We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with Darling Harbour view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great room with Darling Harbour view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights there over the weekend. Had room 115 on floor 26. It is on the corner with small balcony that oversees Darling Harbour. Also has great views of downtown. Very very large room. Staff were great as well. We really enjoyed our stay, but key was having that room with the views. Got a real treat with the Saturday night firewworks at the harbour - just so happens fireworks explode at the 26th floor height so saw it all right in front of us. Ask for a room on this corner if at all possible to get. 5am checkout super smooth and reserved cab arranged so all great. Good pub on Kent right across street.

Room Tip: 115 on 26th floor or any room on the corner towards Darling Harbour that is high up will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear kandb17,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We really love to hear from guests as to how their experience was as we think this is a great hotel too and we welcome any feedback on how we can improve.

I will personally share your comments will all departments. You are right room 115 does give an amazing view of the fireworks in Darling Harbour.

We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.

Once again I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    387
    85
    39
    20
See reviews for
320
192
41
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Convenient location, clean, comfortable beds, good check in and out, free fresh milk in the mini bar for a cup of tea or coffee in the room, nice bathroom with lots of hot water.

Double glazed balcony doors made the room very quiet for street noise but did not stop the guests across the hall from making lots of noise at around 4.30am when they came home drunk. Annoying, but not really the hotel's fault just your average inconsiderate drunken louts...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Nethercote

Thank you so much for your nice feedback.

I will personally share your comments will all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud and happy. I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged both our team and the facilities in such a nice way.

We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be enjoyable.

I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We read previous reviews before choosing this hotel. One said to request a room above the 20th floor and facing Bathurst. We did this and were happy with our comfy room. It allowed us to see the Saturday night fireworks at Darling Harbour from our balcony. It is walking distance from all of Sydney's attraction. The cafes and pubs are on all of the nearby streets. There is a Woolworth's two blocks away that has groceries. There is a cafe connected to the hotel where you can pick up a 'take away' breakfast for a reasonable price. The only negative about this hotel is access to the internet is expensive. There are free internet cafes around if you must connect. I would stay here again. The public transportation is excellent in Sydney and it is all nearby.

Room Tip: Request a room above the 20th floor and facing Bathurst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear RonandSusan2012,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your visit to Sydney was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I will personally share your comments will all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud and happy.
I have also noted your comment about internet. We will pass it onto relevant department for review.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our family group of four stayed at the Medina Grand on our recent ten day holiday in Sydney. What a great place to come 'home' to after our exhausting days out. The apartment provided everything we needed, including clean and comfortable beds, and clean towels when we needed them. Our two-bedroom (four beds)/two-bathroom apartment on the 27th floor provided us with all the comfort we needed to wind down at the end of each day. The reception and service staff were polite and friendly, and always ready to advise when we needed assistance. As we were to discover, the Medina Grand is in a great location, and we will definitely recommend it to our friends and relatives as being a great place to stay.

Room Tip: No traffic noise heard on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Teresa V,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback, so detailed feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful, friendly and that we did go out of our way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I also thank you for your comments on our rooms and location and that you have found Medina Grand Sydney to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed at the Medina Grand with a work colleague for 3 nights on a business trip. The location is great in the city centre and very close to China Town, Darling Harbour... Easy walk to the malls, QVB etc. We were in a two bedroom apartment on the 29th floor - the apartment was spacious with a living area, dining room and kitchen, and two bedrooms each with their own bathroom. View from the balcony was ok. Only complaint was the lack of ventilation (exhaust fan etc) in the bathrooms. Service from the reception staff was generally very good as well. Recommended.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you - I would make a special request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear bronnie43,

Thank you so much for your very nice feedback. We are all very happy that your business trip to Sydney was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged both our team and the facilities in such a nice way. I will personally share your comments will all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud and happy.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was some of the best and cleanness Medina that I stayed in Australia, as I followed 5 of them.
Also the location was great and the parking garage was very big in the middle of the city. I had some troubles with the reservation as it is not clear that the Studio has no WashMAchine but they helped me with that. If you need something, ask Ms. Scully ,not Danna but she will help you as for Mulder.

Room Tip: Downtown close to good restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear MarcosKinz,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our hotel to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained and that you have enjoyed your stay. I'm also very happy to see that our entire front office team is recognised for their efforts that positively impacted your stay. I can assure you that your very nice feedback will be shared among the team shortly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
Thank you and kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

This my second stay at the Medina Grand Sydney. The apartments are spacious and the location is great. We had a comfortable stay but the unit was looking a bit tired. Just things like pictures hung crooked,curtains laundered and put back not ironed in the master bedroom and mould in the shower was a disappointment and not up to the usual Medina standard

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APILARSKI, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear keza6,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Grand Sydney.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all very happy to see that you have found our team to be helpful and that your stay was comfortable. I also thank you for your comments on our rooms and its features. We will most certainly take it on board and will try to improve as quickly as possible.
We will be very happy to welcome you at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be more enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Albert Pilarski
Hotel Manager
Medina Grand Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney

Address: 511 Kent & Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Sydney Hotel Sydney
Medina Grand Hotel Sydney
Sydney Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.