We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Food Fiesta"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Sydney to your Saves list
Mercure Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   818 - 820 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #52 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Food Fiesta"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Restaurant at the hotel on Pitt St. near Central Station, was to die for! Without the Restaurant at hand, the rating for the Mercure would be average. The beds are not bad, slightly hard. I didn't like the feel of the rooms. The first room was squat, and looked out on to an apartment block tagged to the hilt, so I changed rooms to a bigger room with more windows, and space. The views were an improvement, still lacking though, as I looked out to the train tracks. When I sat down for tea with my boy Matt, we were blown away by the quality of food presented to us, best ever!

Room Tip: "Rooms on the Restaurant side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I was pleased to hear that you found our food to be so delicious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    1,599
    629
    123
    66
See reviews for
924
1,009
417
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It is so wonderful to be treated like your important when you stay at hotels
The front of house girls are just fantastic, this is not our first stay, nothing is to much trouble. The Mecure should start training othwer staff around Sydney

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you value our staff so much. I was pleased to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff were very accommodating & went out of there way to make my stay enjoyable. I asked for an upgrade & they were able to give me that. Very friendly staff, great location in central Sydney. Good value too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I was pleased to hear that you valued our staff's service provided to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Il
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the Sydney Mercure on Pitt St. Near Central Station. First of all, our flight from LAX, landed at 6:15am and by the time we got through Customs and caught our shuttle, we got to the hotel at 9am. We thought how nice would be to be able to check in, unpack, clean-up and hit Sydney for a full day of exploring. But we thought it would be too early for them to give us a room. Boy, was I wrong...I walked up to check-in, gave my name and 5 minutes if not less, we were in our room! What a fantastic way to start our holiday! Thank you Mercure! You earned 5 stars just for that! It was like we had an 6 hours that day.

Our room was very nice, had a nice view of the bus depot right below us and downtown Sydney. The room was always clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The concierge staff was always very helpful with maps, directions, whatever we needed. I asked one staff where the nearest American Express office and he pulled it up on his PC and showed us on a map. Very friendly staff. Very accommodating! They also have a nice bar on the main floor that offers daily specials.

For my wife and I, we loved the hotel's location. You're about 6 blocks from Darling Harbor; 3 blocks from Chinatown and near, within a few blocks of the free bus line. It's one block from Central Station which access through a tunnel across the street from the hotel and at the front door of the hotel is a bus station. On our second day there, we stepped outside and took the bus to Bondi beach; on our third day we went to Central Station we grabbed the train to the Blue Mountains. Are you with walking distance to Circular Quay? Not really unless you want to walk at least a mile, maybe more. We walked a lot and found the hole to be in a great location for our first visit to Sydney. One hint - as you look at the map of the free bus that runs daily through CBD, realize the map is not to scale. It's actually a much larger area than it looks like. Bring some good walking shoes; buy a bus pass or pay for a taxi and you'll be fine.

Excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Face downtown above the bus depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. I was pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be nice and our buffet excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mercure Sydney on George Street with my parents and brother who came to visit me. Booking was made through the phone, whom the person signed me up for their accor membership? She was a little pushy with the membership, but since it doesn't cost, it didn't bother me much.

Location of the hotel was terrific. Central station was just a short distance away. There was also some fast food restaurants and convenience store close by. Arrived at the hotel earlier than standard check in time, checking in was simple and pretty fast. Receptionist seems to be on training and provided me with wrong information. The room rate I booked on was prepaid, upon check in, I reconfirmed if it was prepaid, she advised me that it hasn't been paid for yet. However I recalling exchanging emails with the reservations department, who asked me for alternative credit card details because the first one didn't go through. Having told the receptionist about it, she then asked me whom I was contacting with. And then finally having to tell me yes, it was prepaid. It wasn't a big issue, didn't bother me much. That membership I signed up for at point of booking? It wasn't recognised either. I don't see how the membership works also.

Room was a little small for 2 doubles, but not an issue since most of the time we'll be out anyway. The only downside was that the room was a little dark, would be better if the room had better lighting. Everything else in the room as fine. Didn't expect any views, but I did not expect to be facing a brick wall just across the road that looked dirty? I kept my curtains shut the whole time I was in the room. Housekeeping was fast when we requested for dental kits and bedroom slippers to be brought up. Only requested for the room to be made up for 1 day, and it was done well. It was well cleaned, almost spotless. Concierge was really helpful in assisting with the tour bookings that I made. Very thankful for that.

The thing that bothers me most is the knocking and drilling noise I woke up to daily. It was a 5 nights stay, and I got woken up by the knocking and drilling noise every morning. On the last day I finally couldn't take it. I rang up the operator to check if there was any renovation works going on in the hotel (there wasn't any information provided in the room, nor was I informed upon check in.) She then informed me that there are some renovation ongoing on level 8, but since I stayed on level 10, the renovation must be pretty major for me to hear the noises. She then said she'd check and ring me back. after about 3 minutes, someone knocked on my door (despite the sign outside that reads "Do Not Disturb".) I had thought it was the manager to come to understand what kind of noise I was hearing. When i opened the door, a porter stood in front of me with his trolley and asked if I rang up for luggage assistance?! That drove me nuts. First it was the drilling noise, then it was the luggage assistance that I never requested for? I explained to him that all I needed assistance with was to find out where that noise was coming from. He didn't appear to be surprise that I didn't need the assistance also? After what seemed like 10 minutes, I received a call from the operator I spoke with earlier, informing me that the renovation works was on level 9, which explains why I was able to hear it on level 10. There was no apologies at all, from either of them.

I got down to the lobby at about 5 minutes past 11am to check out. The process was fast and easy, staff seemed like he was in a rush, after handing me my invoice, before I stepped away or thank him for everything, he wanted to assist another guest. I only had one last question for him, which I managed to ask. I reconfirmed if on my booking, there was this request for a quiet room, and he said yes.

Having requested for a quiet room, but I was still given a room that I could hear knocking and drilling noise? What made things worst was the fact that I could hear the noise every single morning, sounding like it came from the next room just beside me. Very very disappointing. Surely I would think twice again about staying here. Maybe it was okay for a shorter stay, but if I had another chance, I wouldn't stay with Mercure Sydney on George Street again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations on the rooms and would therefore like to apologize for the noise this was causing. I was obviously very disappointed to read about your experiences. As such I would like to speak to you personally.

If convenient please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Thanks again for your feedback, and look forward to speaking to you soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerrabomberra
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is quite a nice place, well located for Paddy's Market, Chinatown and Central Station - but lacks atmosphere. However, its price is probably too much for its quality.
Good - decent sized rooms for Sydney and large towels, good sized bathroom (if you like showering in a bath with a pull-across shower curtain), helpful staff.
Poor - room and reading lighting, bed size (the 'queens' were more like doubles, according to my wife), lack of a decent shaving mirror and light (particularly if you have fair hair and fair complexion).
Given the choice available in the area, we'd probably only go back if the price was on a special rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and will definitely look into the aspects you found to be lacking.
We hope to welcome you back to Mercure Sydney one day.

Kind regards,
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently stayed at Mercure Sydney. Location Location Location!!!
Mercure Sydney is in George Street right opposite Central Station and is also adjacent to a major bus station. About a 5 minute walk away is a stop for the Free City 555 Bus which continually loops from George Street right down to Circular Quay and back up. The Mercure is a short distance from China Town and Paddy's Market. It is also within walking distance to Darling Harbour. There are cafes, take away restaurants and a Seven Eleven store nearby. There is also a very nice restaurant at the Mercure Sydney Hotel.
I stayed in a standard double room on the 10th floor. The room was plenty big enough for a very comfortable 4 night stay. It was very clean and modern.
At ALL TIMES I found the Mercure Staff to be very courteous, friendly and helpful. This included the Reception staff, the Concierge staff, the Housekeeping staff and the Room Service staff.
I would be very satisfied to stay at the Mercure again and I have pleasure recommending it to other Sydney visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Sydney. I was pleased to hear that you fond our staff to be very courteous and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.