We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior King Room with City View and Club Access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superior King Room with City View and Club Access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Customer service was second to none. Reception took my wife's details as I checked in alone whilst the wife was still shopping in town. They sent up some wine and multi-flavoured box of macarons as the visit was for our wedding anniversary. This was a nice touch. We had canapes on the upper floor with Sydney Harbour views. Lovely gym and pool areas that we wished we had brought some training or swimming gear for.
The location was great to be towards the harbour and away from the hussle of the inner city.It was a bit of a challenge for the wife to get her shopping back to the Hotel from Pitt Street.
Everyone should have this Hotel on their bucket list with the club access a recommended extra worth paying for - great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ValtravellerSydney

Truly enjoyed reading your review and thank you so much for the recommendation of placing on "the bucket list". This is a great compliement.

Hopefully we shall be able to welcome you once again in the very near future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    714
    231
    72
    52
See reviews for
337
1,007
134
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 11 days in September whilst on business in Sydney. Given the length of stay you would think the hotel might give you a room with a view but no, the view was straight out into other office blocks, and no chance of seeing the iconic harbour bridge - thus i assume that costs more, but again, staying for nearly 2 weeks you would think they might have afforded one that. The room was standard set up for a hotel of this standard, though the bathroom was starting to show signs of solid regular use, likewise the hallways had well trodden carpet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety - but like most things in sydney, ridiculously expensive so if paying for it with your own money, and are not someone who needs a huge breakfast, i'd hunt down a local cafe and save some cash. All in all, good solid hotel, great location (walking distance of Opera House etc), and in line with what it should be for the room price. Staff all provided excellent and friendly service..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear xmyass

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found our services to be of a good standard.

Apologies that we were unable to offer an upgrade to you, we do have many guests who stay for a long stay and regrettably at times we just do not have the availability to upgrade guests.

I would like to assure you all our pricing is in line with all 5 star hotels.

I do hope you will return to us again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at the InterContinental Sydney. It was a fabulous hotel. The location just can't be beat. It's a short 2 block walk to the Circular Quay, where you can catch a ferry to just about anywhere you want to go. Just a short stroll further and you are standing in front of the Opera House.

We had a wonderful room on the 28th floor which looked out over the Royal Botanic Gardens. The room was spotlessly clean and very nicely appointed. I am very picky about beds, and this one was wonderful. I usually have trouble sleeping well in hotels, but not here. I slept like a baby.

I would definitely recommend spending the extra money and staying in a club level room. The view from the club on the 32nd floor is amazing, looking out onto the harbor and the opera house. The breakfast every morning is delicious and a great way to start off the morning before a day of exploring the city. We spent several mornings just sitting out on the deck enjoying our coffees and the views before setting out on the days journey. The afternoon drinks and canapes were a great way to wind down after a the day.

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The concierge was very helpful in arranging tours for us, and helping us find various things we required during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear dcarson4

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy to hear you had a most enjoyable stay. We really appreciate your compliments of our Club Lounge, as well as our concierge team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again one day.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights on 28th floor in a club room with opera house view ( we got the customary upgrade from harbour view as a result of being Ambassador Club members)This actually meant a superb view of the opera house, the bridge and the circular quay. It is certainly worth paying the extra for the club floor and access to the floor 32 club lounge for breakfast, drinks and canapés in the early evening and a place to relax with a coffee or soft drink during the day.
The staff are exemplary, nothing is too much trouble. On arrival we were welcomed by the check in staff, who suggested what to see during our stay and, naturally, all about the facilities. The lounge staff were welcoming and efficient, even on a Friday night, when it did get quite crowded.
We used the swimming pool, which is on floor 31 and, though quite small, is very pleasant. It would be an advantage if there was a shut out period during which small children were excluded, since it suddenly became very overcrowded with non swimmers.
The hotel is perfectly positioned for a city break and I would thoroughly recommend it. We will certainly return on a future visit to Sydney

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear HSeeingtheworld

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear our colleagues were able to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

We hope to welcome you again one day.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I felt fabulously spoiled here. We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. We really appreciated the personal welcome and birthday wishes from the Guest Relations Manager and the birthday card and wine and chocolates in our room were a lovely touch.

It's well worth paying the extra for a harbour view room- spectacular!

Breakfast has a huge range and is delicious.

The Concierge has made a career for himself, what a professional.

Finally the location is perfect. 3 minutes walk from the buses, trains and ferries at Circular Quay and 5 minutes walk from the Opera House.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear sh0msy73

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased to hear your husband had such an enjoyable 40th birthday with the help of our colleagues. It is also great to know you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the help from our concierge.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights in a club room. The room was quite modern, clean and of reasonable size. The club lounge on the top level has great views of the quay and is a great way to start your day having breakfast there overlooking the view.
The staff in the club lounge particularly Jess and Taylor was exceptional, they were very friendly and accommodating. Their service was of the best I have experienced in a 5 star hotel in Australia. The selection of pre dinner drinks and canapés is also of high standard and a large selection compared to other hotels. Bars and restaurants within the hotel are also quite nice.
It is located in a great location and I cant wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jake M

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pelased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience in the Club Lounge. We truly appreciate your compliments to our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in Australia. Our flight arrived early in the morning and the staff made a special effort to have our room ready for us as soon as possible. The view from our room on the 15th floor was just unbelievable - fantastic views of the harbour bridge, opera house and botanical gardens. The window was just like an enormous picture! The location was great for both circular quay and the centre of the city. We had the buffet breakfast on the last morning if our stay and that too was amazing! We also had a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates delivered to the room as it was our honeymoon! A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: High room had a fabulous harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear HBecky

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide a most enjoyable and memorable start to your honeymoon.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again on your anniversaries.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.