We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buninyong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe family room for two nights to explore Sydney with a grand-daughter aged 11. Being opposite Museum Station made it so much easier to get around. It was a short train trip from the airport and only two train stops to Circular Quay. Continental breakfast was provided each day and we were able to top it up with fresh fruit and yoghurt from a 7-eleven three doors away. The room wasn't large but it was pleasant and perfectly functional with a small kitchen and dining area. There were also comfy chairs and an ottoman.
It was lovely to be able to look out at Hyde Park. Surprisingly there was no traffic noise at night (Friday & Saturday) and we slept soundly on very comfortable beds.
Front desk staff, cleaning staff and housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were able to get into our room within ten minutes to unpack which was a bonus, then on the last day we were able to leave our bags in a cloak room until the time of our flight.

Room Tip: The view of the park was great but, as it faces east, you need to shut the blinds and curtain if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    283
    54
    27
    14
See reviews for
216
188
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent 5 nights here to explore the city. The location is convenient. We got the train from the airport, just took the green line and got off at Museum station. The hotel is opposite the station. We booked a deluxe studio with balcony. I was a bit concerned as the room overlooked the main road and the park, but actually, with the air conditioning on, the road noise was not a problem at all. We were told there was renovation work going on, but the only thing we ever saw was a couple of workmen in the lift one day - no noise disturbance at all.
The room was very spacious with two king beds, table and chairs as well as arm chairs. The bathroom was fine. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen area fairly well equipped for basic catering.
When looking for somewhere to stay, we looked for somewhere that included breakfast. The thing they do here is put milk, a couple of slices of bread, butter, jams, cereal in the fridge for you to make yourself. It worked very well and was more than adequate to start the day with!
There is a free shuttle bus which does a circular route around the city, and one of the stops is near the hotel which is very convenient.
It takes about 20 minutes (fairly fast walking) to walk to Circular Quay and about 10 minutes to walk to Darling Harbour.
We found the staff at the front desk helpful.
The only really negative thing to say is that there was no free wifi.
We found it a good base for our time exploring Sydney, and would stay again if we ever come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I have previously stayed ay the Hyde Park Inn and booked it once again as our choice for an escape.
It is perfectly located and a short distance walk to Oxford Street, China Town, George Street and Darling Harbour.
There are bus stops just up the road and one marked #555 is free and a great way to get to Circular Quay.
We have stayed on the 15 floor before but this time we were on the 13th floor, same spectacular views over Hyde Park and views to the Harbour.

Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated (recently renovated). Parking is a block away and free.
Easy and pleasant check in and check out.
Once again the Hyde Park Inn was perfect for our 4 days stay and we will be back and will keep on recommending it.

Room Tip: Higher floors over 12 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When we booked this hotel, they were upfront that it was being renovated. They were very good at only making noise during the middle of the day, not earl in the morning or into the evening. The rooms are lovely. Ours had 1 queen and 2 single beds, couch, chairs, table, kitchenette, and even a doorbell! Breakfast was delivered to our room in the late afternoon so it was ready for the morning.We had bread, cereals, fruit cups, milk, juice, butter, jams, and cookies. We made use of the free guest laundry facilities downstairs. There were several washers and driers, so it did not take long to do a couple of loads. The Hotel is conveniently located across from the Museum Train station, and on a bus route. There is one free bus Green and white #555 that will take you down to Circular Quay. It wouldn't take too long to walk if you did not have to stop at each corner and wait for the pedestrian walk sign. We did walk it one day, but took the bus the next day to save our feet! We enjoyed walking through Hyde Park, and had a picnic lunch there one day. Staff at the front desk were helpful, and booked us their shuttle bus to go to the airport, for $45 for the four of us. The rooms did not have free wi-fi yet, but that is coming. We were able to get free wi-fi out on the street in front of the Hyde Park in to confirm our flights. We paid $231/night for the four of us, which seemed like a bargain for this area of Sydney. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and were able to book one room for all of us which is a rarity in Sydney! We were very impressed and kids loved continental breakfast supplies. Would definitely stay here again! Great location. Short walk to Darling Harbour, China Town, Westfield tower and great city shopping. Not too far to walk to Circular Quay either, all downhill on the way :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stay in Sydney regularly and this is our pick of hotels. The rooms are spacious and the service is great - nothing is too much trouble. Staff make you feel welcome. Across the road from train station and buses at the front door. Easy walking distance to the ferries. Bars, restaurants and shopping all within walking (or staggering distance!). Bit of a walk to cruise ship terminals with luggage but if you are not in a rush can be done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Hyde Park Inn isn't five star, but it's perfectly fine for what you need it for, which is a good hotel in a great location. It's just across the street from Hyde Park and from the Museum metro stop which means it's walking distance to most of what you want to see and do, or at least to the public transportation to get you there. We walked from there to Darlinghurst (Stanley street) for great dinners the two nights we were there. All in all a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.