We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed last 23rd Dec for 8 nights on the 4th level. We were given a corner room and the view was awesome. The three of us were given 3 single bed each which was really good.
Price was good for the Darling Harbour location however it's at least 15 min walk to the CBD shopping and supermarket. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Thegangs
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and that you found the team to be very pleasant and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    294
    71
    18
    12
See reviews for
142
310
44
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Absolutely appalling. Booked a "Premium Studio" and received a room overlooking the Aquariums rubbish bins. Fabulous view...NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The room was filthy, no surface had been cleaned, fingermarks over every cupboard and dirty linen. I was also put next to the one lift that worked. Room was extremely noisy so 2 hours sleep max. Bed was the worst I had slept in over my entire holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Ishkaa,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback.

I am very sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that we hope all of our guests have. In regards to the points you have raised in relation to the cleanliness of the room, please be assured that I have I have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping team to improve our overall guest experience.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the outlook of your room; we do have different room types and outlooks which we do clearly advise on all our websites.

In relation to the noise, we do have double glazing in all our rooms which we normally receive excellent feedback about. We normally also receive positive feedback about the comfort of our beds, as they are only one year old, however I am sorry that it was not to your preference.

Ishkaa, Thank you again for sharing your feedback, I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough. UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We are not city people, but having gone to Australia for the 3rd time we thought we ought to see Sydney. The Medina was a very good choice, well located for transport access - we used the ferries and the monorail to name but 2. Our suite had good facilities - including washing machine and a useful kitchenette. Shopping for groceries was a little limited but the local "convenience store" was OK.

If you want quality accommodation with slightly more ability to “do it yourself” than a standard hotel this is a very good option.

Sydney Aquarium next door too!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook Darling harbour - we didn't!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear the_mcguigans,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was delighted to read that you found Medina Grand Harbourside was a good choice for your visit to Sydney. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and facilities the room has to offer. While we do have a convenience store located on the same block, there is a Cole’s supermarket on the corner of George and King Street which is an 8 minute walk from the hotel.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was small and a bit pokey. It had a comfortable KS bed, with crisp linen. A small desk had a flat screen TV & power points to charge appliances. A large mirrored wardrobe overlooked the bed. A glass sliding door opened onto a private balcony. The room had air conditioning. The small kitchen alcove near the front door had a food & drinks mini bar, bar fridge and a small selection of cutlery & crockery. The large spacious bathroom had the toilet, basin with long counter and large shower recess. Plenty of white fluffy towels and range of toiletries are on supply. The water temperature and pressure were great.

I had full Next G mobile phone and internet reception. I am not sure of the cost of wifi cost or laundry service. Room service is offered & delicious – from the lobby restaurant. The best thing about the place is the location: walking distance to Darling Harbour’s bars cafes & restaurants, the Sydney Aquarium, museums, cinemas and so many other tourist attractions. And if you are driving, there is secure undercover parking at a fee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear aussie_shark_girl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay along with the location of the hotel.
I’m sorry you found the standard studio a bit small and pokey; we do have a number of different room types which offer more room and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Spent six nights at medinda February 2012. Arrived early and was able to leave luggage withh receception, all paperwork for checkin done then also. Stayed in one bedroom apartment cityview, balcony was not very well maintained ,cobwebs all over the outside walls, dirty table and chairs. Inside complementary milk was four days out of date, kitchen bench on louge side was filthy with old liquid runs . Hair dryer did not work, but to their credit as soon as told about hairdryer a new one was installed when we got back . On up side great location , and noise level low as double glazing. Overall very disappointed when consider cost

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear TravellerBallarat,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback. We are pleased to see that you have found our hotel to be well positioned, but are sorry to read that you have found that the standard of cleanliness was not to the standards we strive to achieve.

I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments to ensure a high quality is maintained. I would like to apologise for this part of your hotel experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside in the future, where we will endeavor to ensure that your next visit will be more enjoyable than the one that you have described above.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Get this! I live one mile away from the Medina Grand Harbourside in Sydney (across the water) - but needed an apartment for the night so my two kids and I could crash after the evening theatre. We lobbed straight off the ferry at Darling Harbour around 4pm - and the reception and room introduction was flawless. The booking was all in order and room spacious, airy and quiet.

The pool, gym and sauna are all good. We were there in January (high summer) and had a peaceful and refreshing swim. I think the pool would be chilly in winter, although it cleverly faces north (whether by design or accident) and is sheltered so would get great sun out of season.

Brought some ingredients for supper and breakfast so was able to cook up meals in the kitchen. Everything you'd need in terms of utensils. Thought about dining out for dinner (Saturday) but most Darling Harbour eateries are tourist traps. Ended up at The Star (casino) food hall. Flying Fish knocked up excellent seafood amidst the laminated tables. Feels like you're eating in a hospital corridor. Not to worry. Great food, reasonable price. Kids and I te every morsel. Saw the show at the Lyric theatre. Walked back to the Medina Grand in ten minutes. Slept like babies. Beds comfortable, air conditioning perfect, rooms quiet.

Checked out Sunday with a minimum of fuss.

If you can land a one-bedroom apartment here for $200-$300 for three people (which we did) then it is really good value compared to a hotel room without a kitchen. Central, clean but a little knocked about (what apartment isn't?). I would stay here again and recommend that my friends do the same.

Room Tip: First floor have no real view, but are quiet - especially at the western side facing Darling Harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear TranquilSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased that you enjoyed the facilities our one bedroom apartments have to offer, along with the location of the hotel.
I hope to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We visit and stay in Sydney often ,this was our first time at the Medina Grand.We stayed 2 nights in January and can't wait to come back. We love Darling Harbour and had the best time,there is so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. We were up graded, without asking, to a room with fantastic views. The lovely young lady at check-in could not have given us a warmer welcome and been more helpful. Not the flashiest hotel in town but excellent value and service. See you again soon:-)

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the Harbour side, the higher the better,for the views and you may even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Faimacc,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was delighted to read that Medina Grand Harbourside is your new favourite. I am pleased that we were able to offer you an upgrade due to availability and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.