We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel - great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed there for one night only, however, the experience was great. Very helpful and attentive staff, clean room, perfect location right in the heart of Darling Harbour, as well as a nice swimming pool. We can really recommend staying there!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the excellent review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor and I am thrilled to read that we have met your expectations, and our service delighted you.
I hope your nice impression will bring you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next stay in Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    294
    71
    18
    12
See reviews for
145
311
44
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during Christmas. The room was resonably priced, the hotel has a good location in Darling Harbour. Nothing remarkable about the hotel, on the other side nothing particulary bad either. A thing that seems to be common in Australia is that WiFi in hotels is ridiculously expensive. This hotel charged 10 AUD per hour! This is easily avoided by buying a pre paid SIM-card, turn on mobile data access on your smart phone, turn on the portable WiFI hotspot, and you have your own almost free WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read you found the hotel in a good location to explore Darling Harbour.
With regards to internet prices the hotel uses a third party provider therefore our pricing is driven by the costs we are charged - this is common practice all over Australia. We do, however, offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby for 30 min every day which may be a more suitable option.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We flew down to Sydney from Queensland on 15th December to catch the Carnival Spirit Cruise Ship for a christmas break ( which was wonderful). We caught the train from station at domestic terminal and got off at Wynard Station and it was a short walk to hotel. We stayed in a standard studio room which we found very clean and tidy. Staff were very good especially Naomi on the front desk. Hotel was in a perfect spot so close to waterfront and restaurants would thoroughly recommend this hotel and when next in Sydney would have know hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive review on Tripadvisor.
The team at Medina Grand Harbourside is pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found the room clean and tidy. We appreciate your comments about Naomi and will make sure these are shared with her as well as the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I don't know how to sum up our stay other than perfect. We arrived at 8am before New Years and were told that our room was not ready yet. The blonde receptionist told us to go to the restaurant and have breakfast whilst waiting. After a walk around the harbour and some coffee we sat down in the lobby. The clerk remembered us and came up with our room keys advising us our room was ready (it was only 10am)! We had a lovely room on level 4 above the pool area - you could see some water and even though being right in the city it was so quiet. Now to the points that I loved about this apartment: it was spacious (like you could live here), had a washer and drier and the kitchen was basically as good as home. We stayed for 4 nights and the cleaning was impeccable every day. The staff was so helpful from anything like dinner recommendations to the best spot to get a photo of the opera house with the bridge in the background - nothing was ever too much!
You cannot fault the location being within walking distance to everything - on New Year's Eve we watched all the fire works right outside the hotel and the midnight ones we could even watch from our balcony. Bliss!
Though the rates were high so was everything else in sydney.
Would come back anytime if back in sydney and will recommend to all family and friends. Medina thank you for making such a difference.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed everything during your stay from the location of the hotel to the layout of the apartment. I am also pleased to see that you received the personalised service that we pride ourselves upon - please be assured I will share your feedback at our next monthly meeting.
We hope your nice impression will bring you back to Medina Grand Harbourside on your next visit in Sydney,

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here 30th Nov - 6th Dec. Location is terrific - right on Darling Harbour next to plenty of bars & restaurants and all the entertainment of Darling Harbour. Its right next to Sydney Aquarium . Wynyard Station is four blocks away with direct access to the airport. Sydney Ferries terminal is a short stroll away and there is a new harbourside walkway that takes you to Circular Quay & the Bridge - a great morning run ! We had an apartment & self catered. It was spacious & well equipped with a balcony & harbour views. However you won't have a peaceful drink on the balcony ( though the room was quiet & sleep not a problem) as the hotel is right next to a busy expressway. However a pedestrian bridge / lift gets you across this into central Sydney & the heart of the shopping on George St. There is a mini Coles supermarket & bottle shop on the corner of George & King St so self catering is easy. Its pretty unbeatable for value in central Sydney if you want to self cater. Staff were terrific, helpful & friendly. Wi Fi is available ( 30 free mins then paid for). We would certainly stay here again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor as far from the expressway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.
The team is happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel being on the doorstep of Sydney aquarium, Sydney wildlife world and all other entertainment in Darling Harbour.
We are also pleased to see that you found the staff friendly and helpful - please be assured that your nice comments will be shared with the team.
In relation to the view all our standard rooms face the city - perhaps a Premier View room will be more suited for your next visit as they all face the opposite direction and you will be able to enjoy a nice and quiet balcony.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in early Jan2013 in the interleading corner rooms. The rooms are fair sized and has a washing machine with dryer which is ideal if u on a wash n wear holiday esp with kids. The service level needs to be chalked up a tad here. We found our rooms to be not thoroughly cleaned. Being a hotel on a busy intersection with balcony access you would want to emphasise more on cleanliness. I dont think our balconies were cleaned in the last month. A coke can from a previous guest still lies in our balcony during our 3 days stay. Most apartment style hotels provide free washing liquids and detergents - not here im afraid. Id agree with other reviews that free wifi should be offered with the price we pay. We also returned to our room one afternoon to find our sofa had been removed. Upon enquiry it was stated it went for reupholstering. There are a few convenience stores to stock up on ammenities. There are two halaal eating places in Harbourview Mall. Muslims be aware of dubious places stating they are halal. Some of which place halal signs but they are not!! Rather check with Muslim staff or look for official Australian Islamic certificate. This is a lovely hotel placed in an ideal location to view Sydney at its best - mall, bus route, harbour tours, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
The team is pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel ideal to explore Sydney and our apartments fair sized and convenient when travelling with children.
The comfort of our guests is important to us and I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping department for their follow up to ensure all areas of the guest room are detailed. This is not the type of service that our guests are accustomed to and I regret that we have not been consistent in delivering our Medina service.
I appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future - please feel free to contact me personally so I may assist with your requirements and ensure your next stay with us is a pleasant and enjoyable one.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week over new year (expensive, but then so was everywhere else at that time). Great location and despite being in the heart of Darling Harbour was reasonably quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room (a one bed apartment) was very clean with a very comfortable bed and had everything we needed. I only have two gripes, one was that the balcony was a bit pointless as it was very narrow and above a very busy main road and the second was that the wireless internet access was expensive and a very poor connection, for that reason alone I'd be reluctant to book here again. These days most hotels should be able to offer good free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.
The team is pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel being on the doorstep of Darling Harbour with fire work display every Saturday night as well as special events.
We are also happy to see that you found our team friendly and helpful and the apartment clean.

Thank you for also providing the feedback regarding the internet service. Unfortunately this service is provided through a third party, therefore we are unable to stipulate the pricing on the service. You would be pleased to know that discounts are offered through internet packages for extended stays as well as 30 min of complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby daily throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside one day!

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.