are lot wider selections which had a higher price nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear guest from Jakarta,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed our great city location as well as found your room to be clean and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.