We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Signal Hill, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The room was nice and spacious. The concierge was top notch, but the remaining service was fair. As an Intercontinental Ambassador member, I expected the "guaranteed" room upgrade. The next two upgrade levels were unavailable so I was offered the third upgrade level at a discounted rate. I didn't want a discounted rate which would have still been an additional $75 per night. I guess 'guaranteed' is defined differently in Australia. After day 3 of 5, they finally offered to comp the in-room wi-fi. Yes, they charge for internet service. Other than the marginal Ambassador service, the hotel is nice. However, I would argue that it is slightly over priced

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a harbourside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear TonyG562

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for not providing you with an upgrade. I do hope other than this that your stay was enjoyed and that we are given another opportunity to welcome your return.

Thank you again.

Kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    756
    246
    74
    56
See reviews for
365
1,071
143
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental Sydney for seven nights in mid-November. It is an impressive hotel and perfectly located as it's within a 5-10 minute walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay, Hyde Park and The Rocks district.

The service was great from the moment the bell-boy opened our taxi door and took our luggage upon arrival, right through to the complimentary bottles of water we received when we departed. The beautiful Cortile lobby bar and lounge is dark, cosy and perfect for a quiet drink at the end of the night. The service there was excellent, especially from Eduardo G, and I recommend trying the Quesadillas from the menu - they were to die for. Room service is expensive so if you're too tired to be waited on in a restaurant then I would suggest getting a quick, cheap takeaway from the Hungry Jacks, McDonald's or fish and chip shop at Circular Quay.

My one big criticism was the absence of free wi-fi. I believe it would have cost me AUD$25 for 24-hours of access which is extortionate, especially when we stayed at four other hotels on our holiday in Australia and Singapore that all provided complimentary wi-fi to its guests. Again, if you need wi-fi access, pay a visit to McDonald's and use their wi-fi free of charge.

According to the taxi driver that drove us to the hotel, government officials stay here when they are in town so if it's good enough for them....

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

when checking in we were told we had to wait 15 to 20 min so our room could be checked , i asked why she said because , we were just told to wait , when we ask why did you not take our bags her reply was what do you want me to do about it , bad service , she grab the bags in a huff and stomp off.very sad , i am a well travel person and have never been treated so poorly .
Te rooms were fine , the hotel is in a good position , the service after the front desk encounter was good , but i dont thik i would stay there again .

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Zoe84Lee81

Appreciate the time you have taken to write you review and very pleased that you had a good stay with us.

It was pleasing to read that Eduardo and our Bell team were able to impress you with their great service,they are all great ambassadors for our hotel. The free wifi, this is something we are currently working and have taken your feedback on board.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return for another great stay.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip as a conference was being held at the hotel.

It's a lovely hotel with but I certainly would not rate it any better than Four Seasons, Sofitel or Shangri-La. The rooms are a little outdated and believe that the hotel is in need of serious refurbishment however, the views are fantastic.

More care needs to be taken by the front desk staff to cater for individual requirements when in group booking situations.

The breakfasts were fantastic and the chef's were so polite. The food was certainly one of the best at any high quality hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Jazabella84

Appreicate your review thankyou, pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference trip.

Pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the food overall, this was great to read.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome your return soon.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Like most InterContinentals, this one is beautiful. The check-in process was a little rocky because they simply did not have enough staff on to handle to number of people needing service. Based on other trip advisor reviews, I requested a room with an Opera House view. I am so glad that I did! Every minute I was in my room I was delighted by simply looking out towards the windows. The roomservice breakfast was delicious and always delivered on time. My tea did NOT taste like coffee and that is the sign of a hotel that pays attention to the details. My only complaint is that my bed was not the cushy experience I have come to expect from other high end hotels. The mattress felt very old, like, I could feel the springs and I had to sleep on the opposite side of the bed to avoid the dip caused by too many people sleeping on one side vs the other. That said, I did not complain because I didn't want to risk losing my postcard perfect view by moving to another room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear kwchilly

Appreicate the time you have taken to write your review, thank you.

Pleased you enjoyed the view from your room as well as breakfast.

With regards to your bed, we are actually in the process of replacing mattresses, so on you next visit you will notice this difference.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I regularly use this hotel for business in Sydney. The rooms are well set up for getting some work some and the service and food are good. The staff are friendly and try to help as much as they can (such as supplying the BB charger you left home). I like the harbour view rooms the best - tip 1724 has a great view of the bridge and Luna park

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Oldtimerlex_12

Thank you for your review, it is great to know that being a regular stayer that you find our rooms comfortable, enjoyable food and our colleagues are always at hand to assist you.

Thank you again and we look forward to continuing to welcome you.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the InterContinental for one night following a cruise (2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 13). The location was fantastic, with easy walking distance to Circular Quay train station and the ferries. The room was a good size and can easily accommodate a family of four. We had a harbour view room and the view was to die for! The beds were 2 x queens and really comfortable. The pool up on the 31st floor also has incredible views of the harbour, bridge, opera house, botanical gardens, etc. Can easily walk into the CBD from the hotel too. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, especially as we arrived early and had kids, they put us straight into a room despite us arriving before check-in time. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms have unbelievable views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Lee W

Thank you very much for your review, it was great to read your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

Pleased the views impressed you as well as our pool area and our colleagues along with being able to provide you with an early check in.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome your family once again in the very near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.