We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience but no 'oho' factor....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swissotel Sydney to your Saves list
Swissotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Signature Skyline Package
Ranked #22 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good experience but no 'oho' factor....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked a Club room and being seasoned travellers in Asia, were expecting something extra at the Club floor.

Room was very spacious but lifeless; i.e. just bare minimum furniture required for the rooms without extra touches to make one feel really welcome in a hotel. Even the curtain was those plain white rolled-up blinds, very office environment. There were not enough electric sockets to charge the 2 phones, 1 tablet at the same time. Guest has to bend down the writing desk and pull the wire up to do the charging, or charge it on the floor meant for vacum cleaner outside the bathroom (alternative is to use the socket meant for coffee/tea making facility).

Club floor guests can choose to have breakfast either at the 8th floor with other or at the 9th floor Club, which also opens till late with free flows of drinks and canapes at 5-7.30pm. It will be less crowded at the Club floor but guests are required to make their own coffee from the machine, there was no staff offering the service. We ended up having breakfast at 8th floor on the last few days of our 5 days stay, simply the latte & cuppoccino tasted better and there were more choices at 8th Floor.

The hotel encourages guests to share their experience in Tripadvisor, which shows they care about guests' experience and worthy of their effort. Club floor guests were supplied with daily chocolates / biscuits during turn-down service.

Staff are generally very friendly and free wifi is a big plus for Club guests. I can't fault the location, it is really central with everything nearby. However, given another chance, I would try other hotels with similar price range (we were offered similar corporate-priced room at Intercontinental; albeit without the Club/executive floor advantage).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for exploring the city.

I certainly value all your feedback and have forwarded your comments to the relevant department managers for immediate review and action.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    695
    264
    93
    63
See reviews for
486
697
166
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I admit to being a bit skeptical when I made the booking but what a surprise. Entered the lobby and was directed towards the lifts to take me to the eighth floor to reception. I started to wonder what I was in for. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Went to the room and whilst I had one of the smaller rooms it was more than adequate for my need and even a nice deep roomy bath to soak in and a separate shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable and the pillows were just right too without having to pummel and squash them into a suitable shape. Even the air conditioning was quiet and not blowing air directly onto you which is the case in a lot of hotels. The shower was good, strong and adjustable with a good shower size bar of soap, not just the normal hand basin size. Leaving the room during the day the housemaid asked if everything was OK, which it was, never had that before. Hey this place has all you need and is located right in the centre of the city. Other hotels could learn a lot from this place. Hope they don't though as I want the same staff and service next time I come to Sydney and stay here without a doubt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel.

We are certainly proud of the staff and the facilities at the hotel and are always grateful to read comments such as yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Sydney and choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had forgotten what a lovely hotel this was - absolutely central to shops, nice outdoor pool, good size rooms and most of all some of the nicest and happiest staff I have come across in a long time - just sincerely pleasant, professional and helpful - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel.

I certainly take personal pride in all the staff at Swissôtel Sydney and have passed your comments on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here on the 30th of December and this place was just fantastic. It's a great location, being above Myer and opposite the QVB, there is public transport very hand and the hotel is more or less faultless. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, the airconditioning glacial and just what I needed (easily alterable). Staff very friendly, what more could you want. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for exploring the city.

Your kind comment about the quality of our customer service has been shared with all team members.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Sydney. I used to spend more than 15-20 nights here a year. It is situated just across the street from the Sydney Hilton and offers much better value for money. It's location in the middle of Market Street puts you right in the middle of all the shopping action available in Sydney. It also offers great access to the hundreds of restaurants within a 5 minute stroll away. The rooms are luxurious with great toileteries even in the standard rooms. The beds are firm and the sheets and towels are plush and thick. The gym, while small, has a complete set of free weights and 4 pieces of cardio equipment. It also has a nice set of kettle bells for those who are looking for a functional workout. The sauna is a pleasant treat for those who like a bit of heat after their workout. There is also a steam room in the spa as well. The coffees in the lounge are delicious. Dinner is nothing to scream about in terms of selection from the menu, but it is fine in a pinch. They do try to make breakfast special with a lovely honey comb at breakfast and some choices that you would not expect in a hotel buffet breakfast.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel.

I am glad to read that you found our central location ideal for the shops and resaurants of Sydney and pleased that you enjoy the facilities offered by the hotel.

I note your comment regarding the menu selection in the restaurant and am pleased to let you know that our new Executive Chef has just launched a new restaurant menu, offering a variety of new dishes plus some old favorites and some healthy options - all offering a range of fresh, organic and locally sourced produce.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have made a habit of staying at the Swissotel since discovering it on a business trip several years ago and have now stayed there three times over successive years. This time we chose a one-bedroom suite for extra room. Check in was smooth if a little perfunctory given a demand to see ID, even though I am a loyalty club member. Our room on the 15th floor, despite a booking for two adults and one child, was equipped with towels just for two. Finally on the downside we were bedevilled by the constant rumble from to lift well which was adjacent to our room. That made sleeping a bit tough. It seems all the one bedroom suites have an L shape arrangement around the lift well. All that said it is impossible to fault the location of the hotel close to shopping, the QBV building, and Darling Harbour, and the general level of service which is excellent.
We will stay again.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the lift wells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel after your stays with us over the past years.

I am glad you find our central location convenient to the shops, QVB and Darling Harbour however am concerned on your comment regarding our one bedroom suites. May I suggest that you ask our reservations staff for recommendations when next you book as we have various suite options which may suit you better.

I hope to welcome you back to Swissôtel Sydney in the near future!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I would like to personally thank the staff at Swissotel in Market Street, Sydney for their exceptional service and lovely treatment for my Sisters Birthday Stay. I booked this hotel direct for a surprise 40th Birthday Present. After speaking with my Sister, she has informed me that the hotel is just perfect! They allowed them to kindly check in early, gave a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and also gave 2 buffet breakfasts for the price of one! Wow, that really is going above and beyond my expectations. Also the porter in the lift who sang happy birthday, what a lovely thing to do! My sister was very chuffed with all the fuss. My sister and her best friend loved the buffet breakfast which was lovely quality and more than you could ever eat. The queen size beds were comfortable and the rooms very spacious and very clean. Cant fault the position - handy to everything and a nice safe area for women. Thank you again for making the stay so special for them. I know where I will be staying when I come to Sydney and I will be spreading the word how nice it is to stay there. Cheers!
Kind Regards
Amber

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Sydney!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Swissôtel Sydney on Trip Advisor and also recommending our hotel and 'spreading the word'.

I am so pleased your sister enjoyed her time with us and that we contributed to her birthday celebration.

We look forward to welcoming you to Swissôtel Sydney we you are able to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Swissôtel Sydney
68 Market St
Sydney NSW 2000
Email: EmailUs.Sydney@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5 star hotel features 359 luxurious rooms and suites, exclusive Executive Lounge, two stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.