We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Hyde Park Plaza to your Saves list
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #102 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Rosebud, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Location brilliant, great views and very helpful staff. The hotel is currently undergoing renovation and the room we had was still to be renovated but it was a well equipped studio apartment and serviced daily which was a bonus. We had a very enjoyable 2 days and will certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

It is always greatly satisfying to hear that our guest enjoyed thier stay and received top notch service from our front office team members.

Yes the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and this will include rest of our apartments which havent been refurbished yet.

The lobby and the guest lift will be refurbished in the coming month, which we are really excited about!!

Once again, thank you for your feeback and look forward to welcome you back again.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    118
    107
    70
    81
See reviews for
70
127
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here in 2013 for 1 night. The Hotle was centrally located across the road from Hyde Park, next to Oxford Street and a leisurley 10 minute walk to the Pitt St Mall.

The room was a studio apartment and well equiped. I know that the room had recently been renovated, but the rest of the hotel was dated and tired.

The sevice was excellent from check in and check out and the staff who serviced my room did a great job. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback.

Yes indeed the hotel has excellent location for all travellers alike.

The hotel is under going renovation, which includes the lobby area and the guest lifts.

The renovation will add distinguished value to the property.

Once again, thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The room was as described and had some great views. Very clean and friendly staff. The young man, Dion, was extremely helpful and gave us some great advice on where to dine and popular clubs. He was very friendly yet professional at the same time. I must say that some things are a little out dated in the room but was only a short stay and for the price we were quite satisfied. Thank you Dion and stag for all your help and hope to see you again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

Me and my team are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

I have shared your comment wtih Dion as well, whom have demostrated high level of customer service since he has joined us.

Once again, thank you for your time and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here recently on a weekend away. Room was very clean plus had a lovely view of Hyde Park. The reception staff were very helpful! - special thanks to Dion for his great service. Great location right on Oxford Street. Hotel is in desperate need of renovation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

We pride ourselve of our great service with staff like Dion and the team.

The property is undergoing rennovation this year, which includes guest rooms, lobby area and the lift.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back again.

Regards

Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The only criticism I have of this property would be the view, our room had no view from the window i would urge you to ask for a balcony if staying here to overlook Oxford Street and see the area at its best. We were made feel verry welcome here a home away from home, i booked 2 nights here and then moved onto Oaks Goldsborough Darling Harbour,would have preferrred to stay longer here but wanted to get about the Rocks,and Darling Harbour. the service you cannot fault nothing was a trouble to the staff,thanks for a great stay i look forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: make sure you have a balcony with a view of oxford street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing the feedback on your recent stay.

The rooms overlooking the Hyde Park and the rooms with Balcony are always in demand and we do try to accomodate all the request whenever possible.

It is best to put the request whist making the booking so that my team can ensure that the request is met .

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Last minute booking i despretly needed a room for just 1 night, of course every where is booked in sydney on a saturday night or if not you pay through the roof and have to stay for atleast 2 nights.
i called the hotel and spoke with a man called Dyon, he also told me there was a 2 night minimum but asked me to hold a moment to see what he could do, i dont know what he done but managed to get me in for just the 1 night i was after. I alos got served by the same man when i checked in whom was a delight and such a great help. Building and lifts were a bit run down but room was exactly as described, clean and just what i was after.
Thanks for helping me out, had a great stay will be back again and reccommend you to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience.

Dion, certainly has been a great team member at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza and I do get lot of feedback in regards to his service from guests such as you.

The Hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment which includes our lobby and guest lifts.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After paying $250.00 USD a night for what is supposedly a four star hotel, my husband and I were very disappointed with this hotel. There is a tiny foyer with a desk when you enter the hotel, this leads to a run down hall way and the ancient lifts, there is a bad smell throughout the hotel from the old, dark carpets. You have exactly 30 minutes of free wifi a day, which can only be accessed in the foyer. If you then need additional wifi (as most tourists do) you will have to pay $15.00 per day, we were desperate to have the internet one day and paid this, we may as well not have, the internet kept crashing and anytime it did connect it took forever. We ended up giving up and going to a coffee shop anyway.

There is one mirror in the whole room, in the tiny bathroom that you cant swing a cat in, if you shower be prepared to wait 30 minutes for the steam to clear. If there is more than one girl in this room, do not even go there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful which was the biggest pro, also the location is good, right beside Hyde park with a short walk into the City, very close to beautiful Botanic Gardens. The rooftop pool is nice and has a great view, it was unfortunate the one day we went up there, it was full of students playing drinking games, and cooling their glass bottles of alcohol by sitting them into the pool. The hot-tub aka the 'luke warm' tub was very chilly on a cold late summers evening.

I did lots of research before I booked this hotel, and am so annoyed at myself that i did not choose somewhere better. In hindsight, I would have paid another $100.00 per night if it meant a nicer hotel. This was a once in a lifetime trip to Sydney for me so the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: There has to be better out there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjil D, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay.
We value your comments as this provides us with an opportunity to improve our products and services constantly in achieving the overall guest experience at our property.
The team at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza would like to extend their sincere apologies regarding the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
Contents of your feedback were noted and we have had a closer look at the areas that were highlighted in your comments.
Our hotel is currently going under renovations and we are scheduled to renovate the lobby in early next month.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza in the near future.

Regards
Manjil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.