We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Roomy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Clean & Roomy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 1 night only, checked in at 12noon. Hotel is opposite Hyde Park, our room was bright & fresh. 1 queen & 1 single bed, table & chairs, lounge, kitchenette with microwave, sink, cutlery & crockery, toaster & electric jug. Room much larger than normal, looked freshly painted, bathroom newly refurbished, flat screen TV. Breakfast supplied (Continental) Juice, fruit, bread with condiments, cereals & milk. We are staying again in December & looking forward to another comfortable stay. Parking is very tight but was included in our tariff. Ladies at reception very accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    300
    65
    27
    14
See reviews for
236
204
41
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Returned for a 3 day visit and was really impressed with the recent renovations to the Inn. The changes have certainly updated this accommodation - bathroom looks great with a fabulous flow, easier access and size - kitchen area neater and better layout - tv great...a big improvement! Still great value: parking (really tight), breakfast supplied, paper and central to all Sydney can offer. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times. Great discount for members of the RSL Parking and continental breakfast are included. It is conveniently located close to all city attractions and close to free bus services and directly opposite Hyde Park.. Also located opposite Museum Train Station. Lots of restaurants close by with a very good Italian Restaurant next door. A short walk to Chinatown which is a must if you like Asian food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my sister last year. The room we stayed in had a great view of the park across the road and is conveniently located near public transport which was great.
During the time we stayed there was construction which we were informed about, but it didn't bother us because the times they did construction was when we were out and about.
A few things I didn't particularly like about the room was there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, so it became very humid when the shower was being used.
Reception were very helpful with directions, giving us a map and locking up our luggage after check out.
Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recommended for weekend trips, where you’ll spend most of the time out, where you need quick access to a lovely part of town or a business trip. Just don’t plan to spend a lot of time in the confines of the hotel and you’ll find it does the trick.

The Inn is situated in an excellent position, across the road from Museum Station and the Cenotaph. Lovely views from the windows in the front rooms and easy to get access to most places by bus, train or taxi. It is an older building undergoing renovations in the past 12 months, which it needed.

The first impression of the place was the abruptness of check in staff. This is the first place in Australia and most of the English speaking world where I needed to surrender photo identification as I had booked via a web site. Yes, in some parts of the world, but being treated as a likely thief/runner/scammer in Australia? Speaks volumes for the type of management this place has. Second impression is the “continental breakfast” included in some package prices. A packet of cereal, two slices of bread Glad Wrapped in the fridge and an airline rip top juice. In a Sydney Hotel? OK, in a little regional motel in the country, it’s expected, but not even a breakfast in the dining room? This smacks of cheap and nasty.

The bed was rock hard and after a second night the back was done for. Being a fairly adept sleeper, this came as a surprise. My partner was in a fair degree of discomfort too, so it wasn’t me being precious. The renovations have used good average quality materials, but one can’t help but notice the lack of attention to detail of their installation. Again, a reflection on management oversight. The cheap quality of the linen makes you wonder how the star rating is given out.

So, how was it? It worked. Did the job for a weekend, was convenient, but only bearable, not pleasant. Good price, service and attitude that requires some serious uplifting and a rethink about how important guests are to the business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hyde Park Inn is conveniently located opposite the Museum station in the heart of downtown Sydney, just a stone's throw from the CBD and Darling Harbour. The room that I had was spacious with two double beds. Continental breakfast is included and placed in the refrigerator everyday. It is a perfect place to stay for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at Hyde Park Inn. A truly lovely inn indeed. Upon opening the room it felt like a home away from home. Checking in was a breeze, upon opening the door I did frown just a little upon seeing the carperted flooring but my eyes brightened upon seeing the tiled floor of the kitchenette. (Less dust you see!) The bathroom was spotlessly clean and so was the beds and sheets. It was truly a homey place, with a beautiful Hyde Park view from my balcony and I could even see the beautiful St Marys Cathedral from there. An exit leading to Museum Station lay directly across the road! The continental breakfast located in the little fridge was a very nice touch! Room was uber clean and tidy. My friend and I always sighed with relief upon coming back to our room, truly felt like coming home. Thanks for an absolutely wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
0.2 mi away
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.