We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment with Darling Harbour views and felt so at home. We saved money by self catering for breakfast, a local mini super market on street level and large Woolworth's store a block away for cheaper supplies. We also saved on transport because of ideal location, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, shops, restaurants and theatres. I'd recommend this hotel for business travellers and tourists too - loved it!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise and Darling Harbour view room had a small balcony, great to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Kar01,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Sydney was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I'm also very pleased that you have found our hotel to be so well maintained, comfortable and in a great location.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    224
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
177
122
28
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stay in the Medina for 4 nights with 2 kids, had a 2 room apartment which was fantastic, absoluty huge, 2 bathrooms, comfortable beds, washing machine and dryer and a full kitchen. Very close to everything, 10 min walk to Darling Harbour and Town Hall train station which took you everywhere just 2 mins up the road.
Friendly staff, very helpful....highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear kiwiloren,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. I'm also very happy to see that our entire front office team is recognised for their efforts that positively impacted your stay. I can assure you that your very nice feedback will be shared among the team shortly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came from South Korea for our first time to Sydney for a family wedding. We were welcome very friendly by reception staffs. Check in was very quick, reception staff was very helpful with map and showing good location for sights and nice places to eat!! Reception was nice and always say hi when we go or come back to room.

We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment. The room is very big and spacious with balcony. 2 rooms have T.v and one T.v in living room! Wow! Kitchen is very big and very clean...

Everything in city is near. Darling harbour, China town, Shopping and Opera house.


I hope I can stay here next time...Thank you for great service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Jiyeon L,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Sydney was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged both our team and the facilities in such a nice way. On behalf of the team members, thank you. I know our entire team will be delighted about your feedback and will strive to achieve similar outcomes soon.
I will personally share your comments with all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very happy with our hotel room. Clean and adequate size. Great location, so central to everything. We walked every where, it was about 15 mins to Circular Quay and 5 mins to Darling Harbour. There was a train station just up the road. The staff were all very friendly and the cafe downstairs had reasonable prices and great food for breakfast. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Christine13_8,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback, so detailed feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful. I also thank you for your comments on our rooms and location and that you have found Medina Grand Sydney to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained. We are glad that your family holiday was such a pleasurable experience at our hotel.
Also, we are very happy to see a great feedback on our newly opened cafe. Thank you.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having lived in Sydney for 3 years, we were just returning for a couple of nights. Medina offers a very comofrtable stay right in the heart of the CBD, walking distance to major shops, restartants and attractions. Very clean room with most welcome balcony. Staff very courteous and professional.

They lose a star for $25 wifi access. I'm sorry, but if I can get it for free in every starbucks for the price of a tall latte, then I expect it to be included in my $220 apartment stay. These hotel-apartment style places are going to start losing out unless the wifi issue is addressed. Overall very good though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Irish2002,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments regarding internet charges. I wanted to assure you that I will pass your comments on to the internet provider for Medina Grand Sydney. I do however apologise for this part of your hotel experience on their behalf.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived at 10 am tired and jetlagged after a 20 hour flight from the UK. We were told we could not check in to our apartments until 2pm-fair enough but we could have been offered use of the gym showers and the swimming pool. Instead, although we were able to leave our cases, we then had to tramp around Sydney for four hours-not pleasant when you are tired and in need of a wash!

The apartment was very nice and well-equipped although the windows appeared to havnever been cleaned.

Our room was frequently not made up and often it was just skimmed over-sporadic service to say the least.

Most of the staff on the front desk except for Andy, were unhelpful, disinterested and downright aggressive at times.

Excellent location-rotten service!

Room Tip: Try to get one that faces the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Bea_K186223,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I am very happy to see that you have found the hotel and its rooms comfortable and well positioned. I'm sorry to see that we have not always met your expectations however. I can assure you that this is not the standard myself and the team aim for. Team should most definitely advise you of all options that guests have and take advantage of should their room be unavailable at the time of arrival. I'm sorry that we have not provided you with the options. I discussed this problem with our entire team to ensure that we improve our early check in processes immediately.
I have also discussed all housekeeping issues with the relevant department.
I wanted to thank you again for your feedback. We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be much more enjoyable to the one described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I would like to congratulate your team & also to thank them. I have been staying, quite regularly, at Media Grand Sydney & have found the experience very pleasurable & professional. I have always felt safe, comfortable & respected. The reason I am compelled to right to you is in recognition of your staff. I have found them to be warm, welcoming & more importantly sincere. I have stayed at other hotels in the city & while I have no complaints I have felt a very false curtsey, which is distant & sometimes overdone. Being away from home for lengthy periods I guess someone actually human is nice. I would like to specifically mention Andy from reception & the young lady with the beautiful smile & round face who I meet sometimes cleaning the lift or at the pool (sorry I don’t know her name). The facility is very adequate but the staff are awesome. I look forward to my next stay in sydney, Lyn

Room Tip: View from rooms with semicircular windows is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Lyn J,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Sydney was such a great experience.I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged our team member in this way. I will make sure that our entire team will get to celebrate Andy's and Tanjina's success in style. We are very proud and happy for them. I will personally share your comments with all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Also Known As:
Medina Grand Sydney Hotel Sydney
Medina Grand Sydney Hotel
Medina Grand Hotel Sydney
Sydney Medina Grand Hotel
Address: 511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.