We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Hyde Park Plaza to your Saves list
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #102 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza for 4 nights due to the location and rooftop pool overlooking the city. Very disappointed when told on check in that it was being renovated until Feb, didn’t really understand how a renovation can occur on a pool during summer?? It is stated on the website though, so I will knowledge that it was partly my own fault for not checking, but there is still a pic of the rooftop pool on the website. Don't advertise something that isn't available!! On the other hand, the kind ladies on the desk made our stay very pleasant. The t.v in our room was not working, and the kitchen range took close to 2 hrs to heat up the water, which didn't even reach boiling point in the end, so we gave up cooking dinner. The Staff were very quick to give us a room upgrade with a working t.v and kitchen range which was much appreciated :)
Overall The Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is rather expensive for something pretty average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. Please accept our apologies for the issues with the television and kitchen range in your room during your stay. We are currently in the process of refurbishing many of the apartments, which will see full upgrades such as the kitchen and television. We are fully renovating the rooftop heated pool which is inconvenient at any time of year. We are sorry that this has impacted on your stay.

It is lovely to hear your positive comments about the customer service you experienced, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback and we will ensure this is passed onto our front office staff. We sincerely hope that in the future you will allow Oaks Hotels & Resorts the opportunity to show you we can provide an efficient and enjoyable accommodation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    117
    107
    70
    81
See reviews for
69
127
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuss
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had decided to relocate the hotel in the outskirts of Sydney to downtown in order to avoid the expensive taxi costs inside and outside the city. We were booked into the OAKS HYDE PARK PLAZA. We went there and found that they seem to have appartments only. 2 people - 2 days had to pay an amazing high 750 AUD. They say that is normal for Sydney

The "hotel" itselfist terrible, the appartments inside dirty and the bathrooms near to disgusting. Many renovation attempts which was putting white paint of some spots on the all.

The furniture is junk that needs to be dsposed. The aisles and carpets also dirty and stink.
Lots of garbage on the carpet inside the hhotel and nobody really cared.

The beds same terrible- broken mattress springs pushing into our backs. They view was fantastic into the backyard and parking lot-.

People in the apartment next to us celebrated House and Rock music parties even at 06:30 in the morning and the reception only said " yes we will call them and ask them to stop". The noise continued. They did not stop until 9 a.m. when they left.

You must pay upfront and those people at the reception know why. If you would get your room key and see the room you would instantly run away and never pay a dime.

2 positve points: It is near to Hyde Park very central and the receptionist ladies are friendly.
No breakfast can be taken inside. You must go to a coffee shop around the corner.

All the rest is simply horrible and ripping off pricing.

Never never again

Room Tip: Any other hotel must be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Oaks Hotel and Resorts. We understand from time to time items within the apartment need to be replaced due to wear and tear, but this does not excuse the cleanliness of the apartment and for this we apologise. The house keepers have been spoken to in regards to this as it is unacceptable.
We would like to advise you that the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is currently under renovations to up grade the apartments, the amenities and the foyer. This will take sometime however it should be finished by the end of next year.
We are very pleased that you found our receptionists friendly and would hope you would allow us to prove in the future that we can provide a pleasant stay here at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Thanks for the amazing service, your receptionist Karen was amazing, she went above and beyond to make sure we were happy, thanks Karen
The location of this property was ideal located in the heart of Sydney, across from the lovey Hyde park, wonderful to take a stroll through, also 2 blocks down from Pitt street mall,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the customer service standards at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. It is great to hear that Karen went above and beyond to ensure your stay was a pleasant one.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A business trip a few years ago, renting a one-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. The apartment was privately owned. It was clean, bright, and had everything one could want. The location was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.
We are happy to hear it exceeded your expectations being so close to major city attractions and you highly recommended the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't like writing bad reviews but after staying two nights here on a trip to Sydney recently i'm afraid only one word comes to mind when I try to describe this hotel - dodgy. I booked what was called a 1 bedroom apartment 4 star. I'm not sure who allocated the stars because it most definitely wasn't 4 star. Upon entry to the hotel I wondered if they owned a vaccuum cleaner, the floor of the lobby and passage to the lifts was covered in dirt and leaves. The reception area was dusty and uninspiring but the staff member who checked us in was quite friendly. Doors in the foyer were scuffed and scratched and almost looked like someone had tried to kick them in. Not a nice welcome. We entered our room, past other doors made of various different types of wood (had they also been kicked in I wondered?) to find it completely black. It took some time to find a light switch and to figure out how to get some lights on. When we did we were confronted with possibly the oldest, shabbiest, coffee cup water stained wooden 1970's style table and chairs setting i've ever seen. Walls were cracked, pipes were exposed, kitchen was a tiny hole in the wall and the bathroom door when opened wide hit the edge of the toilet. There were holes everywhere and the bathroom vanity was broken.

After quickly discussing checking out immediately we decided to stay due to our very late arrival and not knowing the location of any alternatives. We went to sleep to the sound of gunshots outside and awoke to the sound of police sirens. We looked out to our 'balcony' which was tiny and very uninviting and overlooked a carpark, a bunch of rubble and some other tatty looking buildings.

In its favour the bed was ok and the bedding was probaly the best thing in the whole place. Apart from that everything was dirty, broken or needing replacing fairly urgently.

I have given this hotel a rating of poor and not terrible only because it is the second worst place I have ever stayed. I won't be back, sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of Oaks Hotels & Resorts I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the overall disappointment that was felt during your stay with us.
While we make every effort to provide guests with a favourable experience that exceeds expectations, it is obvious that on this occasion we failed to do so.
We are currently under going refurbishments to many of our apartments which will include all new furniture packages and carpets. The foyer to the building will also have a brand new look and feel to it.
I sincerely hope that in the future you will allow Oaks Hotels & Resorts the opportunity to show you we can provide an efficient and enjoyable accommodation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had to stay here on a business trip to Sydney for a 1 week period. My rating is based on the type of hotel and the star rating (a Sheraton, Hilton or Park Hyatt it is not) and why I was there.

The staff on reception on all occasions were very friendly and helpful. Each time coming back to the hotel they always remembered me and welcomed me back. The checkin process was quick, being a 3.5 - 4 star there is no porter service, that is fine when you are staying at this type of hotel.

The hotel room was large being a partly self contained room. Small kitchenette, large fridge and hotplate with a good microwave. There is a small dining table (not near the internet point so can't be used as a work desk) and a lounge chair. The view over Hyde Park is nice and the windows do not let too much noise in. The bathroom is ok with a good size tub and a good shower head. The let down would have to be the bed and as previously mentioned by another reviewer, the TV. The bed is not great and without a thick "pillow top" when the 2 singles are pushed together to make a King, there is a very uncomfortable separation down the middle, but when by yourself it is not that intrusive. The TV was not easy to operate and some of the channels were not well tuned. Everything however did work. Being near Hyde Park, everything is a short walk away and next door at the Pulman there is a ready supply of Taxi's should they be required.

Overall for the style of hotel I thought that it was good and it was a pleasant stay. Would I stay here for a weekend with my other half? No, it is personally not that sort of hotel. Would I stay here for a business trip again, yes, it was acceptable for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. We are pleased to read that the facilities in your room ensured a comfortable and pleasant business trip. We are currently in the process of refurbishing many of the apartments, which will see new upgrades such as the bed and television. It is lovely to hear your positive comments about the customer service you experienced and we will ensure this is passed onto our front office staff. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza for your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Please I just spent 7 days of hell at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. They claim to be 4 stars even 4.5 stars but nothing works! NO digital TV..hell no channels apart from the ABC?! Seriously, not even Foxtel! Airconditioning has the funky smell in some rooms, others you're lucky it even works! The staff there play musical rooms, whereby they swap and change your rooms, one worse than the other..Can you believe the staff even gave two DIFFERENT families access to the SAME ROOM??? Its really really the worst hotel ever...Even backpackers have it better! So please join me and DO NOT BOOK here! Force them to get their act together...

Room Tip: Dont even bother...not even the staff know which rooms have working tvs! Oh and I even had cockroach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHydePark, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for forwarding feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks. We were sorry to read of your disappointing experience. On behalf of Oaks Hotels & Resorts, I would like to apologise for the lack of customer service during your stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza.

I sincerely apologise for the odour associated with the air conditioning it’s currently in the process of being resolved by maintenance. We have pest control that attends the property on a regular basis and treats the building. We maintain a strict program of fumigation of the building.

Regarding your experience with the television channels I can confirm that there were extreme technical difficulties experienced throughout much of the hotel during your stay. I can only apologise for this and any distress it may have caused to you.

We are grateful that you have raised these matters through our guest feedback. Whilst we are unable to alter matters of the past, we take your comments most seriously and can assure you that every effort has been undertaken in our responsibilities in attempting to curtail any similar circumstances in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Hyde Park Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College Street | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.