We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Executive Lounge in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Executive Lounge in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

You cant beat the Intercon Sydney for location. Close to Circular Quay and the ferries. The lounge has an unbeatable view of Sydney (probably the best you will experience). The hotel is a little dated and the entrance is a bit quirky - but the amenities are good (excellent gym). The hotel goes straight by the book as far as recognizing Royal Ambassadors/Ambassadors etc - and if you want a room with a decent view, you'll need to pay for it.

I like the InterCon Sydney - its not the best Sydney has to offer, but it is very good. Just ensure you book a club floor room with lounge access if you want to experience the best the hotel can deliver...

Room Tip: Always pay for a club floor room with lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    783
    249
    76
    56
See reviews for
380
1,095
146
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding night. We had a harbour view room on a high floor which was lovely. The room was satisfactory and the breakfast excellent. The room cost $500 a night which is very expensive considering we got there after midnight and left at 9am but the view is quintessential Sydney and one you never tire of. The staff were tremendous although as my wife walked in in her wedding dress lots of door open for you!! For special occasions only.

Room Tip: Harbour view room if you can justify the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very poor hotel by European standards. Rooms dated and tired. Bathrooms terrible. If you don't have an inclusive package with breakfast then it costs just under $100. Inexcusably wifi is not free and indeed exorbitantly expensive. This is just disgraceful. We also booked a premium opera room but what they don't tell you is there is a huge ugly tower block right in front of the hotel so you see a bit of the opera house with this building in the foreground.

Room Tip: Yes, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear HotelDoc60,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the service you have received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great located 5 star hotel in Sydney, near the Opera house, Circular Quay and Botanic Gardens. I had great north east view from room across Sydney Harbour. The rooms, bed, bathroom and room facilities were what you expect from a good 5 star hotel. The exceptional staff were above the 5 star standard, from reception and front of house staff, to the valet parking guys. Room always spotless. I found the extra cost for the Club rooms a bit expensive, and the continual problem of additional internet charges hotels charge. The bar fridge charges are also a bit steep. There is are gym, sauna, and pool facilites available, but the pool area was a bit small and also lacks a spa. Overall, a hotel which really deserves its 5 star rating. (But I still enjoy the Sheraton on the Park as my favourite hotel in Sydney re the pool and spa facilities, and deals on offer, if available).

Room Tip: Prices vary re view available: the north east view across Sydney Harbour was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed in a N/E corner suite for my wifes birthday - great views Bridge to Heads but on 16th floor so not a "Club Suite" which gives you access to top Level eating and a few extras - good service but occassionally a bit slow and uninteresting

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well located; usual excellent service as expected from the chain. Good value on the days we stayed. Breakfast buffet OK but not brilliant. A major gripe is the unacceptable policy of charging for internet access; this is not acceptable in a 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: habour view rooms obscured by AMP building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It all comes down to what you deem important. We stayed (mum, dad & 4 year old boy) last weekend and the location was the prime reason to book this hotel. It is somewhat unfair to compare this hotel to say the Hilton or my personal favourite the Westin as these are new buildings but even at a great price, I have to say the InterCont needs some money spent on it. Example .. Bathroom. Toilet flush button on wall almost dropping out of the wall. Tops on taps loose. Decor thru-out very dated. We did enjoy our stay and the staff were excellent but you can do better environment-wise a little ways uptown if you can let go of the Circular Quay location. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Steve Aussie

Appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and thank you for the compliments with regards to our colleagues.

I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#20 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,045 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.