We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIP OF A LIFETIME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Sydney to your Saves list
InterContinental Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Driftwood, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“TRIP OF A LIFETIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My Husband and I were here this past December with the Oprah Winfrey show as a receipant of the Australia trip. We didn't pay for the room and maybe the Australia people and Harpo Studios made our stay more memorable because of that but there is just nothing negative I can say about this place. It's very well located to everything, extremely clean and with great food. The peopole that worked there were incredibly nice, there were choirs set up in the lobby to greet us and it's a very pretty and unique place with nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. I would stay there again even if I have to pay for it next time. My only disappointment was that it was Dec. 15th and there wasn't a single Christmas decoration anywhere that I can remember.

Room Tip: There are many rooms with windows on both sides of corners that overlook gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    716
    232
    72
    52
See reviews for
337
1,010
134
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed on our final night in Sydney. It is a truely beautiful hotel. perfect location for opera house & circular quay & a short walk from the rocks.

The room was lush, bathroom is glorious & even Elemis toiletries.

Worth every penny & would definately stay here again in preference to other hotels I have stayed in in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The InterContinental Sydney has an old world charm combined with modern conveniences. The room I had was large, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom small but with little touches of luxury. The location is fantastic, being so close to the Sydney Opera House and the Harbor Bridge. A few kinks though were evident. First, the hotel boasted a lovely English afternoon tea service, yet the staff had no concept that the scones should be served with clotted cream. Second, I came in one day after a four-hour long 18 mile run extremely thirsty, but the lobby bar told me that they could not get me a Coke to take to my room because all their Coke are sold in bottles. What?? Third, the hotel rooms had no wi-fi, which for a five-star luxury hotel seems rather behind the times. Other than these, my stay was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

stayed here for a birthday weekend - early check in very much appreciated, complimentary birthday cake, much bigger room than i was expecting, staff very helpful, breakfast which was included in the rate one of the best i have eaten in a hotel. so close to the opera house loved this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Sydney Intercontinental for three nights including a weekend and was very impressed. It is located within a one minute walk of Circular Quay and only a 5 minute walk to the Sydney Opera House. The service at check in, restaurants, gym, bar and bell service were all great. The room was large, comfortable with a great king bed and flatscreen TV. The 31st floor pool, gym and sauna are fantastic. I was stranded in Sydney during the Qantas grounding of flights and the staff did all they could to get me a room for an extra night at reasonable rate and provided free internet so I could try to book a new flight with another carrier.

My only complaint is the internet. Why the large chain hotels charge for internet services is beyond me. I have a MacAir so couldn't connect to the cable in the room anyway and there is no wireless except for the first 2 floors. This is poor. The rates are outrageously expensive. Having said that I would return to the Sydney Intercontinental next time.

Room Tip: Spurge on a Harbour View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in club suite, room will need an upgrade soonish, staff bit arrogant, had to go back down to reception twice to get key card to work. Best club lounge in Sydney. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel 2 times now and will never return. Our room was not ready until 3.30pm and then the room had a blocked toilet. It would have been impossible for the cleaners not to be aware of this. Our room swipe card would not work and we had to go to reception and wait and get another one. Next our club floor swipe wouldn't work either and we had to get that redone. We paid more for a club floor room. This is a total waste of money and would like to warn people about it. Firstly, they allow people to smoke cigars. Yes can you believe it. We couldn't. We were trying to eat our breakfast on the terrace and had foul cigar smoke in our face. We moved. The problem is, they don't have enough tables and chairs to cater for guests and even admit this. Although you have paid extra to go to the club floor, there may not be enough room and you can't enjoy the terrace because they allow smoking while you are eating breakfast, or afternoon tea.
On both occasions to this hotel the eggs and bacon have been stone cold.
We contacted the general manager of this hotel and his response was excuse after excuse after excuse. He couldn't care less that we were kept awake all night by the service door that staff allowed to bang all night and where they talked disturbing the rooms just a few feet away. On the ground floor there is a lounge and we saw cheesecake and other cakes left unrefrigerated and when you order this is what you get. The hotel has rooms very close to the lifts and you can see big gaps under the doors. It is very noisy in those rooms. Then if you are further down, you have the service door banging all night and staff coming in and out. One final thing, we could not get over how for the price of the room, you had to climb into a bath to have a shower and you had a nasty plastic shower curtain. Oh my goodnesss, those things don't exist anymore we thought. Well at the Intercontinental they do. You have a shower in a bath with a shower curtain that puts water everywhere. Also the toilet is right next to the curtain. The bathrooms are the smallest bathrooms we have encountered. As if you could use the bath, knowing that was everyone's shower where people stand.

Combine all of this with a general manager who doesn't care, we would like to warn people not to stay here.

Room Tip: Room near the lifts are noisy and have visible gaps under the doors. Rooms further down are noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.