We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and service but small breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Great view and service but small breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family stayed in one of the deluxe family rooms and it was clean with a great open floor plan - nice for families. The kitchenette was really well equipped - everything you need and the view was amazing! Unfortunately, their free basic breakfast could have been a higher quality and more substantial (would have loved a gluten-free option).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    263
    47
    23
    12
See reviews for
204
178
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us - handy central location, close to airport train stop, good little kitchen, great views over Hyde Park plus small balcony, quiet room, newly and nicely decorated, excellent bathroom, very good free internet, efficient friendly staff. No super luxury items, but a room rate to match.
We will stay there next time. Good value.

Room Tip: As advised by previous reviewers, we asked for and were allocated a room on a higher floor to escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a good value hotel, which we found to be clean and comfortable. We had a room, which overlooked the park and had a well equipped kitchenette. We've stayed in other hotels in Sydney at this price point and this was far better. The location is good, with the harbours and opera house all in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The rooms here are really lovely, big and spacious with lovely bathrooms and little kitchenettes. We appreciated the tea/coffee and basic breakfast that was provided with it. The hotel itself is well-kept and modern and reasonably quiet. There is some noise from city traffic but then you could not expect anything less if you are staying in the CBD. However I have taken off two points for the service; a group of us stayed and nobody received great service.

Upon check-in, the air conditioner remote in one of the rooms was broken. When we phoned down to reception to have it fixed they were very rude to us and just told us to push a certain button on the remote before hanging up the call. We had to call back again. The issue was actually with the remote itself, which just required replacement batteries. It should not have taken us two phone calls to get that sorted. The person phoning reception was quite polite and friendly in their manner and there was no need to respond rudely.

A friend of mine left $150 in the drawer next to her bed and when we returned later that day, $50 was missing. The hotel did check it out very promptly and said only two staff members had entered the room and that both were long-term, trusted members of staff. Whilst we appreciate that this may be true, the hotel went on to suggest that it must have been one of the group who had taken the money, which was really quite offensive (we have all been friends since high school, which was longer ago than I care to admit). The manager was very helpful in reviewing the situation with us upon check-out, I have to say. There was also some confusion with a credit card on check-out and the woman checking us out was impatient and rude about answering questions, often interrupting which I was completely unimpressed by. If she had just stopped to listen until the end of the question rather than interrupting, it would have been much easier to resolve. Her interruptions were actually quite condescending and she spoke to me like I was an idiot. It turned out that the girl checking us in had given me different information which resulted in the confusion.

I would not stay here again. Rude hotel staff I can handle, but money disappearing from the room and then being told by hotel staff that it must have been one of your friends was absolutely unacceptable and offensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took the train from the airport and got off at the Museum Stop, walked up to the street and there was Hyde Park and our hotel, right across the street. Convenient (everything is within walking distance), clean and great views of the beautiful Hyde Park Memorial, which is a must see!! This is not a luxury hotel but it is comfortable and worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the few hotels we found in Sydney which did a family room for five. The room was clean, quiet, plenty of space and a good view of Hyde Park. Good ensuite, and breakfast in the room worked really well. Great central location, perfect for shopping, can take the free 555 bus to Circular Quay and the harbour, and it is an easy walk to Darling Harbour for restaurants. Free parking in Central Sydney was a real bonus.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I brought a group over to Sydney for the Lions rugby earlier in July 2013. Julie and her staff were very helpful at all times.
Location is great, a short walk to everwhere in the city with great access to public transport if you don't like a stroll.
The rooms are fabulous, roomy with park views and a nice bathroom.
This hotel is definitely highly recommended and presents excellent value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.