We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Devon,England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent 5 nights here to explore the city. The location is convenient. We got the train from the airport, just took the green line and got off at Museum station. The hotel is opposite the station. We booked a deluxe studio with balcony. I was a bit concerned as the room overlooked the main road and the park, but actually, with the air conditioning on, the road noise was not a problem at all. We were told there was renovation work going on, but the only thing we ever saw was a couple of workmen in the lift one day - no noise disturbance at all.
The room was very spacious with two king beds, table and chairs as well as arm chairs. The bathroom was fine. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen area fairly well equipped for basic catering.
When looking for somewhere to stay, we looked for somewhere that included breakfast. The thing they do here is put milk, a couple of slices of bread, butter, jams, cereal in the fridge for you to make yourself. It worked very well and was more than adequate to start the day with!
There is a free shuttle bus which does a circular route around the city, and one of the stops is near the hotel which is very convenient.
It takes about 20 minutes (fairly fast walking) to walk to Circular Quay and about 10 minutes to walk to Darling Harbour.
We found the staff at the front desk helpful.
The only really negative thing to say is that there was no free wifi.
We found it a good base for our time exploring Sydney, and would stay again if we ever come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    292
    64
    27
    14
See reviews for
227
199
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I have previously stayed ay the Hyde Park Inn and booked it once again as our choice for an escape.
It is perfectly located and a short distance walk to Oxford Street, China Town, George Street and Darling Harbour.
There are bus stops just up the road and one marked #555 is free and a great way to get to Circular Quay.
We have stayed on the 15 floor before but this time we were on the 13th floor, same spectacular views over Hyde Park and views to the Harbour.

Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated (recently renovated). Parking is a block away and free.
Easy and pleasant check in and check out.
Once again the Hyde Park Inn was perfect for our 4 days stay and we will be back and will keep on recommending it.

Room Tip: Higher floors over 12 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When we booked this hotel, they were upfront that it was being renovated. They were very good at only making noise during the middle of the day, not earl in the morning or into the evening. The rooms are lovely. Ours had 1 queen and 2 single beds, couch, chairs, table, kitchenette, and even a doorbell! Breakfast was delivered to our room in the late afternoon so it was ready for the morning.We had bread, cereals, fruit cups, milk, juice, butter, jams, and cookies. We made use of the free guest laundry facilities downstairs. There were several washers and driers, so it did not take long to do a couple of loads. The Hotel is conveniently located across from the Museum Train station, and on a bus route. There is one free bus Green and white #555 that will take you down to Circular Quay. It wouldn't take too long to walk if you did not have to stop at each corner and wait for the pedestrian walk sign. We did walk it one day, but took the bus the next day to save our feet! We enjoyed walking through Hyde Park, and had a picnic lunch there one day. Staff at the front desk were helpful, and booked us their shuttle bus to go to the airport, for $45 for the four of us. The rooms did not have free wi-fi yet, but that is coming. We were able to get free wi-fi out on the street in front of the Hyde Park in to confirm our flights. We paid $231/night for the four of us, which seemed like a bargain for this area of Sydney. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and were able to book one room for all of us which is a rarity in Sydney! We were very impressed and kids loved continental breakfast supplies. Would definitely stay here again! Great location. Short walk to Darling Harbour, China Town, Westfield tower and great city shopping. Not too far to walk to Circular Quay either, all downhill on the way :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stay in Sydney regularly and this is our pick of hotels. The rooms are spacious and the service is great - nothing is too much trouble. Staff make you feel welcome. Across the road from train station and buses at the front door. Easy walking distance to the ferries. Bars, restaurants and shopping all within walking (or staggering distance!). Bit of a walk to cruise ship terminals with luggage but if you are not in a rush can be done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Hyde Park Inn isn't five star, but it's perfectly fine for what you need it for, which is a good hotel in a great location. It's just across the street from Hyde Park and from the Museum metro stop which means it's walking distance to most of what you want to see and do, or at least to the public transportation to get you there. We walked from there to Darlinghurst (Stanley street) for great dinners the two nights we were there. All in all a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada/Palm Springs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Having stayed at the Hyde Park in two years ago, and having enjoyed our experience there, we made three reservations this year: September 27 to October 2, October 5-9, and October 27 to November 5. (18 nights) After a long long trip from Toronto to Sydney including a twelve hour layover in San Francisco, we arrived at the hotel and checked in and went about some business in the city. Our room was ready at the appointed time and we headed for a much needed nap.

We were aware that renovations were underway but when we lay down, it seemed as if the drilling was in our heads. I went to the front desk and felt that the staff and manager were not at all sympathetic to our situation. As exhausted as I was after a 2 day trip, I was not pleasant to the manager. To make this short, we sorted that out, I apologized and we were moved to the 15th floor just about as far away from the noise as possible.

To add to that pleasant surprise, the onsite manager was able to block (or reserve or whatever they do) rooms on the 15th floor for the next two stays. THAT is taking care of a guest!
The hotel is located on Hyde Park just seconds from Museum Station and a short walk to a Monorail station, George Street (free shuttle bus through the CBD to the ferries,) Chinatown, the light rail, The new Westfield Shopping Centre, Oxford Street, City Hall, the QVB and much more.

We always book the Deluxe Studio with a request for a high floor and the beautiful view over the park. The rooms are clean, have a balcony and a kitchenette and available Wi-Fi. The beds are comfy and the service is efficient and friendly. On both this trip and the one two years ago, the hotel stored unneeded bags for us: once for two weeks!! There are three washers and three dryers available at no charge! No charge! Parking is available but as we had no car, I do not know what the cost is. Need ice? Someone will bring it to your room for you. Need to print or don’t have your own computer? Someone will take you to the business centre. No charge for printing!

Just in case the noise did remain a problem, we looked at some of the other hotels at that end of the park. HPI with its reasonable rates became a great bargain in comparison.
I know we will return to Sydney and I will book with Hyde Park Inn again with not even a second thought.

Hint: Just two doors down is a small café “My Coffee Room”: Good breakfast, great coffee, and the owner is a delight!

Room Tip: We like the deluxe studio with the balcony and kitchenette. There are corner rooms for families and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.