We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Sydney to your Saves list
Swissotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wifi
Ranked #23 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is located in a great part of central Sydney and within walking distance of Darling Harbour and all other Sydney city attractions.The room was fantastic and the bathroom was outstanding...so good that I took some pics with an intention to build a bathroom alomg the same lines that they have there. Great views from room to East, Sout and West. Not noisy..very swish. Perhaps they could be called Swishotel! Only disappointing thing occurred at check-out when there was only 1 staff available in the morning for some time creating a back log of business people wanting to get to meetings etc and they waited about 10 mins until another staff member came on....I'm sure it was just a busy time for them and unusual?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Peter W,

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing with us your comments and your plans for your bathroom renovation, it would be really great if you could share these with the hotel at some stage once you have completed it.

Your comments regarding check out have been sent to the Front Office Manager for review however, it might have been an unusually busy period however I do appreciate you letting us know.

I look forward to hosting you again in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    807
    295
    109
    72
See reviews for
607
820
188
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flinders, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with friends on 4th and 5th July, great location for shopping, clean rooms, spacious by Sydney standards. Only problem is that money has been charged to my card and the hotel will not answer my calls to explain what the charges are for , they were not authorised and we did not purchase anything from the hotel, mini bar etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Dan J,

I am very happy to read that you had a great time here with us and that you found the location to be great and the rooms to be clean and spacious.

I have sent your comment as a matter of priority to the Front Office Manager who will be looking into this and making contact with you very soon.

Warm Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was the 3rd stop on our 24 day cruise/tour to Australia/New Zealand that we set up ourselves with a lot of help through Trip-advisor. All the reviews we read turned out true to form!

The Swissotel is absolutely the place to be in center of city Sydney! We were able to walk to almost everything and only needed a cab to get to the port to board the Celebrity Solstice the next morning. Beautiful room, full traditional tiled bathroom including tub and shower wonderful turndown service just added to the ambience! The Lobby is a couple of levels up but this was certainly not an inconvenience. Although a big hotel chain the management was extremely efficient and pleasant. The concierge arrange for our morning pick up which arrived on time and transported us quickly to the Darling Harbor pier. Sydney is one of the worlds great city's with plenty of public mass transportation via ferries, train etc. and lots to see! The Opera house, and the Sydney Bridge are world famous and not to be missed. Darling Harbor is an attraction in itself.
Lots of street entertainers,shopping and night life. Restaurant were very good and plentiful as well. Just a note opals are a speciality in Australia! Hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Ask for room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Ed D,

Thank you very much for letting me know about the wonderful experience you had with us here in Sydney, I do really appreciate it.

It sounds like you had completed a lot of research before your trip and I am thrilled to read that we lived up and exceeded your expectations.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your cruise and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for two weeks on business. The staff are very helpful, and make every effort to provide reasonable service. The rooms are large and clean, although a little dated. The bed was comfortable. Room service dining is alright too in terms of quality , and you wait the usual 30mins or so after ordering, I had the breakfast buffet daily, it is so-so and reminded me of a motel breakfast in a small country town - I think this area needs improvement to qualify for 4-star rating.
For example, it took the staff 3 tries to make a simple espresso - the first was Americano and then the second was a long black. And I thought Australians knew coffee.

Overall, recommend staying at this hotel if you intended to dine out for breakfast , lunch and dinner - the poor dining experience is offset by a comfortable, if aged, room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in a standard room. Bathroom was great - spacious with separate bath and shower.. The rest of the room was disappointing - tired and dated. Missed the basics that you expect from a 5 Star hotel - iron & ironing board (had to request from housekeeping!), no bathrobes, no pay-to-view movie channels. The bathroom towel rail broke off the wall (not by us, but by housekeeping) and the rail was left on the table when we return for our day out. Maybe we were expected to fix it? Just as well the location was excellent so the experience wasn't a total loss. However if you want to have a special weekend with all the trimmings, suggest you upgrade to a superior room (hopefully it will be better than the one we had) or try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Tania H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at Swissotel Sydney, it is great that you found the location to be excellent and that this really added to the experience of your stay.

I have passed on your review to the relevant departments for investigation as any issues that occur should be promptly rectified and brought to the attention of the department head.

I hope we are able to host you again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Swissotel in a business trip and have been very satisfied with the overall stay.
Deluxe room was spacious and well equipped.

I arrived very early in the morning (6am) and they had no problem to already give me my room. This was very appreciated and deserved to be highlighted at this is not always the case.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Friday 6th of June first day of our annual holiday. Arrived at 2.30 , 30 minutes after check in time and given a key to our room . Felt strange to see the ironing board still up in the room and after further investigation found a pair of men's pants in the wardrobe and the bathroom not clean. Rang reception who said they would send someone up and after waiting 15 minutes with no one turning up we decided to take ourselves back to reception .
As we left our room one of the cleaners asked us what we were doing in the room it belonged to someone else and we said well that's the room we were given .
Back at reception and not happy chappies we were kept waiting , had to explain ourselves again , then told to leave our bags and they would allocate us another room while we were out .Not happy we wanted to freshen up before going out we reluctantly left our bags and ventured out.
On our return ,no apologies and one of our bags still sitting unattended on a chair in the foyer we we're give a key to another room .

Spent the next 5 weeks travelling through Turkey and in the most basic of accommodation we were not treated the way we were at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Fuggie,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent experience with us here in Sydney.

I can assure you that this is not a typical situation here at Swissotel Sydney and that I have passed on your comments to our Front Office Manager for immediate review.

Our aim is to provide high quality service to each and every guest and I can see that on this occasion that this is not what was provided.

I do hope we are able to welcome you and your family back again to our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5 star hotel features 359 luxurious rooms and suites, exclusive Executive Lounge, two stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.