We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Macleay Hotel to your Saves list
Macleay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
San Franciso
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff were very friendly and kind. Location is great, convenient for getting around as well as shops and restaurants nearby. Room was nice, very clean and had a great view of Darling harbour. I liked it because I could take care of extras like laundry, snacks, drinks, etc, without paying the really high prices you pay at "luxury" hotels. So I felt like I was really getting value for money as well as staying in a really nice place. I would go back anytime

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    153
    45
    19
    7
See reviews for
61
140
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went back to Sydney for four weeks, to see my old friends and take care of some personal business. I stayed here the whole time, and it was well worth it. The location is very convenient, not just for the tourist, but also for business. I really got a lot done, and the staff at Macleay were a big help. The room I had was very comfortable and convenient, I had a kitchen as well as all the normal hotel services. Overall, it was an excellent experience, and I hope to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Darling harbour or Opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. 5 minute walk to train station, although you have to walk through Kings Cross, which is the red light area. Didn't feel unsafe. Plenty eating places in the area. Staff polite and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed on 9th floor. It was worth paying extra for a harbour view. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Incredible hotel! Incredible location! Incredible staff! Incredible room and furnishing! Incredible price! Wow! I couldn't have asked for more on my recent visit to Sydney! The staff was really great at recommending places to visit, restaurants, shopping, sites...like a personal concierge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

21st January 2013 to 08 February 2013
This is a first class budget hotel which provides what was advertised. on arrival although i was considerably late, treated very well and a very speedy check in which was appriciated.
A room with a first class view overlooking the bridge and the opera house and with very little noise. Self catering which my wife and i found to be sufficient for our needs. The room was serviced everyday to a high standard.The desk staff , in fact all the staff i encountered was friendly a helpful.If visiting Sydney again this would be my first choice.
The few negative reviews i have read, well i cannot justify them, my experiance was 100% and i would recomend this hotel to anybody.
Bus stop just outside, train station five mins away , supermarket across the road, lifts to all floors, good views, clean well maintained room, newspapers, advice and directions if required what more do you need.
Thanks again to the Macleay from the old RN sailor.

Room Tip: Book room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel well placed for touring in Sydney. Several good restaurants nearby. Room clean and comfortable with basic food preparation facilities and good view of the opera house and Sydney Bridge.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in the lobby.
Would particularly recommend nearby German restaurant - Maggies.

Room Tip: Top floor best for a good view . 2 good lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Macleay Hotel while on a once in a lifetime trip to Australia in December. I was so impressed by the Macleay Hotel! Everything about my time there was perfect! The Potts Point area is just stunning, tree lined streets, amazing restaurants with every type of food imaginable, stylish boutiques and trendy coffee shops. I had a room with a view of the Opera House and the Harbour bridge which I loved. All the staff at the hotel were always extremely helpful, when I first arrived and explained that I had never been to Sydney before they showed me on the map things to do including all the top attractions, best places to see and the best public transport options which I found very helpful. A helpful hint would be to go to the rooftop to see the wonderful views! I took some wonderful photos from up there which I will try to attach to the review. Also free WIFI in the lobby is a big bonus. The rooms were very clean. I really could not find any fault and I hope I get to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay Street | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macleay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.