We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location in Darling Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stunning location in Darling Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We spent 4 nights in this hotel in December 2011 and we thoroughly recommend it to other travellers. The facilities in the room included a full kitchen, washing machine and dryer. The room was spacious, fresh, light and very clean.We had a one bedroom suite on the top floor overlooking Darling Harbour, noise was not an issue as there was double glazing installed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is very close to all activities at Darling Harbour and convenient for touring Sydney. Pricing is high but acceptable considering location and view. We will look forward to returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors facing Darling Harbour give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Dilys60,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel along with the space and facilities that the apartments offer. I was also pleased to read that you found the team at Medina Grand Harbourside friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    295
    71
    18
    12
See reviews for
147
312
44
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here for business for a couple of nights. The location is good with a 5 minute walk to get to central Darling Harbour. Whilst I arrived early (10am) before the 2pm check in, the room wasn't ready until about 2.40pm - however upon arrival the front desk staff helpfully stored my luggage securely and brought up my luggage once the room was ready.
The room was a well-sized 1 bedroom apartment. The room was in excellent condition and was nice and clean. Overall the hotel would be great for business people or tourists who are wanting to be based in Darling Harbour. The rooms are clean and modern and you have all the conveniences of a kitchen and washer/dryer in room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Joffw,
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the one bedroom apartment to be well sized, clean and modern. I am sorry that your room was not ready to check into at 2pm, please be assured that I have addressed this with the housekeeping team.
If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here on a business trip recently and found the apartments to be fairly average. The studio apartment I had was on the small side with a long narrow hallway that was difficult to move luggage through.
Room service food was quite good & delivery was prompt.
Great location- right near Darling Harbour & a 10 minute walk to Pitt St Mall.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Missannabelle2000,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I am sorry that you found the standard studio on the small side, we do have a number of different room types available at the hotel, perhaps our premier studio or one bedroom apartment would be more suitable. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the room service also.

Thank you again for your feedback, if you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We spent 7 nights in this hotel at the beginning of November and we thoroughly recommend it to other travellers. The facilities in the room included a full kitchen, washing machine and dryer. The room was spacious, clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. We were not bothered by any noise despite looking over Darling Harbour and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative point is that they wanted to charge $13 for 1 hours internet access but we found a small cafe 200 metres away that offered free internet. The onsite restaurant provided a good range of meals at areasonable price for Sydney. The location is very close to all the activities at Darling Harbour and convenient for touring Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear gerrycon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. We are delighted you enjoyed the location of the hotel along with the facilites and space that our apartments offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Overall this was a very nice apartment in a nice part of central Sydney. We booked a one bedroom premier apartment. On the hotel website this type of apartment looks very bright and light, however, the apartment we stayed in resembled more the standard one bed apartment for the amount of light and brightness. It seems that the main difference between the standard and the premier apartments is that the premier apartments are on the top two floors facing Darling harbour. The apartment block is not on the actual harbour, it is surrounded by another apartment block and the aquarium. For me it was worth paying the extra money for the premier apartment as I wanted to be on a high floor. The apartment was very spacious. The bathroom was large and had a bath with a very powerful over-bath shower. The bathroom also housed the washing machine and tumble dryer in a cupboard. This was a fantastic addition to the apartment and was free to use (washing powder was available for a small charge). The sofa and chair had some stains, ie probably ready to be replaced or cleaned. But the bed was comfortable and the kitchen was more than adequate. Both the bedroom and lounge had patio doors onto the balcony. The outdoor pool was lovely and there is a beautiful garden area around the pool with a few sunbeds. Internet access was very expensive but there are free wifi hotspots on Darling Harbour. The staff are extremely helpful and are a great asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear SusanYorkshire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel along with the space and facilities that the apartments offer. I was also pleased to read that you found the team at Medina Grand Harbourside helpful. Please be assured that I have addressed your comments in relation to the sofas with the housekeeping team and we are in the process of having them all steam cleaned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We looked at the comments for the Medina and some of them were not good.
I'm glad we ignored the bad ones!
These apartments are perfectly located close to restraunts, transport and attractions and yet you can sleep like a baby because of the excellent soundproofing.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and our overall impression was one of good value for money

Room Tip: If you can get a room at or above level 4 you have a better chance of a good harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear brianT,

Thank you for posting your positive comments about your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I am pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel great to to access, restaurants, attractions and transport, I was also pleased to read that you found the double glazing effective and assisted in getting a good nights sleep.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The rooms are great, the staff are great, but this has got to be the noisiest place in Sydney. I requested a quiet room (and the lovely front desk staff complied), but there is clearly no such thing because the room I am staying in (yes, still here, sadly) is incredibly noisy. Both inside and outside of the place is just noise constantly. I booked in early (they were really accommodating with this) and even with earplugs in, I could hear constant noise. It was to distraction. I was wishing for a noisy air conditioner just to provide some white noise to drown it out. I've stayed in dozens of places in Sydney city that my noise-phobic self could cope with, but this is just too much.

The actual room is great, with good facilities, and if you don't care about noise it's worth staying. In fact they just had a fireworks display and at least that drowned out the drone of noise that has been constant all day.

Room Tip: I guess I would still recommend that you ask for a quiet room, cos I'd have to wonder what the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear Sandyosullivan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your current stay at Medina Grand Harbourside. I was delighted that you enjoyed the room, facilities and found the team pleasant.

I am sorry to read that you did not find the double glazing effective in blocking out the city noise in the premier grand studio; this is something that we usually receive positive feedback about. I believe that our duty manager has since been in contact with you and was able to move you to a premier one bedroom apartment over looking the courtyard, which I hope this assisted in making the rest of your stay an enjoyable one.
Thank you again for your feedback, if you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.