We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for ferries and The Rocks, somewhat overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location for ferries and The Rocks, somewhat overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and we found the hotel to be in a great location as we used the ferry and trains on our trip.

The booked the standard room room and were somewhat disappointed with its offering. The room was big enough for two people but it just looked dated. The bathroom especially was showing its age. Shower was over the bath with a curtain which is disappointing for a near 5 star hotel. Light fittings need major updating as they look prehistoric and made all the bathroom look dated.

Staff were friendly in all our dealings.

Would definitely try another hotel when next in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Kroppers

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review, thank you.

The location of the hotel is perfect for seeing the sights of Sydney and I am very pleased you found our colleagues to be friendly.

Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back again.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,010
    572
    192
    61
    46
See reviews for
267
798
114
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It has so much potential - but is sadly lacking in the exceptional service that should go with this brand! The setting and location are fantastic but the rooms are average. It is noisy at times due to the set up and I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jenny W

I do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review, however it is a shame that your stay was August 2012 and we were not made aware of your dissatisfaction at an earlier time.

I am very sorry that we let you down.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spend 5 nights in this hotel last week. Location is great!!! this is the best complement I can give this hotel.
Seems like this hotel need some better cleaning and upgrading. The room is sizable but has a gloomy look. The air conditioning in my room was not working well and it took the hotel 3 days and 3 reminders to fix it. The lobby area is not comfortable and the chairs and sofas are dirty.
The prices the hotel is charging for in-room drinks is a theft, for 1 small bottle of mineral water the hotel charged $8 Australian dollars which is almost $10US. For a small bottle of wine they also charge fortune. Intercontinental Hotel management, wake-up!!! you are not in the right direction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear GKann

Please accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced during your stay.

Your comments have been taken on board.

Please rest assured all prices are very in line with all Sydney City five star hotels.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are often in Sydney on business - usually only one or two nights at a time - but we always choose to stay at the Intercontinental. The service at the front counter is exceptional. The staff go out of their wat to be helpful and are always friendly. The rooms are very comfortable - the main criteria for any hotel.
Centrally located so we can walk most places we want to get to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear DandNS

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read that all expectations were met.

Your review is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future to another great stay.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was so so disappointed in this hotel. It is easily the worst Intercontinental I've ever stayed at. This was the sixth Intercontinental we had stayed at in a two month time period and it was like a different hotel chain entirely; it didn't even compare in the most basic of categories with the other IC properties.

The room was in very poor repair and wasn't any too clean either. The bathroom was horrible and small. The plumbing fixtures and the shower were pathetic and out of date and the water pressure was pathetic. Just as a note, old plumbing fixtures aren't quaint or charming, they just seem junky and don't work well. For this being an upgrade from an Executive Club room, I certainly would have expected more, especially for the price. The bed was incredibly lumpy and clearly well beyond the point where it should have been replaced, same goes for the pillows and linens. The blackout blind had holes in it that let in light and it also wasn't fitted properly for width, so the whole purpose of the blackout curtain was negated by these issues and light seeping in from all over. The entertainment software on the television didn't work properly so when we tried to buy a movie it charged us for it but then didn't allow us to actually watch the movie. When we called the front desk about this they said that they would remove it from the bill and that they would send someone up to fix it. Since it was 11 pm we said that wasn't acceptable and that we would just try to purchase the movie again or not watch one at all. Our second purchase miraculously worked, luckily. However, when we were checking out, they had the charge for both movies on the bill. Since I'm a Platinum Ambassador I am supposed to get a movie for free, so neither of these charges should have showed up on our bill. They didn't even seem apologetic about the problems and didn't ask us once if we had enjoyed our stay; the person at checkout barely spoke to us actually.

Also, I never got a welcome gift (a perk of my status). They did at least bring up the fruit (additional perk), though we had been in the room for a full day at that point, and also brought a bottle of wine even though we told them we didn't drink. Our big room upgrade was wasted on a view of the Opera House and it's not anything special. The view is of the back and since there's an ugly tall building to the right of the hotel it detracts from even that mediocre view. It is certainly not worth extra money to look at this view of the Opera House. We stayed at the Four Seasons in a room that wasn't supposed to have a view of the Opera House and actually had a better view of it than we did at the Intercontinental.

The hotel wifi is poor quality and slow, which makes this a particularly bad choice for a business hotel. My husband had problems trying to make a Skype call to the US because the connection was both slow and spotty. He had even more troubles when he had some files that he needed to download. And yes, they make you pay for this lousy Internet service too.

The Club Lounge was not enjoyable either. The women staffing the Club were not friendly and were actually kind of rude and sarcastic when we asked them simple questions. I also didn't like that they were hovering over us while we were looking at the items on the buffet. And you couldn't even get your own beverages from the little fridge like you can in every other IC Club Lounge I've ever been in. It felt like they were trying to make sure that people didn't take anything, like they were trying to cut costs or something. Also, the layout of the space makes it quite noisy when it is busy in the mornings as well. And the dirty tea cups and silverware were really just par for the course in this hotel it seems.

The service at this hotel was deplorable and the state of the place made it seem more like a mediocre Holiday Inn than my favourite chain of Intercontinental hotels. For the money that they want for a room, you might as well go to the Four Seasons where they maintain the hotel quite nicely and are friendly too.

I've stayed at a lot of different Intercontinental hotels and this was the only one that I wouldn't make a return trip to and wouldn't recommend to anyone. I'm glad that this isn't the only Intercontinental that I've ever stayed at or I would think they were all this lousy.

Room Tip: Don't bother spending the extra money for the Opera House view, it is from the back and totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear KM Peterson

We are very sorry your stay with us was so disappointing and we did not create an authentic as well as enriching experience for you.

I would be most grateful to go through all the feedback you have provided personally.

I again extend to you my sincerest apologies for this disappointing experience and I do look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4nights at this great hotel with good food and service. However why is it I can got to macdonalds or Starbucks and spend a dollar on a coffe and get free wifi yet I spen 500 dollars a night at the Intercontinental and have to pay an expensive supplement to use this essential facility. I think the Australian hospitality industry could learn from that in the uk. The service is in with the price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear 948Chris

Thank you very much for the time taken to write your review and I am very pleased that you had a great stay with us.

I do hope we can welcome your return in the very near future.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, 5-11April. 2 Adults & 2 kids. This was our last stop of our Australian adventure and it was Absolutely a Delight! We opted for the Club room, so we checked in at the Club lounge & enjoyed our cocktails & canapes overlooking the Harbour bridge & Opera house! Unbeatable views indeed! The hotel is centrally located, just 5mins walk to the Opera house,the Circular Quay & Botanical garden. The room we had was city view overlooking the botanical garden, it's good size, clean & has all the 5 star amenities in the room. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Kids below 12yrs old are not allowed in the lounge after 5pm,but they let me & my daughter stay til 530pm to avail of the high tea! Nice touch! The swimming pool is located on the 31st floor, so it was nice to see the beautiful views there too! We did a lot of walking & the weather is perfect around 20C in April. There is a free bus that stops near the hotel to go around the CBD, but only up to 330pm. The ferries to Darling Harbour, Manly beach or the Zoo are also just on the Circular quay (2mins), so easy to get around! Overall, we had a wonderful stay & wish to come back!

Room Tip: Club room with the Club Lounge is worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Kitkat301

Absolute pleasure to read your review, so pleasing that your family had a most enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming once again for another enriching experience.

With kind regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.