We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment really grew on me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Macleay Hotel to your Saves list
Macleay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Apartment really grew on me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

It was the fabulous position that made us take this apartment. Also it was somewhat cheaper than many of the apartments in the area, which is important with sterling being in such a sad state at the moment.
Inside we had a great view of the harbour, but the room was quite small and the bathroom looked in need of a refurrb, so we were going to move on. However, it really grew on us. The cleaning staff are really fussy, so it's spottlessly clean and the whole place has a really warm feel to it. We ended up staying for 9 nights....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    154
    45
    19
    7
See reviews for
61
142
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

The lobby and the exterior of the hotel create a positive impression but our room and the facilities were very average. Our room was much, much, much smaller than the photograph portrayed. We had to squeeze past the small, ugly, bistro setting just to get in the door. The tv sits on the desk and the room was very cramped. The bathroom was somewhat dated and not entirely clean. On the upside, the view of the harbour bridge and opera house is lovely although oddly, the furniture is not configured in a way that makes it easy to appreciate. The service at reception was generally helpful. I did notice on an elevator journey that the lower floors have newer carpet and look refurbished. We did not stay at a discounted rate so I wondered who gets to stay in the nicer rooms. The outdoor pool is very, very small with no toilet/change area nearby - you will have to go through the lobby. Beyond the hotel itself, the location is very convenient to Kings Cross nightlife and the Potts Point neighbourhood for morning coffee.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We arrived on the 30th Dec for 8 nights. Check in was fine and the guy behind the desk was really helpful.
Checked into a room with a harbour view, although room compact it was perfectly clean and suited our needs.
Location is a little way out of the city, Kings cross about 5 mins up the road is absolutely horrible and i avoided going near this area.
Generally we liked the Macleay and found all the staff to be really good, i just wish i could have picked this place up and moved it closer to Circular Quay area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

This is the second time we have been to the Macleay. The location is excellent. Near to Kings Cross and the station. Buses are convenient (outside the hotel). It is a good spot for access to central Sydney and the harbour. The reception is excellent and very helpful. The room we had this time had a harbour view and is not overlooked as are the rooms with a bridge view. The facilites are comprehensive and the Woolworth's opposite is open until midnight for food and drink. We were allowed, at no extra charge to leave our bags and change before we caught the plane out of Sydney. The hotel needs to upgrade its internet. The central unit near reception did not work well and there was no wireless internet in the rooms. The plug in version in the rooms was expensive

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The staff was able to direct you anywhere you needed to travel. THey knew the bus routes and walking ways to the heart of Sydney. They also got us to Bondi Beach with directions as well.

Sydney food is very expensive compared to the US and we took advantage of the kitchen and the grocery store across the street. Yes groceries were more expensive than US but it still saved our family quite a bit of money by being able to cook in our room on a hotplate and in the microwave.

The rooms were small but our family made due even with our excess baggage for scuba diving.

we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again. THank you Macleay and your staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Great views of harbour bridge and opera house.

Loved the walk through botanical gardens to opera house.

Easy access via Kings Cross station.. yes it is a bit sleazy but we were expecting that.

Yes room decor a bit tired but very useful to have apartment and be able to cook/store food in fridge etc.

Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

If you are in Sydney on business then this could be the ideal location for you. Five minute walk from the Australian version of Soho but far enough away to be perfectly respectable!
Kings Cross Railway station is a good hop on point for anywhere in the CBD and there are buses close by should you prefer to travel overground.

Thanks to a journey from Hell courtesy of ground staff at Kuala Lumpur, I arrived after midnight, 3 hours late and jet lagged so was not in the best frame of mind however, a warm and friendly welcome plus my chosen room (810 as suggested by other reviewers) made a huge diference.

Room is typical inner city hotel size but clean, air con works, cooking facilities should you wish to use them and a view worth every one of the 25 hours spent getting here!
I would certainly stay here again as it's close enough to the city without suffering from the noise and congestion yu would get in a more central location.

Kings Cross is fine during the day, plenty of good cafes and eateries but fairly seedy at night. Not Amsterdam or London levels and you don't feel threatened but you do need to be fairly broad minded if you walk back from the station at night!

Broadband is expensive at $15 per day but, if you here on business, it's essential. There was a slight connection problem but the brillaint staff member sorted that out within 5 minutes - very impressive!

To sum up, great value, great service - it does exacly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macleay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.