We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lee Street | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Outrageously overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

To say we were disappointed with this hotel would be a massive understatement. It is advertised a a "four and a half star aparthotel" and we expected it to have all the usual facilities offered by an aparthotel. The bedroom we were given was very small and the only thing that turned it into an "apartment" was the presence of a stainless steel sink and a microwave! We also had a toaster but that didn't work! In fact hardly anything worked well because the fittings are cheap and nasty. We couldn't get into the wardrobe because the doors were broken (they did fix this). The bathroom was poor - broken clothes line, pathetic hair dryer, poor quality units. To make matters worse, the service was absolutely awful. There was rarely more than one person on the front desk and they were generally unhelpful. When I asked for the location of the guest laundry, I was gleefully told that "there isn't one, you booked the wrong kind of room" and "there isn't a laundry anywhere near here either" - very helpful! The free wifi was also a joke. It's available for 30 minutes per 24 hours for one device per room. We tried to use it on the first day but it was so slow it was completely useless. The location is supposed to be good but I don't agree - unless you really want to sleep on top of a railway station. Terrible stay, poor value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear LCBLondon,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
I would like to apologise for not being able to meet your expectations with our rooms and services at the hotel and I have spoken to the appropriate departments in regards to your feedback and can assure you that all guest service issues have been addressed.

If you do decide to stay at the property again in the future, we would suggest booking a 1 Bedroom Apartment and not the Studio Guest Room that was booked during your stay. The 1 Bedroom Apartment offers everything that you would expect from an apartment style property.

Thank you once again for you feedback.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    219
    64
    24
    14
See reviews for
146
128
37
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location is not bad. Problem of air-conditioner…Cant switch on when we arrived, have to wait for half an hour and let the enginner fix it after we checked in. Still cant adjust the temperature after that…luckily it's summer time…otherwise we will be freezed in the room...
Lack of hair dryer …have to call the housekeeping twice to send one to my room…and I got that at the next day…
Really disappointed about the gym …small area and not many facilities…
But the location is really gd, next to the train station, ard 5~10 mins to go to China town...lots of restaurants and convenient stores nearby...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Kathy1213,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

I'm sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to your satisfaction. I have spoken to the appropriate departments in regards to your feedback and can assure you that all guest service issues have been addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in Adina for a week during last week of Jan 2014. I was on a business trip to Australia. What I liked most about Adina is its location. It is located right next to Central rail station in heart of Sydney. It is easy to travel to any part of sydney form Central through sydney rail mode of transportation.

Rooms in Adina are decent and basic nothing luxury about it.

Room Tip: Rooms with front view provide you excellent city view during night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear mvsrinivas,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I recently stayed at this property on a work trip to Sydney and booked this hotel through Ozacom(who were fantastic by the way ) I have stayed at a lot of hotels the world over and would have to say the reception staff were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever come across. Because of the nature of my stay I had to change rooms from a one bedroom to a two bedroom after the first night. The one bedroom was large, nicely decorated (loved the high ceilings). The two bedroom I stayed in for 4 nights after felt like the same size apartment but with an extra bedroom built into it, so the wasn't the sense of spaciousness.That said it was big enough for 2 couples. The location is good, next to central station and a 10 minute stroll to Chinatown.What would sway me to stay here again however would be the staff. Ten out of ten to whoever hired and trained these people.

Room Tip: To catch a cab its easier to walk to the rank at the station next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear ianlock,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel people were very pleasant to deal with. They upgraded the room without it being requested, they were lovely at check in and check out. The room itself was really nice: quiet, with a great view over the CBD. Well located, close to public transport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Janie K,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My mum & I stayed at Adina Apartment Hotel for one night as part of a package deal we booked through wotif.com specifically for The Lion King Musical. The block of apartments are in a great location only a quick taxi drive from the airport. The apartments are conveniently located a short 10 minute walk from the Capitol Theatre. We even walked from the apartments to the Sydney Harbour Bridge & the Opera House. Everything we needed for our stay was in the room, kitchen, iron, hair dryer etc., with two TV's as well. The staff were both friendly and pleasant and had no qualms giving us directions or organising our cabs on our behalf. We initially had some trouble with the TV in our room, so we made a quick phone call to reception, 5 minutes later we had a man come up to our room to get the TV working. The only one minor fault was the shower appeared to be a little mouldy on the bottom tiles like it had not been cleaned. Oh, any if you are expecting there to be complimentary milk provided- like in most places- there was none on offer for those people who may wish to make a cuppa or tea. A suggestion, try Mad Mex Mexican food just across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear ashjay2014,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.

I would like to apologise for the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom and having no complimentary milk in your room upon arrival. I can assure you that this level of service was a one off incident and the feedback has been communicated with the relevant departments.

Any feedback is of the highest value to us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central in the near future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Adina Sydney Central with our 6 year old daughter and my mother (3 adults, 1 child) in mid January 2014 for a week. We choose the hotel for it's convenience to The Lion King, the major bus stops and the train station, and because it had a pool. It was cheaper than the Darling Harbour and Circular Quay hotels offering apartments, kitchen facilities and a pool. The 2 bedroom apartment was quite spacious and had two bathrooms and a full kitchen. Plenty of room for everyone and for my daughter to play. There is a large supermarket in the Central Plaza and other shops which are only a few minutes walk away. It is a little challenging to find some really nice restaurants close to the hotel (ie fine dining is nowhere to be found) so for these it is a 10-15 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Plenty of 'cheap eats' around the hotel though so good for families. Even though close to the train station the apartment was very quiet.

The service from the staff at reception, especially Deepak, was excellent. Nothing was an issue, they were very helpful with directions and always friendly. This is some of the best service I have seen having travelled extensively. Overall a good option if going to Lion King and travelling with kids as close to public transport and spacious apartments.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom apartment which is ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Janice S,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Address: 2 Lee Street | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Sydney Central Hotel Sydney
Medina Executive Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.