We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but a bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Hyde Park Plaza to your Saves list
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #107 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Ibiza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service but a bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

On arrival I was greeted by great service but the property was tired. I thought there would be a decent gym and pool but pool wasn't even accessible and gym very old. The rooms were very clean and presented nicely. I didn't have a nice view my balcony overlooked a garden area and there were bags of dirt. Luckily I was awake as the work men started outside quite early. The bathroom didnt have a very good fan so it fogged uo and water went all over the floor easily. This was very no frills but a great price as well. There is no mini bar in the room and would be good for a longer stay as it would be quite affordable. The service from staff is exceptional and gives the property an extra star! The location is great and with a refurb would be great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor if view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for forwarding your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. We understand our facilities are dated and we are currently undergoing reconstruction to rectify the problem we apologise for the inconvenience that this has impacted upon your stay. I am pleased to hear that you found the service our staff provided exceptional and will pass on your compliments to them. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    136
    120
    77
    86
See reviews for
80
146
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great friendly services and superb location. Rooms though spacious are very tired carpets are stained and furniture very dated has lots of potential to be a fantastic hotel at present is just a budget style hotel. Also roof top pool was being repaired which we were not advised of when we booked.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Many thanks for forwarding your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park It was great to read that you found our hotel in a great location and our staff were friendly. The renovations are taking place at the present time on the roof top however should be finished in the next couple of months. We look forward to seeing you back at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with a baby. We were given a room on the top floor with a HUGE balcony, overlooking the park. The room had a full kitchen, a combined washer/dryer in the bathroom, fridge w freezer, microwave, TV, everything we needed with a baby. Sure, the decor is dated but that is so unimportant I'm only mentining it as others have been whingeing about it. If you're after a super plush luxury place, go pay $400 a night for it elsewhere. The decor was dated but not hideous, it was still obviously a quality hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. Service was adequate. Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to forward your experience in regards to your stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am pleased to hear that you found your stay value for money and that the location was convenient to the major city attractions. I hope to welcome you back at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Whilst it was one of their cheaper type room (5th floor and looking west over a carpark) more was expected. The air con was noisy and was obviously leaking water was the plaster around it had a large mould patch. The circular fluro light in the bathroom had no cover was wiring was dangling and exposed. They are obviously doing some working in the rooms above as there was a constant hammering noise. I spoke to reception who advised me it would cease at 5pm. I again rang them at 6.15pm to tell them the noise was still happening and was still going when we went out to dinner at 6.45pm. There was no plug for the bath and whilst reception made a valiant attempt to find one for us, none was located.
The staff at reception were friendly and as helpful as they could be. The location of the hotel is excellent however I think better options for the same price could be found.

Room Tip: find out if rooms around you are being worked on if you want to rest during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I would like to apologise for all the inconveniences the renovations has caused during your stay. I have spoken with all parties involved with the construction work and we are looking closely at the matter to ensure that construction is to be finished at 5pm everyday. I would also like to apologise for the maintenance issues that had occured during your stay and have spoken to the maintenance officer to rectify these matters. However, I am pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and will forward your feedback to them. I would like to thank you for forwarding your feedback once again and hope that you may choose to stay with Oaks Hyde Park Plaza once all the renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were not sure what to expect after looking at the TA reviews but the price, location and availability convinced us to give Hyde Park Plaza a go for two nights. Even though it is obviously dated we found our room very clean, spacious and comfortable and had a great stay. The views from our room overlooking the park were sensational and traffic noise was minimal.

Karen must be one of the greatest hotel receptionists we've encountered. Thanks to all involved in making our weekend stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for forwarding your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. I am pleased to hear that you found your room clean, spacious and comfortable. We understand that the rooms can be dated, however we are undergoing extensive renovations to rectify these problems. It is always pleasant to hear that staff has also made your stay enjoyable and will pass on your positive comments to them, with a special mention to Karen. Thank you once again for taking the time to forward your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here to attend a nearby conference and do some sight-seeing.
The reception staff were very friendly and my room on the 4th floor larger than expected (it had a kitchenette, balcony, and bathroom). Room interior was very clean, modern (dark grey palette) with couch, carpet, a 2-seat table and park views. It's a very easy walk to local restuarants, cafes, and retail therapy. The room faced College St/Oxford St so I was worried about traffic noise (there's no double-glazing so it's noticable noise in the room) but slept suprisingly well, the traffic is so constant it becomes white noise. A colleague had a room with a balcony overlooking the carpark and said that was quieter. While you can hear other rooms when out in the hallway (and smell cooking at dinner time) I didn't hear/smell anything when in my room. The lift/elevator is a little old but fine. -- Yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 412 was large with a small balcony and a useful kitchen. Road noise constant enough you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. It was lovely to hear that you found your stay pleasant and our staffs was friendly. We do apologise if the traffic had caused some noise issues, however due to our location it is unavoidable. Thank you once again for your feedback and your stay and we hope to welcome you back at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having read a few bad reviews I did not know what to expect but my three nights here exceeded all expectations. I was upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom apartment on the 9th floor, which was clean, spacious and light. Traffic noise was minimal, and my room was facing the busy College St. I had a lovely view of the park, and everything was a very short walk away. The staff, especially Karen, went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. The price as fair for Sydney CBD and I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on trip advisor.
We are glad we were able to exceed all of your expectations on accommodation, location and the customer service you received from Karen.
We will pass on your praise to her.
Thanks you for choosing Oaks Hyde Park Plaza and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.