We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine overall, Kerrie H was the best part!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine overall, Kerrie H was the best part!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have been at the Sydney InterContintenal for the last week for a work event. Our stay has been fine overall, made exceptionally better by Kerrie H.

Front desk staff was fine and polite; effective but nothing to rave about. Café Opera staff has been lackluster- quite offensive when they chided us for pushing two tables together to accommodate our group of four; the price for breakfast is outrageous ($42, even if you just want toast/jam) but the food is good. Our rooms have been comfortable, housekeeping is efficient and thorough.

By far the most impressive part of our stay has been Kerrie. She has been tending to us every day as we go through 12 hour meetings in one small room. Kerrie has gone above and beyond to make our days more enjoyable. We’ve received numerous treats including Anzac biscuits and Lamingtons (local treats); a never-ending supply of Flat Whites (an amazing coffee drink) and endless smiles/comfort. As none of us has ever been to Sydney before, Kerrie has given us suggestions of things to do during our off-time and really taken the time to find things that we’d enjoy. Kerrie has made our trip to Sydney one to remember and for that, we are truly thankful.

Also, if anyone is looking for some great restaurant recommendations that are off the beaten path, check with Will at the carport/front door- he’s got some great suggestions that we absolutely loved.

Overall a fine experience made wonderful by two employees who clearly care about guest experience.

PS: Kerrie H., if you’re reading this, our offer to return to the states with us is still good. Please message me directly ☺

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are more expensive; get a city view and ask for the XX21; great sliver view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear SusanElizabeth1006,

Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay with us.

Your feedback about the wonderful service that Kerrie and Will provided will certainly be passed on. It is great to read that these interactions gave you a most memorable experience for your first stay in Sydney.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

Best Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    802
    254
    77
    56
See reviews for
393
1,122
147
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed for one night during July for business. First impression-fantastic! The charming door man was so funny, lovely and helpful.
Rooms stunning, food delicious, special mention of the breakfast buffet, was amazing. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Kathryn T,

Thank you for your kind words about your first stay here at InterContinental Sydney!

It is great to read that you you had a wonderful experience from entering the hotel, right through to the delicious buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Sydney.

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Walking distance to the Opera House, gardens, financial district.
The steakhouse was exceptional (though steep) but wouldn't accept hotel guests without a reservation.
What's with the surcharge if you pay with a credit card?

Room Tip: A room with a view is a lot better than a room facing another building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Solo158,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to read that you enjoyed our location throughout your stay with us. The surcharge is the merchant service fee that is applied upon credit card payments and can be avoided should you settle via our eftpos facilities or cash payment.

We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels next bring you to Sydney.

With Kindest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in an eastern harbour view room with my 13 yo daughter over a weekend. The location is perfect - a very small walk down a small hill to circular Quay, the opera house precinct and short walk to the rocks or botanic gardens. Having stayed around Darling Harbour or Chinatown on previous visits this location is the best. The service from hotel staff in every area was fantastic - we felt pampered. The rooms were comfortable and we appreciated the pillow menu to get a good nights sleep. A late check out was happily accommodated. My only reason for not giving the full 5 stars was that bathroom was a little old fashioned with shower curtain over the bath. (Nonetheless appreciated the big stack of fluffy towels and the heated mirror so that the mirror didn't fog after a shower). Room service serves were huge so if you are not large eaters one meal may satisfy 2! A great stay - thankyou!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Adelaide65,

Thank you for your review and compliments of our colleagues. It is great to read that you and your daughter enjoyed a brilliant stay with us, felt pampered and made the most of our prime location!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney!

Warmest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Although perfectly located, with a visually appealing lobby, for visitors to Sydney, the InterContinental Sydney is overpriced for what you get - over $300 for a so-called "Special Rate & IHG Member Rate" that did not even include breakfast. The bathroom in the city view room that was booked for an overnight stay was stuck in the 90's. Small, shower over the bath and wall tiles that would have looked good in my grandmas' bathroom, it was like stepping back in time.
Completed their online questionnaire that was received via email and marked this hotel down accordingly, but they still awarded themselves 4 out of 5 stars on their self styled rating system.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guy M M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review as well as completing our online questionnaire.

I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations for your most recent stay with us.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back enabling us to provide you with a more memorable stay.

Kind Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just stayed with the hotel for my husbands 60 birthday, we were given s bottle of wine and chocolates. This was I thought made our visit special. The on problem is with the hotel for the amount of money I paid was Sunday morning breakfast having to queue, it was so busy people moving about like a shopping area. I feel the breakfast area is to small, you feel pushed close to next table.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear irenedunkley03,

So pleased to read that you were able to enjoy a memorable occasion for your husband's 60th birthday.

Your feedback in relation to your breakfast experience has also been passed onto our Director of Food & Beverage.

Thank you for your review, and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the InterContinental Sydney for another memorable stay!

Kindest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Have visited many 5 stars but this was just something extra. Stayed two nights mid-week. The room was beautiful, comfortable and spacious. We had drinks and light snacks up on the 32nd floor overlooking the harbour - an absolute must for visitors not from Sydney. Location was excellent, easy to walk to other restaurants and cafes in the city. Breakfast in the Cortile absolutely gorgeous - just had coffee and toast but the atmosphere is very relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sydney. Worked from the room one day and the cleaning staff were efficient, quiet and quick while I stayed in the room.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better the view. Ask for a corner room if possible as you will have more w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Gayle1308,

Lovely to read that you were able to enjoy a mid week stay with us and experience a light breakfast in the relaxing surrounds of the Cortile.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon!

With Kindest Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#21 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.