We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Executive Lounge in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #17 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Executive Lounge in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

You cant beat the Intercon Sydney for location. Close to Circular Quay and the ferries. The lounge has an unbeatable view of Sydney (probably the best you will experience). The hotel is a little dated and the entrance is a bit quirky - but the amenities are good (excellent gym). The hotel goes straight by the book as far as recognizing Royal Ambassadors/Ambassadors etc - and if you want a room with a decent view, you'll need to pay for it.

I like the InterCon Sydney - its not the best Sydney has to offer, but it is very good. Just ensure you book a club floor room with lounge access if you want to experience the best the hotel can deliver...

Room Tip: Always pay for a club floor room with lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    990
    561
    185
    59
    45
See reviews for
259
788
112
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding night. We had a harbour view room on a high floor which was lovely. The room was satisfactory and the breakfast excellent. The room cost $500 a night which is very expensive considering we got there after midnight and left at 9am but the view is quintessential Sydney and one you never tire of. The staff were tremendous although as my wife walked in in her wedding dress lots of door open for you!! For special occasions only.

Room Tip: Harbour view room if you can justify the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very poor hotel by European standards. Rooms dated and tired. Bathrooms terrible. If you don't have an inclusive package with breakfast then it costs just under $100. Inexcusably wifi is not free and indeed exorbitantly expensive. This is just disgraceful. We also booked a premium opera room but what they don't tell you is there is a huge ugly tower block right in front of the hotel so you see a bit of the opera house with this building in the foreground.

Room Tip: Yes, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear HotelDoc60,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the service you have received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great located 5 star hotel in Sydney, near the Opera house, Circular Quay and Botanic Gardens. I had great north east view from room across Sydney Harbour. The rooms, bed, bathroom and room facilities were what you expect from a good 5 star hotel. The exceptional staff were above the 5 star standard, from reception and front of house staff, to the valet parking guys. Room always spotless. I found the extra cost for the Club rooms a bit expensive, and the continual problem of additional internet charges hotels charge. The bar fridge charges are also a bit steep. There is are gym, sauna, and pool facilites available, but the pool area was a bit small and also lacks a spa. Overall, a hotel which really deserves its 5 star rating. (But I still enjoy the Sheraton on the Park as my favourite hotel in Sydney re the pool and spa facilities, and deals on offer, if available).

Room Tip: Prices vary re view available: the north east view across Sydney Harbour was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed in a N/E corner suite for my wifes birthday - great views Bridge to Heads but on 16th floor so not a "Club Suite" which gives you access to top Level eating and a few extras - good service but occassionally a bit slow and uninteresting

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well located; usual excellent service as expected from the chain. Good value on the days we stayed. Breakfast buffet OK but not brilliant. A major gripe is the unacceptable policy of charging for internet access; this is not acceptable in a 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: habour view rooms obscured by AMP building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It all comes down to what you deem important. We stayed (mum, dad & 4 year old boy) last weekend and the location was the prime reason to book this hotel. It is somewhat unfair to compare this hotel to say the Hilton or my personal favourite the Westin as these are new buildings but even at a great price, I have to say the InterCont needs some money spent on it. Example .. Bathroom. Toilet flush button on wall almost dropping out of the wall. Tops on taps loose. Decor thru-out very dated. We did enjoy our stay and the staff were excellent but you can do better environment-wise a little ways uptown if you can let go of the Circular Quay location. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Steve Aussie

Appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and thank you for the compliments with regards to our colleagues.

I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.