We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seek out Hyde” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seek out Hyde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a good value hotel, which we found to be clean and comfortable. We had a room, which overlooked the park and had a well equipped kitchenette. We've stayed in other hotels in Sydney at this price point and this was far better. The location is good, with the harbours and opera house all in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    230
    41
    20
    12
See reviews for
181
166
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The rooms here are really lovely, big and spacious with lovely bathrooms and little kitchenettes. We appreciated the tea/coffee and basic breakfast that was provided with it. The hotel itself is well-kept and modern and reasonably quiet. There is some noise from city traffic but then you could not expect anything less if you are staying in the CBD. However I have taken off two points for the service; a group of us stayed and nobody received great service.

Upon check-in, the air conditioner remote in one of the rooms was broken. When we phoned down to reception to have it fixed they were very rude to us and just told us to push a certain button on the remote before hanging up the call. We had to call back again. The issue was actually with the remote itself, which just required replacement batteries. It should not have taken us two phone calls to get that sorted. The person phoning reception was quite polite and friendly in their manner and there was no need to respond rudely.

A friend of mine left $150 in the drawer next to her bed and when we returned later that day, $50 was missing. The hotel did check it out very promptly and said only two staff members had entered the room and that both were long-term, trusted members of staff. Whilst we appreciate that this may be true, the hotel went on to suggest that it must have been one of the group who had taken the money, which was really quite offensive (we have all been friends since high school, which was longer ago than I care to admit). The manager was very helpful in reviewing the situation with us upon check-out, I have to say. There was also some confusion with a credit card on check-out and the woman checking us out was impatient and rude about answering questions, often interrupting which I was completely unimpressed by. If she had just stopped to listen until the end of the question rather than interrupting, it would have been much easier to resolve. Her interruptions were actually quite condescending and she spoke to me like I was an idiot. It turned out that the girl checking us in had given me different information which resulted in the confusion.

I would not stay here again. Rude hotel staff I can handle, but money disappearing from the room and then being told by hotel staff that it must have been one of your friends was absolutely unacceptable and offensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took the train from the airport and got off at the Museum Stop, walked up to the street and there was Hyde Park and our hotel, right across the street. Convenient (everything is within walking distance), clean and great views of the beautiful Hyde Park Memorial, which is a must see!! This is not a luxury hotel but it is comfortable and worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the few hotels we found in Sydney which did a family room for five. The room was clean, quiet, plenty of space and a good view of Hyde Park. Good ensuite, and breakfast in the room worked really well. Great central location, perfect for shopping, can take the free 555 bus to Circular Quay and the harbour, and it is an easy walk to Darling Harbour for restaurants. Free parking in Central Sydney was a real bonus.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I brought a group over to Sydney for the Lions rugby earlier in July 2013. Julie and her staff were very helpful at all times.
Location is great, a short walk to everwhere in the city with great access to public transport if you don't like a stroll.
The rooms are fabulous, roomy with park views and a nice bathroom.
This hotel is definitely highly recommended and presents excellent value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed here a total of 4 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Room included toast, fruit cup, cereal and juice for a light breakfast. We were able to check in early and leave our car in the parkade. Right across from Hyde park, great location, easy access to most of the sights. Price very reasonable for downtown Sydney. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: They have some rooms that are not much more than a large closet with no outside view but the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've stayed here several times over several years, and keep coming back for good reason. This time we're with two young adult children and their friends.
For Sydney it's excellent value, excellent central location on the south east corner of the CBD.
Everything is fine. Don't be disappointed by the basic continental breakfast, which is included in the price. If you want something more substantial, there's many cafes around nearby and you won't pay $25 for the $10 of food you don't eat either way.
The staff this time were very accommodating and very helpful, as per usual.

Room Tip: There's a good choice of normal, deluxe, family and apartment rooms. We've used them all, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.