We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Save Saved
You added Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good city stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Second stay in this hotel - this time in a studio apartment. It had a full kitchen. Don't be put off by the alley way entrance. The hotel is centrally located for all the major attractions. We stayed on level 6 this time it was very quiet. Room was promptly cleaned. The gym was clean, well equipped and the equipment in good working order. The staff are pleasant and friendly without being intrusive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear tessa1963,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , a second time.
I will pass on your comments to my Team.
looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    120
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
81
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, 10-15 mins walk to anywhere you would need to be in Sydney. Stayed here for 8 days over christmas so the fact the balcony overlooked shabby offices wasn't a problem. Good clean spacious apartment with free washing facilities, the wi-fi was a bit of a rip off though. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear NPudsey,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a good location making it easy for visitors to get around Sydney without hassles.
The wi-fi is outsourced hence the charges. We now have "free" wi-fi for 30minutes for each 24hour period available only in the Foyer for our guests.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Classic Martin for 4 nights after arriving in Sydney on a cruise ship, and then for another 3 nights after visiting the Cairns and Brisbane areas.

After staying there, we felt that the TA reviews we read were very indicative of the hotel. The location is one of its biggest assets, close to Circular Quay and the Opera House. Public transport is very close by, and a weekly 'zone 1' pass at $43 gets you just about everywhere you might want to go ion the Sydney area. Our apartment was well equipped for our needs, especially the in-unit laundry facilities after a 19 might cruise. The unit was quite dark due to it's location, and the shower a challenge for the height-challenged (e.g. me) or the elderly.

We were pleased that they kept some luggage for us between our stays, as we did not need our more formal wear while in Cairns or Brisbane. Our suitcase was waiting for us in our unit when arrive for our second stay.

One main complaint is the ridiculous cost for wireless access. We made use of free wireless at the local McDs and even on the ferries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear trvlr,
thank you for writing your review.
We are always striving to help our guests as much as possible.
The wi-fi is outsourced therefore charges are applicable.
It was great you were able to take advantage of our location for your stay in Sydney.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 short stays at this hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. The apartment was clean and comfortable - comes with separate lounge, kitchen with basic amenities including dishwasher, large fridge and microwave, also washer and drier. Only problem we found was the hard to access shower which is a deepish bathtub arrangement and not particularly suitable for older visitors. Otherwise all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Denise C,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved our stay here and it was a fabulous price!

Do stay here if:
*You want the advantage of apartment living. We had a full kitchen, bathroom, and laundry. It was great being able to run clothes through the washing machine and dryer before we headed to our cruise ship.
*You want to be right in the heart of the city and easy walking distance to Circular Quay, the Royal Botannic Gardens, Martin Place, trains etc.
*You want to be a 5 min walk to a supermarket.

Don't stay here if:
*You want a view. The view out the windows is of an alley/office buildings.
*You are elderly or infirm. The shower has about a 70cm bath base that you need to step up and over to get into the shower. There is a handle on the wall but best to be pre-warned in case this poses an issue.

FYI - There is a pedestrian path at the end of the alleyway that takes you past the magic shop out onto Pitt St next to a stationary store with red sign. Turn left and in under a minute you're on Martin Place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear NixieNZ,
thank you for writing your review.
It is good to hear that you found our property to be ideally located for your visit and that the apartment was suitable for all your needs.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights. Central location and clean. A 15 minute walk to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. The room was a bit outdated and basic but included a washing machine and dryer which was handy. Would stay here based on location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Galway-Mayo,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about.
We are glad that you found our property to your liking & that our location helped you enjoy Sydney.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I asked for disabled access as my son is in a wheelchair,easily accessible room, disabilty friendly bathroom, apartments are tucked down small rather dark alley but didn't matter as is within 15 mins walk of most Sydney attractions. Very clean, upon arriving sofa bed had no bedding but after advising the very friendly and helpful staff bed was made within minutes. Rooms serviced everyday and had everthing we needed, overall I was happy with he Medina Classic Apartment and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Maxine M,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
The whole Team is happy that you & your son enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we'll see you sometime again in the future.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.