We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place to your Saves list
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights. Central location and clean. A 15 minute walk to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. The room was a bit outdated and basic but included a washing machine and dryer which was handy. Would stay here based on location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Galway-Mayo,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about.
We are glad that you found our property to your liking & that our location helped you enjoy Sydney.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    157
    52
    13
    8
See reviews for
57
106
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I asked for disabled access as my son is in a wheelchair,easily accessible room, disabilty friendly bathroom, apartments are tucked down small rather dark alley but didn't matter as is within 15 mins walk of most Sydney attractions. Very clean, upon arriving sofa bed had no bedding but after advising the very friendly and helpful staff bed was made within minutes. Rooms serviced everyday and had everthing we needed, overall I was happy with he Medina Classic Apartment and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Maxine M,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
The whole Team is happy that you & your son enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we'll see you sometime again in the future.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment while dealing with family medical matters. Okay - let's get the bad news over with up front. Housekeeping is pretty shoddy. Broken stuff, and while not dirty - not as clean as it should be, including a few surfaces that hadn't seen the side of a dusting cloth in a very long time so there was a bit of a dingy/grimy feel to the place.

But all the usual apartment facilities and as other reviewers have said, friendly and helpful desk staff. Overseas or interstate visitors shouldn't be concerned about the location - it's right in the middle of the city and lots of folks around at almost all times of night. The laneway was a bit noisy in the early morning with rubbish trucks coming and going but earplugs fixed that.

Weirdest "shower-bath" I have ever seen and for a small person like me it was incredibly difficult to first of all step up and over and then down into this very deep space. Anyone without good flexibility and steadiness should avoid any of the rooms with that kind of shower arrangement.

A good place to eat is the old general post office - the GPO - at 1 Martin Place round the corner - its a very upmarket food court with great pizza, tapas, sushi, and more, as well as restaurants; I've never had a bad feed there.

Overall good location for city activities and transport and reasonable value - but a lot more care with housekeeping is needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear SydneyRaptor,
thank you for taking the time out to write your view.
I was very sorry to hear that the Housekeeping didn't meet your expectations.We do try very hard to maintain the cleanliness of our rooms as this is where guests are most critical.
I'm glad that our location & the Staff met with your approval.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Staff pleasant, one room bedroom was fine. However, if you prefer daylight avoid this. The hotel,only occupies the first 6 stories or so of a 20 ish story building, facing an equally tall building in a narrow alley. No sun ever makes it down, the windows are quite heavily tinted and you need the net curtains closed unless you want to be sharing your intimacy with the office workers looking directly in.

Central location was excellent and thank goodness we had good weather for our stay, very depressing to be indoors in daytime - lack of view ok lack of light not.

Room Tip: No good rooms, all dark and woken early by daily rubbish collection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear peripatetic66,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
Our location is our best asset.
As you say our position is surrounded by tall office buildings which makes light difficult to get through to our rooms.
I'm glad you enjoyed the room & hopefully didn't have to spend too much time indoors & went out to savour the City & surrounds.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The apartments are tucked away, down a little alleyway and upon arriving, my friend and I thought, "Oh no, this doesn't look very good". But we were so, so wrong. They had one person at front desk, who was very helpful and checked us in straight away. The halls were lowly lit and we prepared for a bit of disappointment, but we opened the door and were gobsmacked. We were so thrilled with the room. The staff fulfilled our request of twin beds instead of 1 queen bed, the lounge area was spacious, the bathroom was very clean and we had a huge balcony (granted, our view was of the alleyway, but there was no escaping that). I couldn't really fault the place (except check out was 10am, and was 11am at another hotel we stayed at), especally for the price I got it for. It's in a fantastic location, and the staffmember we asked for directions was very helpful. I really loved this place and wish I could just live there. It would be idea for a family, a business trip, or anyone having a longer stay. In what I thought was a linen closet, there was a washing machine and the kitchen was fully equipped. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear ShonaLR,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
The Team & I are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were so happy with your room.
We look forward to greeting you again some time in the future.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo during October and November.
We caught the airport train to St James station, cost relatively expensive for a 15/20mins journey. Its about 10mins nearly flat walk
Stayed for 5 nights, in a one bed apartment
The hotel is in the dead end road Hoskyns place right next to what looked like a very popular
Japanese restaurant and a pedestrian cut through to Pitt street
Apartment had lounge with dining table and chairs couch and patio doors onto large balcony
Bathroom decent size and good shower over the very high shower tray/mini bath
Large comfortable bed with large wardrobe..
Kitchen very well equiped.
All the facilities you would want on a long trip washing machine and dryer in cupboard
Staff (Rosa?) very helpful at reception, check in and out swift.
Hotel shares building and address with resedential apartments.
Hotel very close to CBD, Martin Place.
Its 5 / 10min walk to Circular Quay and all the ferries and Botanical Gardens.
10mins or so from Darling Harbour. Opera House is 10/15mins walk.
Lots of restaurants at Darling Harbour, and down towards Opera House, also several places on the Rocks also 10mins away
Highly recommend if your not bothered about having a view from your room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear traveller0065,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property.
I will pass on your comments to my Team (especially Rosa).
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I visit Sydney CBD 2 to3 nights a week each 2 weeks
I am so happy to have a Sydney home great manager and reception staff my room is always excellent there is a tiny balcony I can sit at very quiet in a typical Sydney lane 50 or so meters from Martin place
sure there is no view BUT REALLY WHO NEEDS THAT!
A short stroll to all the best restaurants to the most beautiful harbour city IN THE WORLD
if you are hungry try the Japanese BBQ all you can eat 3 meters from your front door
This is my Sydney pad and I recommend it
Please leave room for my visits heh!heh!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Leonard4979,
thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write your review.
We are very happy that we are fullfilling your expectaions of accommodation service.
I have passed your comments on to the Team.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.