We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good apartment hotel in Sydney CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good apartment hotel in Sydney CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the recently renamed Adina apartment hotel in March 2013, the hotel is very well located in the CBD near Town Hall railway station. The Hotel staff are friendly and efficient, the only negative to my last visit was the continual failure of the swipe card room key, this happened to several other guests and was shrugged off as bad luck by the receptionist on duty at the time, notwithstanding this the hotel is a great place to stay in Sydney

Room Tip: Ask nicely for a room with a view which is normally forthcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Napier1,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above. We will most definitely look into the key issue that you experienced and I would hope that your next visit will be free from similar incidents. I am very sorry for this part of your stay however.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    309
    72
    33
    18
See reviews for
262
159
37
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Adina apartments are clean, well fitted out and very handy to many Sydney landmarks. There are quite a lot of eateries around but the fully fitted out kitchen allows for home cooking should you wish. Beds are clean and comfortable and showers hot. Air conditioning is very pleasant after a long day on the town. We had a 2 bedroom unit and found it quite spacious. Onsite parking is a plus in the inner city. Highly recommended accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear gemleo,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be so comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. We are glad that the "Family get together" was such a great success.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived at the Adina for our one night stay at 11am and we are advised we could not check-in before 2pm but they would store our luggage until then. No problem- that's standard. The very helpful receptionist (Tatiana) gave us directions to some nearby tourist spots and we headed off. When we returned after lunch we were told our bags were in our room and that we had been upgraded to a suite on the 17th floor (#1746). We were very pleased with the suite which afforded great views of the city. It was a shame we were only staying the one night as the room came with a laundry, kitchen and other features that would make a longer term visit all the better. There's a 9th floor club which we didn't get to check out fully but it looked interesting. We were able to walk to Darlinghurst, Town Hall/QVB, The Rocks and Circular Quay from the hotel, so it was very conveniently located. A taxi to the airport before morning peak hour took us about 15-20 minutes. I'd stay there again- can't say more than that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear hongkongmick,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. I'm also very happy to see that one of our team members received personal recognition for her efforts that positively impacted your stay. I can assure you that Tatiana's success story will be shared with her and the rest of the team shortly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just stayed here with my 3 teenage girls. Location was great - easy walk to main shopping area and Darling Harbour, close to the free shuttle bus to Circular Quay and near Town Hall train station. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room and furnishings clean and up to date. Kitchen had all we needed for evening meal cooking and the pool was great after a busy day. The 2nd bedroom, on Bathurst St, was noisy on the weekend nights - kids slept through it, but a light sleeper would want the master bedroom on the other side. Highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should choose an apartment with bedroom away from Bathurst St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Cheryl M,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with such positive. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. Please be assured I will share your feedback with all departments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney in the not to distant future.

I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Lisa Thomson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After our previous experience with another hotel in Sydney we were hopeful that this hotel would restore our faith, and we were not wrong. Our check in went smoothly, and since we were early they offered to hold onto our bags until our room was ready, and a shower if needed. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment so were on the 18th floor. The room was huge with full facilities including washing machine and drier. We were slightly too low to be able to see Darling harbor, but good views across the city none the less. Nothing seemed too much of a problem for the reception staff, a map of the local area and general information including recommendations for dinner.
This hotel is well placed for the free 555 bus, town center station a 2 min walk, Darling harbor 5min and shopping all around.

We will be back on our next trip to Sydney!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views across Darling Harbor and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear DaveRabj,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I am very pleased that you have acknowledged both our team and the facilities in such a nice way and that we were able to restore your faith and provide you with a happy and memorable stay.

We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.

I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Lisa Thomson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

As a couple, this was our first stay at Adina on Kent St. Our experience did not start on a good note when we were not able to check in until 2pm on the dot. After hours of travel to Sydney, we arrived early (which they were notified on the online booking) only to find out we had to wait for 3hours before we got a room. On our first night, they mistakenly double booked another guest and walked in to our room. This was resolved after receiving a phone call from the reception, however, there were no apologies made whatsoever for the mistake made. This also meant we had to get another set of room keys. We stayed in a studio room. I did not expect too much for the room we booked as most 4star hotels or same rate hotels are of similar size and facilities. Also, houesekeeping did not arrive in our room until 3:30pm when we had requested it to be done in the morning as we went out for b'fast. We had arrive back only to find out no one has attended our room. On the plus, this hotel is situated in a central location for our leisure. 5mins walk to Darling Harbor & Pitt St Mall.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear mbwl10,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney.

I appreciate the constructive feedback you have provided. We do have very high standards for both customer service and our overall guest experience and I am sorry to hear and sincerely apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations and that we have on this occasion underperformed.

We will most certainly take it on board and will try to improve as quickly as possible as we believe the best customer service is the one thing that makes anyone's trip to our hotel memorable.

Our hotel can be booked out on most days. Should a situation occur generally all arriving guests will not be able to access their rooms prior to the confirmed check in time of 2pm. Each guest is most welcome to leave luggage with us for storage until the room is ready. We also offer guidance in terms of what to do while guests wait for their rooms, such as accessing of earlier leisure facilities at the hotel or an explanation on what and how to explore Sydney. We try our best to accommodate all requests for earlier check in, but at times we are simply unable to fulfill such requests.

We advise our guests to pre-book their accommodation to avoid delays with check in. Such pre-paid bookings will allow travellers to access their rooms at any time during the day, including morning hours.

I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Lisa Thomson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was my first time staying at this hotel but I will be a return customer! The room and overall experience was satisfactory, but it was the friendly and helpful costumer service by an employee, Robyn, that really made my visit. Robyn was full of information and willing to lend a hand!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear KatPR H,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

Thank you very much for naming Robyn to be a standout Team member. I can assure you that Robyn is delighted you have found her service to be so exceptional. Please be assured I will share your feedback with all departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
Lisa Thomson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Address: 511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Sydney Hotel Sydney
Medina Grand Hotel Sydney
Sydney Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.