We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, excellent service, spacious and clean hotel. Truly 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seasonal Saver- 20% off
Ranked #21 of 182 hotels in Sydney
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Central location, excellent service, spacious and clean hotel. Truly 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked this trip for 3 women, we love shopping and eating out. I was a little confused upon arrival as the concierge desk is at entrance ground floor but then you have to go up to 8th floor for check in/out, the hotel starts at this level. I guess it has it advantages from the lower noise level being higher up The staffs were very friendly and to our luck, we got upgraded to a higher and bigger room.

The hallway was welcoming too. Unlike many hotels with narrow hallways, this one was clean, spacious and welcoming. Makes me feel safe and warm especially being a woman.

The rooms were spacious but I guess because we got upgraded without the extra cost. I wonder if this is the same if we got the original room? It was clean with modern fit outs.

I like the coffee expresso machine provided rather than the traditional kettle given.

We didnt have a spa in our room hence didn't rank this.
We also didn't have hotel breakfast because we wanted breakfast outside as restaurants and cafes were everywhere and literately outside around the corner on the Mall.

Location was so good! Especially for shopping lovers. Pitt St mall(fantastic for shopping) is just around the corner. You can walk every where. I love how the Westfield on the mall has great restaurants on level 6. You wouldn't think Westfield shopping would cater good restaurants but it does.

I really like the concierge team at this hotel, so friendly and respectful, they actually smile and not like robots! Very helpful getting us our taxi.

I would definitely stay here again!

Thank you Swissotel for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.
My girlfriends and I really enjoyed our stay.
Thank you for the surprise upgrade too.

Alivia Trinh

Room Tip: Don't worry about street noise as the hotel starts at the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Ms Trinh,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.

It is wonderful to hear positive mentions across many aspects of the hotel such as room cleanliness, location, our wide hallways and helpful concierge team.

I thoroughly look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    950
    637
    243
    89
    56
See reviews for
432
651
156
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are in sydney for work or holiday, we were for both, then it's really well located. The harbour and the rocks are 15 mins or so walk away. Its also really easy to get to and from the airport by train which is a lot cheaper than by taxi.
The room and bathroom were perfectly fine but nothing special. We felt the Internet charge excessive especially because the wifi in Westfields mall next door is free.
The sour note in our stay was the hotel kept forgetting to re-stock the minibar every day. When we returned every evening we raised this and asked to ensure it was done the next day. It was promptly re-stocked straight after our call, however on our bill we got charged a room service charge for doing it. If we had ordered anything over and above the standard minibar we would've accepted it but we hadn't. To the hotels credit they apologised and removed the charge when we checked out but to have it happen 4 nights in a row despite us pointing it out after each occurrence was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

It is great to know you love the location as much as we do and find it convenient for both leisure and business purposes.

Our Swiss Circle loyalty members now receive free internet at all Swissotel Hotels & Resorts when they stay with us so this is a great benefit if you stay with us often.

I am disappointed to know that you had to ask more than once for the mini bar to be restocked and there was originally a charge incurred however, I am happy with the way the reception staff handled the bill and removed the charge.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Swissotel Sydney is located right in the heart of the shopping district and close to lots of attractions. While the concierge and bellmen are at street level, the hotel actually starts at the 8th floor where registration, bar and restaurant are located. Because the rooms are high up, there is little or no street noise. It's an easy walk to shops, including the beautiful Queen Victoria and Strand shopping arcades, huge shopping malls, the Sydney Tower, and Darling Harbor.

Sydney is the third most expensive city in the world according to a new survey - believe it! While the hotel is quite comfortable, pre-paid breakfast is $25 and much more if you don't sign up for the pre-pay deal. They also charge for internet and wi-fi, and there is no free airport shuttle service, though the concierge will make reservations for a paid shuttle. These things would have made it a better value.

The concierge and bellmen were very helpful as were the reception personnel. Breakfast service was okay but bar service was not very good.

We'd definitely stay here again when visiting Sydney because of the location but it's pricey, like everything else in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Can not fault the location - stayed 1 night for business - was presenting at an industry seminar at the hotel - I had never stayed at a Swissotel before. Close to QVB & many attractions in CBD Sydney. Staff were professional & friendly. This hotel does not deserve 5 stars, rooms are good but a little dated. I was in Room 2014, which is next to the elevator - which I liked - no complaints but there are many other hotels in Sydney at $230 a night for this room quality + food & drink is very expensive.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask re how far from the elevator the room is. By the time you travel from the street to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast queensland australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed with 2 kids for 3 nights at the Swissotel Sydney. It's probably the most centrally located hotel in Sydney (we didn't know). It's right on top of Myer's and next to Westfield Centrepoint Tower. We had an Executive Club room on the 24th floor with an expansive view of the city horizon. The highlight of our stay was the breakfasts on the 9th floor. We were given exceptional service by Ichi ("Thank you Ichi") during each breakfast. Compared to other Sydney hotels we've stayed at, the Swissotel has come up trumps!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice room, high above the city, good if you can get a reduced rate which is what we got through one of the websites that does mystery hotels. Buffet breakfast was good but expensive, I wouldn't bother next time, i'd just go out to the street, but gotta keep the wife happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My stay in Sydney is at the tail end of my trip to AUS. I have always loved Swissotels and this did not fail. Location is at the middle of CBD, which is central to shopping areas and restaurants. Check-in was a breeze. My room was at a end of the hall and had a sort of irregular shape, which I thought gave the room and interesting feel. It was very clean, sheets were smooth and comfy. Service was excellent. Had dinner at the hotel's resto and I have to say that it's been my best hotel meal in my entire trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5-star hotel features 359 luxurious rooms and suites, a new exclusive Executive Lounge, two newly renovated stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive renovated conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Amex, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.