We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but characterless hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seasonal Saver- 20% off
Ranked #22 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location but characterless hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for Darling Harbour area and shopping - and also the free bus and hop on hop off. Check in was reasonably quick but unhelpful - asked about Internet access and was told it would $25/day!!! On checkout I was informed I had free wifi in my room - too late after spending several days eating and drinking in free wifi cafes/restaurants.. I had specifically asked for 3 beds on my booking - guess what, there were only 2! To be fair, housekeeping arrived very quickly with the 3rd. Good sized room and bathroom. Concierge staff were lovely and very helpful. In summary, excellent location but lacking ambience and personal touch

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

I certainly apologise for the confusion with internet during your stay however am pleased to advise that Swissôtel Hotels and Resorts will soon be providing complimentary internet to all our Swissôtel Circle members, just join a reception.

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for exploring the city.

Your kind comments about the quality of our staff has been shared with all team members.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    674
    257
    90
    58
See reviews for
453
678
164
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been staying at the Swissotel The Stamford at Singapore a lot and have decided to give the Swissotel Sydney a go. I have booked myself a classic room and because of my Swissotel Circle (loyalty program)) membership status being at Zenit, I got an automatic upgrade to a junior suite - how wonderful!

The hotel is located directly above the Myer department store. Entrance is on Market Street, adjacent to Myer, opposite the TopMan boutique shop. You may miss the hotel if you don't pay attention as the entrance is a bit small, without the usual dress circle for you to drive up to. Once you walk inside, you will need to catch the elevator to level 7 to the reception. The bell boy are on the ground floor to assist you for your luggage if required. Elevators require swipe card to access floors from 9 and above. There is an outdoor pool but I didn't get time to visit it.

When you get to level 7, walk across the hall to get to the reception. There is another bank of lifts to get to your hotel room between floors 9 to 25. Executive club floors are on level 23 - 25. There is two restaurants on level 7 and the executive lounge is on level 8.

Check-in was so seamless. The person handling my check-in gave me a very special welcome. I got a double upgrade from classic room to junior suite to a one bedroom apartment. My Zenit membership card was also hand delivered to me. He also shook my hand and congratulated me reaching the Zenit level. Wow, this is really special - thanks Swissotel!

The room I got allocated was on level 22 and facing directly the Sydney Tower and JP Morgan building. It is a one bedroom unit with separate lounge / small dining area and bedroom. Bathroom is massive with a bath tub and walk-in shower. The toilet is also in a separate area. There are two LCD TVs - one in lounge and one in bedroom. Not many cable TV channels though. Coffee machine with Nespresso capsules are included. There is a 2 seater sofa, a work desk and a small round dining table for two people. Bed is a king size bed - very comfy. Bath robe and slippers are also included. The bathroom amenties are exactly the same as the Singapore Swissotel The Stamford - Purovel.

We went to the executive lounge on level 8 at around 7pm. I think it is opened between 6 - 8pm. Not a lot of choices for alcoholic drinks - only one white, one red and one sparkling wine to choose from. Plenty of soft drinks and juices. Canape was good but needs varieties - there was chicken wings but it was cold. Last time I came here, they had spring rolls which was really delicious - please bring them back. The lounge is a very good size, probably can fit 30 people in there but that will be packed. It has a warm and cosy feeling. Not a lot of newspaper and magazines. There is a big LCD screen broadcasting Foxtel channels.

Next day, we had breakfast at the restaurant on level 7. Compare to the Swissotel The Stamford at Singapore, this is a let down. Singapore has so much more to choose from and it is all very well presented. Here, they took us to our table and didn't serve us juice or coffee - didn't ask. Food quality is acceptable but not fantastic.

Overall, this is a nice hotel at great location - right in the shopping area of Sydney. It is also at a very handy location if you want to have a night out and stay at the city. As the surrounding buildings are also just as high as this hotel - don't expect it to have great view of the city. Air Canada flight crew also stays here.

I am happy to come back to stay here again - most of the staff do a fantastic job and make you very welcome. Restaurant staff and food has room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for exploring the city.

Your kind comment about the quality of our customer service has been shared with all team members.

I have made note of your comments regarding our Executive Lounge and restaurant & bar facilities and will address any shortcomings with the appropriate managers.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked a Club room and being seasoned travellers in Asia, were expecting something extra at the Club floor.

Room was very spacious but lifeless; i.e. just bare minimum furniture required for the rooms without extra touches to make one feel really welcome in a hotel. Even the curtain was those plain white rolled-up blinds, very office environment. There were not enough electric sockets to charge the 2 phones, 1 tablet at the same time. Guest has to bend down the writing desk and pull the wire up to do the charging, or charge it on the floor meant for vacum cleaner outside the bathroom (alternative is to use the socket meant for coffee/tea making facility).

Club floor guests can choose to have breakfast either at the 8th floor with other or at the 9th floor Club, which also opens till late with free flows of drinks and canapes at 5-7.30pm. It will be less crowded at the Club floor but guests are required to make their own coffee from the machine, there was no staff offering the service. We ended up having breakfast at 8th floor on the last few days of our 5 days stay, simply the latte & cuppoccino tasted better and there were more choices at 8th Floor.

The hotel encourages guests to share their experience in Tripadvisor, which shows they care about guests' experience and worthy of their effort. Club floor guests were supplied with daily chocolates / biscuits during turn-down service.

Staff are generally very friendly and free wifi is a big plus for Club guests. I can't fault the location, it is really central with everything nearby. However, given another chance, I would try other hotels with similar price range (we were offered similar corporate-priced room at Intercontinental; albeit without the Club/executive floor advantage).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for exploring the city.

I certainly value all your feedback and have forwarded your comments to the relevant department managers for immediate review and action.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I admit to being a bit skeptical when I made the booking but what a surprise. Entered the lobby and was directed towards the lifts to take me to the eighth floor to reception. I started to wonder what I was in for. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Went to the room and whilst I had one of the smaller rooms it was more than adequate for my need and even a nice deep roomy bath to soak in and a separate shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable and the pillows were just right too without having to pummel and squash them into a suitable shape. Even the air conditioning was quiet and not blowing air directly onto you which is the case in a lot of hotels. The shower was good, strong and adjustable with a good shower size bar of soap, not just the normal hand basin size. Leaving the room during the day the housemaid asked if everything was OK, which it was, never had that before. Hey this place has all you need and is located right in the centre of the city. Other hotels could learn a lot from this place. Hope they don't though as I want the same staff and service next time I come to Sydney and stay here without a doubt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel.

We are certainly proud of the staff and the facilities at the hotel and are always grateful to read comments such as yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Sydney and choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had forgotten what a lovely hotel this was - absolutely central to shops, nice outdoor pool, good size rooms and most of all some of the nicest and happiest staff I have come across in a long time - just sincerely pleasant, professional and helpful - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel.

I certainly take personal pride in all the staff at Swissôtel Sydney and have passed your comments on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here on the 30th of December and this place was just fantastic. It's a great location, being above Myer and opposite the QVB, there is public transport very hand and the hotel is more or less faultless. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, the airconditioning glacial and just what I needed (easily alterable). Staff very friendly, what more could you want. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for exploring the city.

Your kind comment about the quality of our customer service has been shared with all team members.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Sydney. I used to spend more than 15-20 nights here a year. It is situated just across the street from the Sydney Hilton and offers much better value for money. It's location in the middle of Market Street puts you right in the middle of all the shopping action available in Sydney. It also offers great access to the hundreds of restaurants within a 5 minute stroll away. The rooms are luxurious with great toileteries even in the standard rooms. The beds are firm and the sheets and towels are plush and thick. The gym, while small, has a complete set of free weights and 4 pieces of cardio equipment. It also has a nice set of kettle bells for those who are looking for a functional workout. The sauna is a pleasant treat for those who like a bit of heat after their workout. There is also a steam room in the spa as well. The coffees in the lounge are delicious. Dinner is nothing to scream about in terms of selection from the menu, but it is fine in a pinch. They do try to make breakfast special with a lovely honey comb at breakfast and some choices that you would not expect in a hotel buffet breakfast.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel.

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for the shops and resaurants of Sydney and pleased that you enjoy the facilities offered by the hotel.

I note your comment regarding the menu selection in the restaurant and am pleased to let you know that our new Executive Chef has just launched a new restaurant menu, offering a variety of new dishes plus some old favorites and some healthy options - all offering a range of fresh, organic and locally sourced produce.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5-star hotel features 359 luxurious rooms and suites, a new exclusive Executive Lounge, two newly renovated stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive renovated conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.