We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good value at an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed (3 adults) for 3 nights in a two bedroom front apartment on the 11th floor This apartment was good value for the location, with one bedroom having a queen bed and the second two singles. All very clean and well appointed. Good sized bathroom with shower, separate spa bath, adequate shelving. Separate kitchen with full size fridge, oven, hot plates, microwave, toaster, good supply of crockery, cookware, glassware. Breakfast supplies included in price and provided each day (bread, spreads, juice, milk, canned fruits, cereals). Free parking available onsite. Large lounge area with comfortable seating, also small dining table and chairs. Really lovely views from balconies (one in master bedroom, one in lounge) over Hyde Park to St Marys and beyond.

Sydney is a very large and noisy city, so expect to hear the 'night life', though this can be cut down with windows closed and if you ran the aircon it would probably add a layer of white noise to assist (the aircon units were quiet in themselves).

Excellent location. Easy walk to CBD, Darling Harbour or Circular Quay. Museum Station is right across the road, or if you need easy access (Museum only has stairs, no escalator/lifts) St James is a short walk though the park, and Central is not much further away in the other direction. Buses routes also go straight past, or are a short walk away depending on your destination.

Highly recommended. Having stayed here it would take a lot to tempt me to consider any other accommodation in Sydney.

Room Tip: Higher floors will not necessarily be quieter (in such a large city loud noises echo everywhere) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    263
    47
    23
    12
See reviews for
204
178
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our family of two adults and two teenage girls stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe Family Room for 4. Our room suited our needs perfectly. In fact, I would have to stay that we have never stayed in a hotel room that was better configured for a family. Not the usual two queens or a double + rollaway or pullout sofa, but a full size queen bed plus two large singles. OK, we were all in the same room, but that's perfectly fine for a short stay and it was such a reasonable price. There was also a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave, crockery etc and an included breakfast which added to the value of this hotel.

Hotel facilities are minimal (no pool, gym, concierge etc), but we didn't miss them as we were busy sightseeing everyday. The location was quite good with extremely easy access to the subway (across the street from a station), on the free 555 bus route which made visiting all of Sydneys main CBD tourist sites simple and overlooking leafy Hyde Park.

Reception staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful and our room was cleaned to a high standard every day (our dishes were even washed which to me is above and beyond my expectations).

Overall, we found the Hyde Park Inn an excellent, good value place to stay when visiting Sydney with (or without) a family and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here next time we come to Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The location is very good right on Elizabeth Street, opposite the Museum station and also in the heart of the city. The higher floors have very good view of the city. The airport is 15 min by train. The rooms are pretty spacious and have good decor. The breakfast is stuffed in the fridge, something strange, but reasonably stocked, maybe could have been better communicated on that front. Would recommend though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent three nights here and had a wonderful experience with the hotel from the moment we arrived. The manager was very friendly (she offered to charge our cell phone behind the reception desk when we arrived earlier than check-in time, gave us some great recommendations on local places, and was even kind enough to point out my partner's sunglass case that was sticking out of his back pocket that she thought was a wallet and cautioned us about pick-pockets). The room was very nicely decorated, comfortable, and clean. The location was perfect for walking around central Sydney, including to the Harbor, and was located on many bus lines, including the free bus that goes directly to Circular Quay (about a 10 minute ride). The hotel is situated directly in front of Hyde Park - lovely view.

I only wish the hotel had a bathroom in the lobby (bathrooms only in the rooms), which would have been convenient because we arrived earlier than check-in time.

Overall very happy with our experiences, and I wouldn't think twice about staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hyde Park Hotel deserves all of the positive comments on Tripadvisor. It's new refurbishments and beautiful park views, plus the central location, are perfect for a weekend or a week in Sydney. The rooms are spacious with relaxing decor, the staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast is in the fridge, and you can walk to the most beautiful harbour in the world!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfectly situated with everything in walking distance. Buses to Bondi just outside the hotel. The breakfast was a little bit disappointing with some bread and milk in the refrigerator. There is no served breakfast. You get a package in your refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a perfect hotel to explore Sydney and the Surrounds. The location is close to everything and it is easy to walk around the city. The rooms are clean and has great views. The value for money is second to none. It has parking included and the staff are super helpful

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.