We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury - treat yourself.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Ballina, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Luxury - treat yourself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is your hotel if you like warm personal service. Sure it costs more than others but Sydney is expensive no matter so you may as well hang out somewhere nice! The staff are excellent and very attentive without being intrusive. All requests were answered promptly and with a genuine desire to help. Beds are comfy and even though I only had "city view' it was still a great view. It is located close to the Quay - so there are trains, buses and ferries only 5 minutes away. Its easy to get onboard a ferry say to go to the attractions at Darling Harbour (such as the Maritime Museum) or to simply cruise the harbour on a ferry to Manly. There is an excellent Museum of Sydney just across the road. Shopping is great up at the Pitt street Mall but that is about a 10 -15 minute walk. It's an easy hotel to get to by taxi to and from the airport as it is just off the expressway - but save a few dollars by getting off in Macquarie street entrance rather than arriving in Phillip Street as they will have to go around the block. Concierge know everything about Sydney and they have a great buffet breakfast with egg chef! Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Book to have breakfast included if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Smartywishbone

Truly appreciate your review, thank you.

It is so pleasing to read that every aspect of your stay was enjoyed and all expectations were met.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney for another great stay.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,009
    572
    192
    61
    46
See reviews for
266
798
114
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights again and we had a fantastic time.. From when we dropped off the car till we picked it up to leave the sevice we received was fantastic. The opera house view room was clean and comfortable. Internet service was fast and reliable. We will be staying here all the time when we need to go in to the CBD from now on. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear G M

Pleasure to read your review thank you, and we also look forward to your return whenever you decide to visit the CBD of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I couldnt fault the service in this hotel. When we first arrived we were incorrectly put into a twin room, which the staff quickly rectified. The service throughout was exception, the staff seem really happy to work there and this shows. The room was fantastic, possibly one of the most comfortable beds we have exerienced.

The breakfast is second to none and set against the heritage building the hotel lobby is a great place for a coffee or dessert.

The only very minor complaint was that the pool was cold and the spa is actually a series of jets down the side of the pool edge. However this would definiely not deter us from staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Rebecca R

Thank you so much for your review, it is appreciated.

Also, thank you for the feedback in relation to the pool temperature, we shall have this checked.

We look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked rooms on a corporate rate and I have a feeling these rooms are of a lower standard due to the fact I got a cheaper rate.
The rooms looked dated - very 90s and the bathrooms were in need of a serious makeover.
Other reviewers commented on the lux bathroom toiletries but again we did not get this in the rooms on level 13.
Check in and check out was pretty chaotic in the small check in area.
Overall pretty disappointing and I wont be back.

Room Tip: If you get put on level 13 ask to be moved to another floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear toffa24

Please accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced with regards to the room type allocated to you.

Guests who stay on corporate rates are allocated the room type which is negotiated for that particular room between the hotel and the company concerned.

With regards to bathroom amenities, all rooms are provided the same with exception of our Club InterContinental rooms.

Again our apologies and if we can further assist, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a problem with our reserved airport pick-up and Phil Klarich, a concierge at the hotel went out of his way to make-up for the inconvenience. This is also one of the best Intercontinental we had stayed at - good size rooms, good service, and an excellent location. Our family of three fit comfortably. Service was prompt and friendly. Last but not least, it is centrally located with just a short walk to the opera house and the beautiful Botanical Garden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Bangkokmusa

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and so very pleased Phil was able to assist with the transfer situation.

Other than this, I am very pleased you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we do hope we can welcome your return to InterContinental Sydney in the very near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is the second time we have visited and can't fault it. Very friendly staff, spotless rooms, nothing too much trouble. Restaurant staff even acknowledged a mistake in a meal order which was subsequently credited to our account! most convenient position.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the harbour. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Carol C

Thank you very much for your review and I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the meal mix up. However, I am pleased that it was rectified for you.

Pleased overall you had a great stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Best location stunning views fantastic service beautifully appointed rooms. I usually stay at four seasons but no more. I found the intercontinental far superior. Welcomed the upgrade on arrival and couldnt get over the outstanding service from reception concierge room service etc. value for money for sure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear thebigmango

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is appreciated.

Pleased overall you stay with us was enjoyed and hopefully you shall return to InterContinental Sydney in the near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.