We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired, Not To Be Considered.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Hyde Park Plaza to your Saves list
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #102 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Tired, Not To Be Considered.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staying at the Oaks' was just short of the worst accommodation I have experienced. It is expensive and and we left feeling we had been had!

I feel for the staff who I am sure are constantly bombarded with complaints about the state of the rooms on offer. On this point I must stress that they were fantastic under the circumstances. The owner/s should be ashamed of themselves for putting their staff in such a potentially abusive situation.

I am sure the rooms are professionally cleaned, but because there has been no effective maintenance for years it looked bloody awful. The windows are not double glazed so the outside noise is very audible and a serious impediment to a good nights sleep.

There is no room service and the only food available was via an ordinary looking Thai restaurant on the ground floor. This was not a problem for us, because we rarely eat in-house, but for those that do I suspect there is a serious problem.

I only spoke to one casual resident and he and his wife had already asked to be moved to a different room. He still wasn't satisfied, but had realised there was probably no alternative, other than to change hotels. Which was not an option given the high occupancy rate in Sydney during our stay.

The only thing going for this place is the location and the poor staff that did their best to make the stay as tolerable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback to your stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay and we would like to apologise for the maintenance issues mentioned. I would like to thank you for the positive feedback in regards to our staff and will ensure that they will be commended for their efforts. Once again thank you for your time and we hope that we will be able to accommodate for your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    117
    107
    70
    81
See reviews for
69
127
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location, stayed in refurbished one bedroom apartment. Great use of space.
However, the bed did not have any stoppers, so kept on moving. Called reception and they said nothing they can do about it.
Worst aspect was the noise outside. Did not sleep at all. I asked for park view room. Big mistake.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am glad to find that you found the room spacious. It is unfortunate that the noise from the roads had caused a disruption to your stay. I can certainly understand how disrupting the traffic must have been and unfortunately this was beyond the control of Oaks Hotels & Resorts. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to meet your standards in future stays with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Location is great - City and all the sights are very accessible via either train or walking. Apartment was booked privately so have no idea what the rest of the place is like, but out apartment was pretty crappy. Mould in the bathroom, bed was old and lumpy, the fire alarm went off three times from the toaster even though we had the window open (we didn't burn the toast either), bedding wasn't adequate and it took four hours to get extra supplied. Pool was out of order, lifts were a bit dodgy too, and the rubbish smell in the hallways was pretty toxic. But the price was cheap (though a backpackers would have likely been cleaner) and location was superb.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay, it seems you have booked a private apartment. We are apologetic the fire alarms went off however all apartments in the building are smoke censored for the safety of the guests. Thank you for you time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What happened...
We checked in at 2pm Saturday. The apartment on the 10th floor was spacious and clean with a modern fridge and convection microwave stove. The bed was comfortable and we settled in for a quiet restful night. At around 11.35pm he first sounds of the room party opposite our room woke us. For the next five hours the din hardly ceased. Three times we called reception and despite requests from the security guard on duty the partygoers continued to prevent sleep. In our experience any establishment which takes money from its guests also accepts responsibility to ensure they are not disturbed. But this standard does not apply at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. On his second visit, the security guard invited us to call the Police if we wanted the din to cease! After a completely sleepless night, including an encounter with a different group of five completely intoxicated guests who accosted one of us in the lift, we recounted our experience to reception in the morning. We were informed that indeed the Police had attended during the night to deal with a disturbance in an apartment on the third floor. Otherwise, as the room opposite us was not owned by the Oaks, there was nothing that could be done. We were offered another room on the third floor (after being assured that the residents of the "Fun Room" who the Police had visited were checking out). Despite several attempts,the keys to this room did not work (this appears to be a problem with many of the room keys in this establishment) and we were offered another higher standard room for the last night of our stay. This room was recently refurbished and was clean although smaller than our original room. Our last night was undisturbed but effectively our weekend was ruined through lack of sleep and discomfort and disturbance.

As other reviewers have commented, this building appears run down and presents an overall shabby appearance. A legal notice in the lobby suggests that there is some sort of complex legal dispute affecting the building. The building seems to comprise apartments occupied by owners and tenants and a number are offered by Oaks for short term guests like us.

From our experience Oaks appears to take no responsibility for disturbances by owners or tenants of other apartments who disrupt their guests' sleep. Instead it passes this responsibility to the New South Wales Police who must have more pressing demands on them than controlling drunken behaviour in expensively priced serviced apartments.

Even Sydney's backpacker hostels would not tolerate what we experienced.

While it is true that the staff on reception are friendly and ultimately provided us with a room where we were not further disturbed, this does not relieve Oaks senior management from its responsibility to ensure that guests are safe and undisturbed. If they cannot meet this fundamental requirement of the hospitality industry, they should consider not offering apartments to overnight guests at this property.

Room Tip: Saturday night is party night; make sure you get a room in a quiet part of the building. If any dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to forward your feedback in regards to your stay.
It is unfortunate that during your stay that you did not get sufficient sleep due to the party that has been taking place. Oaks Hyde Park Plaza has a strict “No Party Policy” rule in which we have all guests sign. I would like to apologise once again that security was not able to cease the noise whilst your stay and have spoken to them since.

Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is currently undergoing extensive renovations as we are aware that the building is run down and there are extensive plans for the common areas to be updated.We take your comments seriously and sincerely regret any upset caused to you during your stay. Thank you for the feedback once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany Western Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very obliging staff, welcoming and friendly. The position is most convenient, but the interior slightly tired, but there is obviously a refurbishment programme underway. We were helped with restaurant suggestions, directions to galleries, and the staff walked out to find taxis for us.Disappointingly, there were no telephones in some rooms and some not working in others, so there was no room to room contact, without using mobile phones and no direct wake up calls,

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the park have the view but are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am pleased you found our staff knowledgeable and professional with their local advice and recommendations. I will forward your commendation on to them. We apologise for the phone situation and has since rectified the problem with the maintenance manager.
Thank you once again for taking the time to forward your feedback and we hope that we will be able to make your future stays even more enjoyable than the last
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The reception staff are great - friendly, helpful, and professional.
Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for our studio room. The exception was the bed which was surprisingly good.
I know that they are undergoing a gradual process of refurbishment, but with a target of four rooms per month, this could take years.
Our room was dirty, with large stains all over the very shabby carpet. We had no main light for the first two days as the maintenance staff do not work over the weekend.
The fridge alternately froze (broke a bottle of water) and melted, resulting in water all over the floor.
The bathroom was basic to say the least and the bath was stained and dirty.

Peter S, Adelaide

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am extremely pleased to hear that during your stay you were welcomed by our friendly staff and they were more than happy to help you in anyway they could! I will pass on your commendation to them. You have my sincerest apologies regarding the state of your room during your stay, we have notified our maintenance and house-keeping teams of these concerns and assure you that they have been taken care of.

Thank you once again for taking the time to forward your feedback and we hope that we will be able to make your future stays even more enjoyable than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Restoration & Recreation, you Can't beat the Location.

As a monthly visitor to Sydney for business, I choose to return to the Oaks on the Park, time and time again. Being recognised and called by name is also a great feeling! Customer service 101!!

We get what we pay for in this world and Yes, currently there is continuous refurbishment going on - hence the affordable price relative to other closely situated hotels. As a business adviser, I must say the dedication to upgrading this landmark hotel (I stayed here 15 years ago on my first ever trip to Australia) is consistent, as are the most welcoming and accommodating reception team.

There is never a problem with changing rooms, fixing any problems or assisting requests beyond the natural call of duty. Quite frankly, for the price and location it's a steal! We get what we pay for in this world, and considering the views and location to central Sydney - If you want to change your room, just ask!

ps. my room this time is FABULOUS!!! all mod cons, stylish decor, a very comfy bed and pillows to die for!! At the end of the day, sleeping comfort and feeling welcome are key to any good trip.

Room Tip: Uniquely you can get budget priced rooms as well as plush rooms all in the same hotel for a fraction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your continuous stays with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am very delighted to hear that upon every return you are welcomed by the staff and they go out of their way to help. I will forward your commendation to them. Thank you once again for taking the time to forward your feedback and we hope that we will be able to make your future stays even more enjoyable than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.