We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed here on 3 occasions now and have truly loved it. Being able to walk out of the door into Darling Harbour or take a short stroll to George St or Chinatown is just marvellous, so much to see and do. The hotel restaurant has a Turkish theme and makes fantastic coffee and food, breakfasts were my favourite. There is so much choice for dining in the area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the large apartment room if budget allows. Some rooms have a better outlook toward the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review - it's always great to receive feedback from our return guests!
We will be happy to share your feedback in regards to Mezbah, the outsourced restaurant onsite, and have to agree that their coffee certainly is the best in the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside many more times.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    226
    59
    14
    12
See reviews for
101
229
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got a great last minute rate for a studio and were very impressed with the room. There was plenty of space, and the hotel's in a great location. The view wasn't amazing from our room, but it was so rainy it didn't matter and for the price we paid we really weren't expecting one. Perfect for us for business in the week, and shopping and sight seeing at the weekend.
Only down side was the 10am checkout which seems to be more and more common.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as our spacious rooms.
We have a 10am check out to be able to guarantee the apartments for a 2pm check in time. As you can appreciate apartments take a bit longer to clean than hotel rooms, however, we do offer later check outs subject to availability (on request basis only).
We hope to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've stayed here (was still Medina Grand Harbourside back in January) 4 years ago and loved it. Staying there again this year, I'm very pleased that they have kept up the same standard.

Clean, modern, balcony, everything working well and friendly staff! What more can you ask for? Oh yes, the location! Seriously a fantastic location to be based for a trip to Sydney. Just a short walk into Darling Harbour with all the restaurants and bars and not too much of a walk into the city, depending on where you need to get to of course! We like to get the ferry from Darling Harbour (stop isn't too far from the hotel) into Circular Quay when we need to get round there. A must for tourists as you can get amazing photos of the bridge and opera house together.

We stayed in the Premier Grand Studio Room and were really happy! Had a great night sleep! Strange screen things around the bed but hey, something different. While we were there Sydney had a weird heatwave and the air con was very welcome to come back to after a long day of shopping and other touristy things. The view wasn't fantastic, we saw the side of the aquarium. But, that wasn't really our priority, hence why we picked these rooms.

We didn't use the pool during our stay, as it was hot!!! Not a problem though. One minor issue was that they picked up someone else's details for our check in. When signing the form at check in, we noticed that the address wasn't ours and dob was incorrect. Apparently they just picked up details of another client who has the same name. Bit disappointing, but was easily fixed. I would suggest a bit more attention to detail by staff so that this doesn't happen in future! Staff at the front desk were lovely, however one of them was not as friendly as the other. A bit disinterested, while the other lady was fantastic, helpful and very knowledgeable. Didn't ruin the experience, but, just wanted to share.

Definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your great review.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor and are thrilled to read that we have met your expectations once again 4 years after your first stay with us.
We have taken all your comments on-board and will endeavour to ensure your next visit is as enjoyable as the one described above - even if it is another 4 years until your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I traveled to Sydney for business in April, and selected this hotel because of location due to walking distance to the convention center.
Upon arrival, staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist with any queries I had. They remained just as accommodating during my 4 night stay.
My room overlooked Wildlife Sydney and partial Darling Harbour, which was most appreciated as I sat on my patio in the mornings and listened to the birds sing. The room was spacious and very clean; bed was comfy and offered a good nights sleep and the bathroom was a nice size.
I did not realize how good the location was until I went for a walk and saw the great selection of restaurants and shops to choose from on Darling Harbour/King Street Wharf and shops. There was a grocery store minutes away and a selection of bars.
Should I return to Sydney again for either business or leisure, I would definitely look at this hotel first.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors so you have the opportunity to have views of the Harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your excellent review.
It's great to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel being on the doorstep of Sydney aquarium, Sydney wildlife world and all other activities in Darling Harbour.
Thank you also for your nice comments in regards to the team and service received during your 4 night stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next visit to Australia.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good city position, direct Darling Harbour. The rooms are spacy, modern and comfortable. Unfortunately the housekeeping was barely existing. No change of towels, even the bad was not made up. Only the the bin emptied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your recent feedback.
We are pleased to see you found our location well appointed and the rooms spacious and comfortable.
The comfort of our guests is important to us and I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping department to follow up with their teams to ensure all areas of the guest room are detailed. This is not the type of service that our guests are accustomed to and I regret that we have not been consistent in delivering our on-brand service.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future where we will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be much more enjoyable than the one described above.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just spent the weekend at Adina Apartment Hotel in Harbourside, and the room we had was great. A good size, well placed kitchen and great size bathroom, only thing not happy about no shower cap and also as we stayed a few nights the cleaner failed to restock the bathgels etc, clean the slidding door glass or mirrors.
The Reception staff were fantastic very friendly and very helpful. Location is excellent walking distance to the Harbour with all the great places to eat. Next time back in Sydney will stay here.

Room Tip: We where on the 5th Floor and it was a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are happy to read you enjoyed our spacious apartments and found the team friendly and helpful during your stay.
Thank you for your feedback in regards to housekeeping - please be assured your points will be raised with the housekeeping department to improve the overall guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Adina is everything it claims to be. Very good staff with great rooms that are spacious and very well appointed. The location is great - short walk to KIng St Wharf and the eateries along the wharf. If you look around a bit you can get a good meal for $10 most nights within walking distance of the Hotel.

It is also a short walk to Wynard Station where you can be anywhere in the City inside 15mins. This is 5 star at a very reasonable rate. Te only difference with other similar properties is it's not on Syndy Harbour. But you can be there very quickly so who cares!
These guys truly have their act together!

Room Tip: If you can get a view of Darkling Harbour then go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your excellent review and for appeciating our amazing location, spacious rooms and great service received from our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.