We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a pleasure to stay in place where everything is up to expectation. Immaculate rooms, impeccable service, perfect location just behind Circular Quay, great views of the harbour (see tip). You don't mind paying top dollar for a top place and this place was fab-u-lous.

Room Tip: Room 1123, a corner room, has an astonishing view of the famous bridge complete with long window sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    717
    232
    72
    54
See reviews for
340
1,011
134
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Being Sydney based it's hard for me to stay here often but I wish I could just so I can indulge in the luxury of an Intercontinental hotel with views of Sydney harbour. First time I booked a club room and didn't regret it, the rooftop lounge has fantastic views and it's just so relaxing to sit up there with a drink in hand watching the activity on the harbour.

Got room with a full harbour view which was up to the standard to most IC hotels I've been to - essentially everything you need. We did have a couple of minor problems though, the thermostat didn't really work so room was a tad warm and felt the bed was way too soft for our liking, probably should've informed reception but being in the hotel overnight we didn't feel it was worth the effort.

The gym is huge and the pool is indoor so you'll need to look elsewhere for a tan.

Hotel is well located, 5-10 mins from Circular Quay & the harbour area, the major shops at Pitt St about 10-15 mins south. The Domain is also beside the hotel if you're looking for open spaces.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at the Intercontinental for his 50th birthday. We had a lovely time. The view was spectacular - we stayed in an Opera House view room.

From the start we were treated professionally and friendly. The concierges were very efficient and sorted out our car. Check in was efficient. We were very early but as soon as the room was ready we were told and given the keys.

Room service was delicious and had a good range. It was a tad expensive.

The seafood buffet in Cafe Opera was great for the seafood lovers. I am not a seafood lover and found the beef on offer a bit dry and overcooked. The desserts were delicious.

Check out was smooth and it was a shame to leave the amazing view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed at IC Sydney back in October 2012 and we were really surprised by the professionalism of the employees!
The room was spacious and comfortable, without any technical issues.
Staff was everywhere present and ready to help.
If anything to mention as an area to improve is the small swimming pool area (even though the location is very unique).
The most impressive of all was the club lounge. It is located on the top floor of the building and the view is just FANTASTIC! Also service was up to the known InterContinental standards and quality as well as variety of food and beverages was very good.

Room Tip: Harbor view on a high floor and if possible club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons Sydney on our visit two years ago. It felt stuffy and dark. We did have a lovely view of the harbor. This time we thought we would try something new and we were not disappointed! From checking in and having the professional yet personable Lisa greet us, we knew we had not only saved money but made a smart decision. Our room was beautifully appointed and had a postcard view of the Opera House and Harbor Bridge. We found everyone most helpful and anxious to please. When we left the following day to board our cruise ship, I waved at Lisa who was checking in another lucky guest. While waiting for the taxi to load, she had run outside and told us goodby while inquiring about our stay! It is personnel like that which made the difference.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a full harbor view and that is what we received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on business as it was on the company list and my favourite Sydney hotel (Hilton) was not. Overall it was very good, but didn't stand out in any way to make it more than that.

Breakfast was excellent, but very busy to get in - even though tables were empty - the process to get to the table left something to be desired.

The rooms are very good and although the TV's are a little small, the content was wide and HD.

It would have been nice to see a complementary water, but generally I liked the room.

So - very good - just not excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights here in Sydney for a wedding recently. We had a great welcome and our room was clean, large and had a nice view. It took 5 minutes to walk to see the harbour from the hotel, so I think the location is central and convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.