We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation...good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good accomodation...good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were staying for 3 nights in December,we're happy to stay here again next time.
The location is great, walking distance to all the city main attactions. The hotel facilities are pretty basic,the pool is rather small and the water was cold even in summer. But the one bedroom apartment is ample and spacious,and quiet. The balcony is a plus, it has a beautiful view of the city and Darling harbour at night.The staffs are friendly and helpful, thanks to the reservation team,especially to Nathan that our booking were upgrated to the one bedroom apartment. It's a good accomodation, it's recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear LLL79Darwin,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful, friendly and that your stay was comfortable. I also thank you for your comments on our rooms and its features.
I have also noted your comments on our swimming pool. Our maintenance department will review all that is required to ensure that all our guests can enjoy using it while at our hotel.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    297
    70
    31
    19
See reviews for
247
151
35
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for a week in July 2012... 2 bedroom apartment which was well furnished and suited our family of 2 adults and 2 children. Plenty of room to relax and spread out, the laundry was great and used regularly!. Location is brilliantly - diagonally opposite a Town Hall train station entrance and very close to grocery shops. In fact the food outlets in the train station have great specials just after peak hour / 5.30. We bought take away several times and fed a family of 4 for around $20. Being able to cook / make our own breakfasts and reheat / cook meals was a real bonus, and while the rooms cost more than a hotel room, the ability to stay up later than our kids was worth it, and gave us much more flexibility than staying in a double hotel room and not being able to have the TV on or chat because the kids were going to sleep. I'd definitely recommend the Medina Grand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear WestOzTraveller,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Sydney was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I'm also very pleased that you have found our hotel to be so well maintained, comfortable and in a great location.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed on the 27th Floor which had great views of Darling Harbour and the CBD. It is located close to China Town and the Central Business District. It is also very close to Town Hall station, which makes it easy to get too and from the Airport and Central Quay, great for catching ferries to some great beaches and attractions.

Our two bedroom apartment had great views and was worth taking the Executive package. The rooms are large and room service was very good and most things were there for some self catering.

The lifts are quite slow. The building has only two for 30 floors! Everyone was helpful and there is a coffee shop on the ground floor. Loads of restaurants nearby, as well as "supermarkets" and liquour stores for the somewhat expensive wines!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear DHFUk,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback, so detailed feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful. I also thank you for your comments on our rooms and location and that you have found Medina Grand Sydney to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained. We are glad that your family holiday was such a pleasurable experience.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrimal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The perfect location for a great hotel. Easy to get to in the heart of the city. On arrival was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment, by extremely friendly staff. The views of the city and down to Darling Harbour where excellent. All main attractions are within walking distance of the hotel. With excellent parking, the car was forgotten, for our two day stay, at the Medina. The staff where very helpful with providing information and services.The apartment was clean quiet. Have already recommend to friends how just perfect it is to stay at The Medina Grand Sydney.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large with excellent views in all directions of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Don B,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. I'm also very happy to see that our entire front office team is recognised for their efforts that positively impacted your stay. I can assure you that your very nice feedback will be shared among the team shortly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A big Thank you to Nathan and Lisa and the Staff at the Medina Grand. Upon arrival I was extremely happy with the location of the hotel and then upon check to be advised that I had been upgraded as it was a special occassion, I was totally thrilled with the room. The balcony overlooking Darling Harbour added to the thrill of being away for the weekend. The Cafe/Bar downstairs - Liquidz was such a happy environment and special mention to Simon and Leaha for making me feel so welcome. The room was very spacious, very clean and very comfortable. The location of the hotel was brilliant. The sourounding restaurants offered a wonderful variety of choices. Thank you Medina Grand for such hospitality . Hope you enjoy the champagne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear SandyBeach105,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Sydney was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged our team member in this way. I will make sure that our entire team will get to celebrate Simon's and Leaha's success in style. We are very proud and happy for them. I will personally share your comments with all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel. Located close to Darling Harbour, China Town and the Town Hall station it is conveniently located to get around. Easy walking distance to many places to eat (actually spoilt for choice), the harbour, and public transport.
The hotel is well maintained, quiet, and the service is excellent - friendly and efficient. The welcome at check-in late at night was warm, replacing a dodgy room key was no problem. Storing luggage and retrieving it and calling a taxi was done with pleasure.

The room was not huge but more than adequate. It was actually an upgrade, but I'm not sure from what - perhaps from a room with almost no view to one with a pretty decent view.
It was an apartment style room, with everything needed for some self catering. The only thing the room did not have was a table and chairs to sit down to eat. But more than adequate for breakfasts.

The swimming pool is outdoor but covered. A good size for some exercise laps.

The only (and minor) quibble is the lift is quite slow. The building has two for lots of floors, with few rooms on each floor. So at times the wait can be a few minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear robeik,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback, so detailed feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful. I also thank you for your comments on our rooms and location and that you have found Medina Grand Sydney to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained. We are glad that your family holiday was such a pleasurable experience at our hotel.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently stayed in the two bedroom appartment and was pleasantly surprised at the roominess of the rooms and the whole appartment itself. We were on the 24th floor and the view was fantastic especially at night with the beautiful lights. Close to the Town Hall Square where you could a train if need be. Everything was great. Would hightly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book early lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear nicop1,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that your family holiday was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you again and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Luxury, Pool, C...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
City Center, Qu...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Romantic, City...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Address: 511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Sydney Hotel Sydney
Medina Grand Hotel Sydney
Sydney Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.