We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly but close to everything.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place to your Saves list
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smelly but close to everything.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday in Feb 2013 for only 1 night.
Overall, i'd only stay again if it were for a long stay in which you can take advantages of the facilities to cook and wash.

+ Location! Right in the middle of the CBD. Walking distance to both CQ and shopping malls. Right outside Martin Place train station.
+ Early and easy checkin
+ Spacious
+ Very quiet at night (Perhaps because we were there on the weekend so no trucks).
+ Accommodated our request for 2 single beds
+ Comfortable and clean beds. Slept really well.
+ Kitchen/washing facilities etc, so really good for long stays!!

- THE SMELL. Our room had a bad smell, we had to open our balcony door to get some relief - but we were opening on to a dirty lane with rubbish. The hallways stunk even more. Each time we re-entered the hallways from the lift, the smell would smack us in the face.
- Down a lane/side-street. View of rubbish and office windows.
- Unfriendly counter staff. Each time we would leave or return to the hotel, the staff member didn't ONCE look up from his desk/computer. Very rude.
- Bath/Shower combo thing. Quite high to step in/out for someone short like me. It was dirty on arrival with hairs in the tub.
- Free internet in 'Public Areas'.... the only public area was the bathroom-sized hotel foyer.
- Balcony seemed like a waste of space. It is huge, but I can't imagine anyone would use it, besides for smoking, because of what it looks out on. Good for "air" though, I guess, since the rest of the hotel seems devoid of fresh air.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear BiancaLE,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
I'm glad you found our location to your advantage.
The other points you raised will be investigated & dealt with.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    195
    66
    16
    9
See reviews for
75
140
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here recently for 5 nights, they were very accommodating to our bedding requirements as we had people joining us in the middle of our stay. Had no issues with any of the facilities, they all worked fine. It is located down a side street but it is very quiet at night after being out all day. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Amyben13,
thank you for taking the time out to write your response.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass this on to my Team
Thank you.
Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went with my friend in August to Sydney for a 4 days trip so as you can imagine it was pretty cold since it was winter. I have to say it must be quiet season to go to Sydney due to the weather since we got a really cheap deal from travel.com.au for a studio apartment in Medina.

I have to say it took the taxi driver a long time to find Medina since it was situated in an alleyway - Hosking Place so rather hard to find. The taxi driver dropped us off on the main road and we had to try to navigate with Google maps to find our way to our Medina during the middle of the night. So was not really impressed initially.

The hotel itself was very basic it only had 1 person at the service desk and not very efficient since we clearly booked for 2 single beds but they got it wrong so we ended up with a double bed. Oh well we were girls so we just let it go and stayed there, but later they did notify us that there was a room with 2 single beds available if we want to change rooms. However, we had already unpacked everything and I was going to take a shower so we decided not to bother changing rooms.

The room itself as it was a studio apartment had a fully furbished kitchen, bathroom, laundry, closet with extra blanket and pillow, safe, TV, balcony, a desk, and air conditioning. It was convenient for us to stay there since it was close to all the major shopping places like Pitt street, china town, George street etc, so we saved a lot of money from transport since we relied on our feet the whole time we were in Sydney. The room is quite big so doesn't feel claustrophobic at all.

Overall I thought Medina was very much value for money during our stay in Sydney during winter since it was close to all the shopping places, major attractions like opera house, Sydney tower eye, aquarium, manly ferry, manly beach, Cicular Quay and restaurants. It also offered airport transfer for a low fee something like $12-$15 so it was so much cheaper than to catch a taxi for us, but make sure you tell the front desk you want this service and wait outside the corner of Hosking Place on time. Also if you ever need anything do not hesitate to ask since the staff at the front desk may seem unfriendly at first but if you ask for thing they always try to fulfill your request.

I would very much recommend people to check out this place if you are wanting to go to stay somewhere that's value for money during winter season in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear KarenZ,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.

Unfortunately we don't have control over taxi drivers.Even with GPS a lot of them still can't find Hosking Place. Sometimes I think they should just stick to street directories.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always striving to please all guests at all times.

Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Located in Hosking Street, this place is a bit tucked away, but is so convenient for all of central Sydney. Handy for buses, rail, etc. Room was of good size, clean with good bathroom. Kitchenette very good, with Smeg appliances. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Nothing not to like here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had an excellent 4 night stay here. For us, couple plus 3 year old, it was perfect.
Positives
Easy taxi ride from airport
Staff granted us very early check in 10 am! Invaluable when travelling with a child who really needs a midday sleep
Location, 5 mins walk to Pitt st etc shopping, supermarket nearby on king st/George st corner. 10 mins walk to harbour etc
Comfortable bed.
Very spacious apartment, adequately equipped kitchen.
Very quiet, no noise from other residents. Can hear street noise, but very muffled.
Very reasonable price-best deal was directly from hotel website. $168/night in the centre of Sydney, hard to do better i think.
Clean.

Negatives
Shower head provides a less than luxurious spray..super water economical
Bathroom is a bit poky, esp access to toilet.
Kitchen saucepans dangerous, handle heats up when saucepan heats up
Glass bricks in living room let light in, but if you were to sleep on couch bed, they would be very annoying, let in sunlight and streetlights in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good location for touring the city and easy walk to Cicular Quay and The Rocks.
Close to all transport. Railway approx 100 metres and bus stops similiar distance.Quiet location in side street away from noisy traffic. Only downside is room is very dark, as surounded by tal buildings and due to double glass and verandah, not much natural light.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The apartment was everything we expected - great location, spotlessly clean, and very good amenities. The only criticism is that the front desk staff member on our arrival was not friendly and welcoming, as you'd expect. He did not even say hello (even after I said hello to him), just took my booking form, processed the booking and handed me the cards to our room. Very disappointing as everything else about Medina Apartments was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.