We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not a 5 Stars Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seasonal Saver- 20% off
Ranked #22 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not a 5 Stars Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location and the rooms are large and comfortable. Westfield mall is next door, supermarket and train station are both within 2 blocks.

The beds have wheels that very easily move with just a lightly touch (not a big issue, but irritating). The furnishings are pleasant but overall the room's decor has a rather plain look. The HVAC seems to have a mind of its own and will continue to work only if you remove and re-insert your room key in the holder every 6 hours or so you.

Staff was mixed. Housekeeping was great, but the front desk just couldn't understand how to take care of our reservation and this continued to be a problem throughout our stay (needed new keys, fielded calls from front desk later, etc). The concierge is on the ground level (looks like a bellman station) and was only moderately knowledgeable.

You need to take two elevators to get to your room (lobby is on 8th floor). The pool and gym on the roof are nice and they are next to the spa (which I didn't use). Swissotel loyalty program members get free Internet which is a great deal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    948
    636
    242
    88
    56
See reviews for
431
650
156
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed for just 2 nights at the Swissotel whilst in Sydney on business. On arrival I was greeted on the street from the taxi and my bags were all taken care of. The actual Hotel entrance is very small so having this level of service at this point was very comforting after a long journey. Service levels throughout were excellent.

The lobby is on the 8th floor of the building and the check in was very smooth and friendly. When I arrived in my room it was a little musty but nothing to complain about. It was spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom. The bed was also very comfortable. A complimentary newspaper was provided every day - different papers each day which was a nice touch. The bar in the lobby was very reasonable for a Sydney hotel.

The only real issue I had was with the internet service which is a available but is a pay as you use service that I understand can only be used on one device at a time - too hard and too expensive. If the room cost was a little more and internet access was not something I had to even consider that would have been more attractive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on the concierge service and the clean and comfortable room.

In regards to Internet, may I suggest that on your next stay you join Swiss Circle as all members now receive free internet at all Swissôtel Hotels & Resorts worldwide. Another great option for your next stay would be to stay in an Executive category room which includes access to our new Swiss Executive Club Lounge which includes internet access and a great range of benefits to enjoy in the lounge. Our reservations team will be happy to provide this information for you on your next booking.

I look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, excellent value for a first class hotel in the heart of Sydney - come out the front entrance turn left down to Circular Harbour nd the wharf for all the ferries, turn right and it's a short walk to Darling Harbour. This vibrant city area is must and so easily accessible for all the well known tourist attractions. Take penty of money though, los of designer shops everywhere. Another tip there are plenty of breakfast eating places close by so you do not need to take the offer of including breakfast, this will help to keep your cost down.

Room Tip: The room we had was very comfortable and en suite incorporated a shower and a bath and was very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the Swissotel Sydney.
Both my partner & I had an event at the theater on Saturday evening & chose to stay at The Swissotel. We were both so glad we did, we had such an amazing time. The staff were not only helpful & friendly but very genuine & were there for anything you neede and able to answer all questions.
The Breakfast was amazing & delicious, i have never had so much choice. Even though it was a buffet, you could ask the chef for eggs cooked the way you liked and also pancakes. The Chef was lovely and very quick when making my order.
Thank you so much for a really amazing and memorable time, we had our room upgraded at Level 20 with a balcony & had indeed felt very spoilt, the view was beautiful & we felt very comfortable staying there, it was hard to leave.
We loved the pool (located at level 10) and it was never too busy when we spent time there.
We plan on staying again very soon & spending more time there in the future- i will recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone, singles, couples of families they cater to all.
the cocktail bar looked stunning but we did not stay long enough to visit the bar & spa.
it is in the perfect location for anyone wanting to shop, we were directly across from the State Theater & very close to restaurants, parking & the Harbour.
We had a fantastic get away from the daily grind & would like to Thank Swissotel and their wonderful team immensely.
i would give the whole experience 6 stars out of 5 :-)

Room Tip: You can have specific pillow & bedding options when booking your stay, We had booked directly th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your powerfully positive and appreciative comments.

I am thrilled to hear about the wonderful stay you and your partner had with us. It is very rewarding to know the satisfaction you experience from the hotel facilities and the staff.

We look forward to hosting you in the city again and do hope you have the chance to experience Crossroads Bar and Amrita Spa during your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Fantastic stay at the Swissotel.
We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom 'Chairsman's Suite'. Absolutely stunning room, spotless, clean and a great overall size for an apartment.
The beds were very very comfy, massive marble bathrooms and great size living/dining area with Nespresso Coffee Machine.

The staff were amazing, including the concierge and front desk. They could not of been more welcoming or professional.

After staying at many hotels, the service at this hotel was second to none. Guests treated how they should be treated.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently traveled to Sydney for work and although I usually stay in The Rocks, the company travel manager booked me in here for the night as the other hotels were full. I'm very glad that they did, as the Swissôtel Sydney turned out to be a gem and I would gladly try another one of the franchise in any of my travels. The location in the city is great and room quite spacious, but what truly stood out for me during my stay was the outstanding friendliness, helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff. From the concierge, porter, room attendant, receptionist and restaurant staff, every member I encountered was fantastic. On some other minor details which i care about, the TV in the room was small (also did not have my preferred news channel, SKY News) and there were additional charges for internet use (both wi-fi and cable). I ordered dinner via in room dining which came very quickly and was reasonably priced, while I ate breakfast at the restaurant buffet which had an impressive variety of the 'standard' fare as well as healthy and Asian options (various congee and the like). All this though seemed to be minor considerations during my stay, I stress that what truly made the experience memorable were the staff, so thank you and well done to the team!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear about the wonderful service you received from the staff during your stay with us.

Just to let you know we are in the process of upgrading our Tv’s throughout the hotel.

Our Swiss Circle loyalty program provides free internet access to members who stay with us, if you are looking into staying more often this could be a great option for you. You can sign up via the website or our reception staff will be happy to help during your next stay. Alternatively, staying in an executive room allows wifi internet access whilst in our new Swiss Executive Club Lounge.

I thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my second stay at the Swissotel after many years. Very comfortable, staff are very polite, restaurant is excellent and the quality of fittings and decor is high. For the price this was a great place to stay and you don't get much more central than this. There is a nice pool and the gym is well equiped. Special mention to a lovely waitress who was not only pleasant and efficient but asked how you were and if you had a good night's sleep - this was said with such honesty that you felt like you were with friends. If you arrive late at the hotel, receiption is on the 8th level so head straight for the lifts (Note for hotel - put a sign directing late checkins to the 8th level)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5-star hotel features 359 luxurious rooms and suites, a new exclusive Executive Lounge, two newly renovated stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive renovated conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.