We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #18 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because we had a concert at the opera house. It was the perfect place to stay as we could walk the the concert. Our room was lovely and the breakfast was fabulous . Loved the organic yoghurt!! All the staff were very helpful and check in was a breeze. So will definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Coastalchickie

Thank you very much for you review, we do appreciate your feedback.

We always try very hard to accommodate early arriving guests as we do understand long flights are very tiring and most people are anxious to check in. If we have rooms available we certainly do not mind. Pleased we were able to assist you and we do hope we can welcome your return back to InterContinental Sydney soon.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,001
    568
    191
    60
    46
See reviews for
263
793
113
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for several days upon arrival from a long red eye flight overseas. We got to the hotel in the morning, exhausted from our long flight. Most hotels will only let you check in after a certain time, so we expected to have to kill time most of the day locally and came here straight from the airport to have our bags held until we could check in. Instead of making us wait, they checked us right into our room, at least 5 hours early!

Pros:
-We had a decent sized room with comfortable beds.
-Fantastic views of the harbor, bridge, opera house and some of the Royal Botanic Gardens
-We received early check in.
-Nice breakfast
-Great location, within walking distance to most major attractions. (Harbor, Opera house, The
Rocks district, Botanic Gardens, etc)
-Friendly staff.
-Nice indoor pool area with equally great harbor views!

Cons (none, really):
-Located on a bit of a hill, so make sure you have comfortable walking shoes. We loved walking
everywhere from here!
-Taxi driver had no idea how to get there and drove in circles...but that's not the hotel's fault...lol.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up room with a view of the harbor. There is one other building in particular that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel has a superb location just around the corner from Circular Quay, Opera House and the Harbour. I love this hotel overtime I'm in Sydney and it is this trip that Tattlia has an attitudinal problem. She loves to argue with guests and in particular she thinks I'm lying. While in queue prior to my turn she told off a guest "I don't have a calculator behind the desk and my other colleagues don't have too. It must have been borrowed by other guests."

To my amazement where is the courteous of being in a 5-star service? I have stayed in many InterContinental properties worldwide including the one in Number 1 Park Ln in London and I must say this property is appalling because of one person's service.

I am not saying everyone but I singled out this. The rest of your colleagues have been absolutely courteous and helpful.

Having said that I will still return but I might stay with Hilton Sydney more. So does my other colleagues. Not because of the location wise but the flexibility and courtesy of recognition that we received over there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Humbleboy

We do hope you have received our private message requesting further information with regards to your reservation which will enable us to follow up on your feedback.

We do look forward to receiving further information.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wonderful place to stay so near to the Opera House , ferries ,and bridge. .We were warmly welcolmed by all the staff ,from our room we had a good view of the bridge everything we needed was provided .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Chris21Hexham

Very pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us, thank you.

We do look forward to seeing you once again in the near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When checking in, I realized that I had lost my phone. It had probably slipped out of my pocket in the cab but i couldn't remember the company and had no receipt. Well, the concierge asked me: "where you wearing that green shirt sir?". eeeh yes? "I'll have a look at the security cameras". Wow, he did just that and tracked down the company and the driver. The driver had not seen my phone (well well) but the service level was still impressive and I got a very good impression by staff in general. Always friendly and helpful.

I was also very happy to find that the Gym is a fully equipped healt club. Always a big plus in my book.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MartinK

Thank you for sharing your experience at Intercontinental Sydney.

It is a shame that your phone was not located however, I am pleased to read that our colleague did all he could to assist you.

Pleased that you had a good stay with us and thank you for the great comments regarding our colleagues.

We do hope to welcome your return.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for a 5 day break in February 2013, our second visit.
We used the limo service and were impressed by that service.
The check in was very good, our daughter was to check in the next day and Kate managed to arrange that our daughter would be on the same floor and not too far away from us.
The next day our daughter checked in with someone who had "manager" in his title, and he was most stroppy with us when we suggested that we may know what her room number would be!
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel due to the cost - over the top is an understatement.
The intercontinental doesn't have free internet either, so coffee breaks were at Starbucks!
To sum up -- good location - good views -- very good junior staff -- some of more senior staff forget that customer service means respecting the customer, and not being full of their own self importance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks both the opera house and bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Michael_YPT

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, it is appreciated.

Pleased that overall you seemed to have enjoyed your stay, however please rest assured your comments have been shared with our management team and please accept our apologies for any upset caused.

We do hope we can look forward to welcoming your return.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a romantic weekend. Luxurious room with a captivating view sweeping across Sydney Harbour from the Opera House across to Fort Dennison and the Eastern Suburbs. We loved the window ledge seats that wrapped around the length of the room so you could sit and gaze out at the harbour all night. The bed was a massive king size with lovely, soft pillows which I wanted to take home. The bathroom was appointed with shower and spa, fittings were classic and first class. We took High Tea mid afternoon in the dining area downstairs and felt like stars! The architecture is a pastiche of modern, Victorian era and in places, classic retro. We had dinner and breakfast buffet that were both lovely (dinner was modern Australian ala carte). Car parking was not cheap but being in walking distance to all the major tourist locations such as Circular Quay and the city centre you won't need to be bringing your car out all the time. If you want somewhere special for either a pleasurable weekend or the convenience of being near the 'business end' of town, you'll find this first class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear mrdamage101

Thank you for writing your review sharing your recent experience.

So very pleasing to read that all expectations were met and you had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.