We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
New South Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great position and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a very comfortable weekend stay here. Great view over Hyde Park. Rooms have been nicely refurbished. Accommodation included a basic breakfast and off site parking two blocks away. This made it very good value for a couple with teenager. The position is great - very easy to walk everywhere plus train station across the road and buses at the doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    255
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
198
173
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were so lucky to check into this place on recommendation as it is ideally situated on Elizabeth Street. The serviced apartment was excellent as was the staff. There is a separate restaurant in the same building which was very good.

Room Tip: Book early and go for an apartment at the top to lessen the noise from the street - the fire engine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Hyde Park Inn. I stayed there for three weeks in a deluxe studio on the 6th floor. The room and bathroom had recently been refurbished with new bedding, and so the room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The view of the Hyde Park was also very lovely. Road noise was not a problem. The staff were helpful and the location was very convenient with a bus stop and train station right in front of the hotel. Darling Harbour and Chinatown are also within walking distance or a short bus ride away. Plus there is a 711 next door and plenty of food options near by. The free breakfast may not be much but the milk and fruits are handy to have in situations where a quick breakfast is needed. Overall a great value-for-money hotel and had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked the standard family room which had a double bed, 2 single beds and what appeared to be a couch that could be used as a bed too (as well as another couch and a table and chairs).

The room was really long and spacious - we only had 3 people in it and we didn't feel like we were tripping over each other. Kitchenette was good and the room we had booked came with complimentary breakfast which was bread, cereal, milk, fruit and orange juice - this was good for free.

Bathroom was really nice as it had obviously just been re-done. Shower was really nice and powerful.

Service was ok - lady at check in was ok, got to our room and had a flickery light so called them to come and fix it and a man with a ladder turned up pretty quickly and fixed it. He was also helpful and recommended public transport as we were discussing how to get somewhere. Cleaners were ok - had no bath mat for the first day, then we forgot to leave our towels out and didn't get them changed the second day, so swiped some extra towels off the trolley that was lurking in our hallway - the third day we had a super efficient cleaner who replaced all 6 of our towels and gave us a bathmat!

Our room came with a free car park - there was only space for us to park onsite on the first night - which was handy but it was very awkward. We had a park at a building down the road for the other 2 nights which was fine but they would only give us a 24 hour or 48 hour pass so we had to ensure we only put our car in the new building at the right time to give us enough time to leave on the exit day.

Location was good - quick walk to Pitt Street Mall, apparently there is a train station very close by that links to the Rocks but we caught taxi's for around $20.

Overall it was a good value hotel, certainly nothing special but it was clean enough and relatively quiet. Very good value for Sydney which is notoriously expensive!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koromiko,, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful stay we had a deluxe studio on the 12th floor and it was an oasis in a very busy city the location was fantastic it is within walking distance to circular quay and darling harbour , the room were very clean and well stocked , the breakfast included was well worth having saves you having to rush out in the morning , after travelling for a few days it was fantastic to be able to catch up on the washing , with the complementary laundry.The view from our room was right down to the harbour and over the trees in Hyde park fantastic , in the evening you could see the bats flying around the park . thanks again for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was so impressed with this hotel - the location, the room, the staff - couldn't fault it. It's in a nice location - so lovely to see the trees in Hyde Park when you look out of the window. Often in a hotel in a big city you have to compromise on location or the size of the room but this was not a problem in this place at all. The basic breakfast ingredients left in the fridge each day are such a bonus, helps to have a little something before you set out for the day. The room was fantastic - there were 3 of us staying and we had a family size room which would accommodate 4 people - a king size bed, and 2 singles (maybe king singles I'm not sure) - overall so spacious and a nice little area with a sofa and armchair as well. The room was spotless (recently renovated I think), the bathroom was adequate and in good condition. The only tiny weeny things I could fault were it was difficult to squeeze the shower gel out of the bottle in the shower and the beds were hard, as other reviewers had said. We solved the latter problem by lying on top of my doonah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Hyde Park in for work for one night.
I was impressed with the price of rooms especially since it included parking and continental breakfast.
The room was very large and could have easily accodated 4 four people and there was a kitchenette.
I will defintely stay there again.
There is also a very nice restaraunt attached to the hotel which had excellent food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.