We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous birthday experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #16 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here to celebrate the big 4-0 in style and was not disappointed. Chocolates and wine and a lovely card were provided by staff, as well as a personal greeting by the manager; it was all very special and made the occasion all the more fun. The stay was only overnight but we made the most of the astounding view and very well-appointed room, and enjoyed delicious tapas and champers watching the sun set over the West of the Harbour Bridge. Definitely marked the celebrations well, and seeing the lights over the Harbour and Opera House after a night on the town was truly special. Thanks for a grand time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear retro_rucksack

Happy Birthday to you. Very pleased you chose InterContinental Sydney to celebrate your special birthday, thank you.

Very pleased your celebration was perfect in every way.

We look forward to celebrating many more birthdays with you.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    971
    553
    183
    59
    43
See reviews for
254
774
112
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My best mate and I were going to a gig at the opera house and decided to book a hotel for the night. We used expedia's mystery hotel feature and we were lucky enough to get the InteContinental Sydney. It is in a great location opposite the botanical gardens and an easy 5 min (if that) walk to cirular quay.
The room was absolutely stunning, a good size with by far the best bathroom i have ever seen in a hotel room in Australia. We had a lovely view of the city and the harbour bridge. The bed and pillow were ridiculously comfortable and the room had an electronic blockout blind which was very effective. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and certainly be keen to try other InterConinentals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Allslantylike

We are also very pleased you stayed with us at InterContinental Sydney.

A pleasure to read your review, thank you and we do hope you will stay with us once again in the near future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel in fantastic location. Circular Quay ,ferry terminal, the Opera House and the Rocks all very short walk away. The room was very comfortable with king sized bed. The buffet breakfast was superb. Service was first class and the concierge was extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel . Bottled water was provided in our room at no extra cost

Room Tip: Fantastic location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Carol T

Thank you for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor.

We are also very pleased you had a most enjoyable stay with us.

As always, we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms are great, harbour view rooms provide extraordinary scenic vista's, but we had city view room this time (because of excellent deal on offer) the room exceeded expectations as it actually provided city view with 'obstructed' view of harbour bridge and circular quay ferry terminal. The best thing about InterContinental Sydney though is the attentive yet totally unobtrusive service that is provided, from arrival and valet parking staff, to check-in, and housekeeping, everything just seems to run like a well oiled machine. Friendly yet professional. A wet weekend this time, and hotel umbrella's were freely available, staff were at entrance to assist where needed with umbrella wrapping machine (to limit water drips) and keep the floors immaculately dry. Effortless check in and check out. Turn down service. All contributed to an excellent stay. Definitely recommend for anyone wanting to be close to harbour, the rocks and gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear MKRO

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review.

Thank you for sharing your great stay and pleased you found all aspects of our service to be of a very high level. We do aim to please our guests and it is great that we have achieved this.

Hopefully on your next visit the sun will be shining.

Thank you again

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The good news first, the hotel is located directly at Harbor Bridge and Opera, very nice.
The rooms are ok, but the bath is a bit old. The hotel has a gym with is completely crowded and equipped with really old and used stuff. In the room they do not even offer free water, which meanwhile is quite standard elsewhere. If you want a coffee before 7:30, you have to leave the hotel are use the toxic instant stuff they provide in the room. Internet comes at a ridiculous rate, again this should be included in such a hotel. Beds are good. Had colleagues staying in the Westin, they clearly had the better deal,,,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear AW

Please accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced during your stay.

We do welcome all feedback from our guests and we certainly have taken your comments on board.

Thank you again and we do hope we shall have the opportunity in the future to welcome you once again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel from June 10-14th. We booked from June 9th through the 14th because we were arriving from the USA on a morning flight around 6:30am. Upon arrival we received a great cheerful welcome from the front attendants. The manager welcomed us personally by giving us our keys after we were checked in. Our room was ready, clean, and temperature perfect. We were able to shower and head to bed considering that the time difference from Minnesota to Sydney was 15 hours ahead. From the first day to the last, service was superb, even when the crowds got big during morning checkouts and afternoon check ins. The concierge was absolutely attentive and knowledgeable. They provided us with great suggestions on just about everything we needed during our stay. We had a four year old with us and I must say that this hotel is absolutely attentive to the family. From introduction to check out the front desk hosts greeted all of us, especially the little one with attention and joy. We rate this hotel as one of the best we've stayed in the world. This is because of it's consistency of service and attention regardless of the staff person. Above all, one of the best experiences we've had. And the views from the hotel make it one of the best in Sydney. To the Manger down to the housekeepers, this is one hotel that knows how to take care of guests. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a high floor room so you don't miss the scenery. And take a trip to the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Deaer MKand LSaintPaul

Very pleasing to read your review, thank you.

Always wonderful to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay, received wonderful service which has resulted in a very enjoyable trip to Sydney for you.

Your review has been shared with our colleagues and we do hope to have to opporunity to welcome you once again to InterContinental Sydney in the very near future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Within few hundred meters from the the rocks at circular quay, there cant be a better location. views from teh rooms were too good, but unfortunately there is no rooftop restaurant/bar/deck to feel the unique ambiance and location. Breakfast was little too expensive, but the service was amazing.

Room Tip: Any upper floor >20 with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Senthil Kumar

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and pleasing to read you found our service to be of a high standard as well as enjoying your stay.

I also would like to let you know we do indeed have a rooftop Club Lounge, this is our Executive Lounge however to have access you must book a Club InterContinental Room. If you do require assistance with this for a future booking please contact us and we are more than happy to assist you.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you to InterContinental Sydney once again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.