We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #19 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views of harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and very close to the ferry terminal and train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If staying here the only rooms to stay in are the ones with a view. The only criticism I have is that the bathrooms are starting to look a little tired could do with a revamp. Also if you can stretch the budget go for the club rooms which give you access to the club lounge right at the top with great views.

Room Tip: Choose room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    661
    220
    65
    50
See reviews for
304
915
127
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

stayed for two weeks on business in a city room halfway up the hotel facing onto bridge street. Not too overlooked and could see over to the Botanical Gardens. Room spacious comfortable and clean. Location v near Circular Quay for transport and some bars, convenience stores etc. Didn't eat or drink at hotel due to high prices which I thought were too high even for a hotel. I'd look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear ndg123

Appreciate the time you have taken to share your review, thank you.

Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully return in the very near future.

Thank you again.

With Kind Regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A fantastic hotel centrally located with everything at your finger tips. The ferries are just down the street & the beautiful park is just across the road which leads down to the Circular Harbour. It is expensive to eat in the hotel but probably no more than any other 5 star hotel in the developed world.

Room Tip: You must use the swimming pool on the top floor, just devine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Juan E

Thank you for your review and pleased you had a great stay with us.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were so disappointed by the aspect of the city rooms that we checked out. The hotel was extremely busy because of Chinese New Year and that seemed to be an excuse for poor service. We asked to change rooms, no one got back to us. I'll guess that the standards of the hotel are probably as good as other Intercontinental hotels - just be aware that if you book a 'City View' room, you will be looking into offices and won't feel like you have any privacy.

Room Tip: Avoid City View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mandy014

Please accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced.

The room you had booked was a "Superior City Side Room" which reflects the description of the view, the city. If you had booked a "Harbour Room" the view would have been of Sydney Harbour.

Due to the hotel being at full occupancy we were unable to provide you with a higher category room with a view.
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel which strikes a wonderful balance of classiness and friendliness. The location was ideal and the staff could not have been better. Loved this hotel. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is that the rooms could stand for a bit of an upgrade. That being said, there was nothing wrong with the rooms-- they are comfortable and nice looking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear go12345

Thank you for writing your review, it is appreciated and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having you return.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great place to stay. Location brilliant for work and then play with everything so close and handy. Staff are friendly and always willing to help. With walking distance to circular quay makes it very easy to see the wonderful sites of Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear BBM1978

Appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback following your stay with us.

Always pleasing to know that our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family have just racked-up another visit to Sydney and another stay at the InterContinental! The hotel is a business hotel - but when I stay there it's really just for fun! And it works!

First - the location: If you were only going to be in Sydney for ONE DAY and you were never going to go back again - THIS is where you would want to stay! The hotel is one block away from Circular Quay (funny way to spell 'key' ;) Our room overlooks the Sydney Harbor Bridge, the Opera house AND the Botanical Gardens! It's pretty spectacular to have three of the City's top tourist destination RIGHT THERE! You can EASILY walk to the ferries that take you all around the City. Easily walk to the Botanical Gardens (they are just across the street!) And easily walk to the bridge! If you expand your horizons by a block or so you have access to museum(s) and libraries! Expand your wandering radius out 3 or so blocks and you are pretty much smack-dab in the middle of the downtown business community! Bars, shops, restaurants are all right there within walking distance!


Dining: The Hotel offers a two choices for your meals. Cafe Opera on the first first floor is large and traditional looking - but with a few flourishes of flair that make it a nice place to enjoy a meal with family and friends.

On the ground floor the Cortile is a bar/cafe offering comfortable seating and nice atmosphere under the building's atrium! I have to admit that most nights my family and I dine here because frankly, I like the menu! It features lovely tapas and sandwiches and food that's miles apart from most fare offered in bars/cafes I've been to! My particular favorite is the Reuben sandwich... not like a traditional New York deli style Reuben - but then again - that's not to say that I've enjoyed every Reuben I've eaten in a New York deli either!

Another note while I'm on the subject of eating and drinking: The cafe latte 'they' serve is probably the BEST I've ever had. When I say 'they' I mean pretty much anyone in the hotel! I don't think they have a dedicated barista; I've been to the hotel 3 times over the past 3 years at different times of the year(s)... at different times of the morning/noon/night and at either the Opera or Cortile and regardless EACH and every time it is perfect. I'd like to think that the baristas at my local (insert major international chain of coffee shops HERE) could do better - but the fact is they simply can't! It is THE best.

The Rooms! Once again - wherever we go we book a suite; we simply need the extra room so my daughter can nap and so that my wife and I don't have to huddle around a candle in the dark(est) corner of the room so as to not interfere with the little one's sleeping! By default then the rooms are spacious and open and have an unparalleled view of the harbor. The decor is 'slightly' business hotel in nature - but then again - folks here on business might think 'geez - this place is a little more 'deluxe' than I'd like!' too. It's tough to please everyone - but I think that the warm tones, comfortable bed and high quality furniture go a long way towards that. I know that I like it!

The Staff: This is not the first time we've stayed at this hotel - it's technically our 4th (we've been 3 times, but checked out for a few days, travelled within Australia and then checked back in again so - 4...3 or 4...) My point being - they recognize us and they treat us very, very nicely. That said - if they hadn't on the first trip we would not have come back again and again (and again). Everyone from the chaps who pick-up the bags when you pull into the entrance to the staff that check you in to the folks that work in the restaurants and even the housekeeping staff are always prompt, courteous and efficient: If you ask for a spare blanket, two amenity kits and 5 bottles of water - that's what you get - not some mixed-up version of multiple blankets, a single bottle of water and enough toothbrushes to last you a lifetime! And if they say "within 5 minutes" they mean 5 min. Not 6 or 7 or "hey we're flat-out busy right now! Get in line!" 10-15 min!

Next time we come to Sydney I can tell you where we will stay (again!)

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor overlooking the harbor! You will NOT regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mario S

What a wonderful review, thank you. We do truly appreciate that you have shared your experience at InterContinental Sydney from location, room, food & beverage to our great staff.

Our food & beverage team are all very well trained and pleased their coffee making skills were the best you have experienced.

Thank you again and we shall look forward to welcoming you and your family once again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.