We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous room, great view...but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #16 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room, great view...but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great hotel in the CBD area and the room had a terrific view over the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Beautiful decor and bedding and the Club lounge was a great place to sit for a late night drink or tea. Breakfast was good without being great. Overall it's just too expensive versus other similar options.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tani d

Appreciate you review, thank you. Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Best regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    553
    184
    59
    43
See reviews for
254
776
112
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Sometimes hotels make their lobby look impressive but the rooms are very dull, but not in this case. The room was beautifully decorated too – very stylish with the chaise long, window seat and cool motorised blind. It was also much more spacious than the more expensive one we stayed in at the Four Seasons, and with an infinitely better view too. We had a harbour view and it was very restful watching the sailing boats on the river.
Also the pool on the top floor is heated and has amazing views, whereas the pool at the Four Seasons was freezing cold with no view.
We would have no hesitation in staying at The Intercontinental again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear EEP447

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Have to agree, the views from our pool area are quite amazing.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again to InterContinental Sydney.

With best regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we had a good view from our room,the service was good,but it was not worth $500 a night.especially when breakfast was nothing to write home about.it has such a reputation,that my wife felt that it was the one place she wanted to stay.very sorry,but dissapointing

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Moonlighter92

Appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and I am very sorry to read you were a little disappointed with your breakfast. We normally receive great feedback about our breakfast but we have taken you comments on board and they have been shared with our Executive Chef.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The room was nice and spacious. The concierge was top notch, but the remaining service was fair. As an Intercontinental Ambassador member, I expected the "guaranteed" room upgrade. The next two upgrade levels were unavailable so I was offered the third upgrade level at a discounted rate. I didn't want a discounted rate which would have still been an additional $75 per night. I guess 'guaranteed' is defined differently in Australia. After day 3 of 5, they finally offered to comp the in-room wi-fi. Yes, they charge for internet service. Other than the marginal Ambassador service, the hotel is nice. However, I would argue that it is slightly over priced

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a harbourside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear TonyG562

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for not providing you with an upgrade. I do hope other than this that your stay was enjoyed and that we are given another opportunity to welcome your return.

Thank you again.

Kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental Sydney for seven nights in mid-November. It is an impressive hotel and perfectly located as it's within a 5-10 minute walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay, Hyde Park and The Rocks district.

The service was great from the moment the bell-boy opened our taxi door and took our luggage upon arrival, right through to the complimentary bottles of water we received when we departed. The beautiful Cortile lobby bar and lounge is dark, cosy and perfect for a quiet drink at the end of the night. The service there was excellent, especially from Eduardo G, and I recommend trying the Quesadillas from the menu - they were to die for. Room service is expensive so if you're too tired to be waited on in a restaurant then I would suggest getting a quick, cheap takeaway from the Hungry Jacks, McDonald's or fish and chip shop at Circular Quay.

My one big criticism was the absence of free wi-fi. I believe it would have cost me AUD$25 for 24-hours of access which is extortionate, especially when we stayed at four other hotels on our holiday in Australia and Singapore that all provided complimentary wi-fi to its guests. Again, if you need wi-fi access, pay a visit to McDonald's and use their wi-fi free of charge.

According to the taxi driver that drove us to the hotel, government officials stay here when they are in town so if it's good enough for them....

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

when checking in we were told we had to wait 15 to 20 min so our room could be checked , i asked why she said because , we were just told to wait , when we ask why did you not take our bags her reply was what do you want me to do about it , bad service , she grab the bags in a huff and stomp off.very sad , i am a well travel person and have never been treated so poorly .
Te rooms were fine , the hotel is in a good position , the service after the front desk encounter was good , but i dont thik i would stay there again .

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Zoe84Lee81

Appreciate the time you have taken to write you review and very pleased that you had a good stay with us.

It was pleasing to read that Eduardo and our Bell team were able to impress you with their great service,they are all great ambassadors for our hotel. The free wifi, this is something we are currently working and have taken your feedback on board.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return for another great stay.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip as a conference was being held at the hotel.

It's a lovely hotel with but I certainly would not rate it any better than Four Seasons, Sofitel or Shangri-La. The rooms are a little outdated and believe that the hotel is in need of serious refurbishment however, the views are fantastic.

More care needs to be taken by the front desk staff to cater for individual requirements when in group booking situations.

The breakfasts were fantastic and the chef's were so polite. The food was certainly one of the best at any high quality hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Jazabella84

Appreicate your review thankyou, pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference trip.

Pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the food overall, this was great to read.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome your return soon.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning InterContinental Sydney blends contemporary style with 19th century architecture and offers sweeping views from Sydney Harbour Bridge to the Pacific Ocean. A perfect base for work and play, InterContinental Sydney is bordered by the city s commercial centre, Circular Quay and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Steps away is the historic Rocks area, Sydney Opera House, the Art Gallery of NSW, leading shops and boutiques and some of the finest restaurants this Harbour city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.