We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Inn to your Saves list
Hyde Park Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Erlangen
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The location of the hotel in the downtown of the city is great. The access to public transportation, closeness to gardens etc. make this hotel ideal for a vacation. The welcome at the hotel was very comforting.The check - in at the hotel was smooth and quick. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was modern with all the modern amenities. I would surely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    263
    47
    23
    12
See reviews for
204
178
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We recently stayed at the Hyde Park Inn & after reading some negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised to find the room very clean & generous in size.
The kitchenette was a bonus & adequate breakfast provisions were replenished each day.
Unfortunately the room was very noisey at night. However as the hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment the noise level should be reduced when double glazing is completed.
Another criticism I would have is that they only provide liquid soap and do not provide any shampoo/conditioner. There is a liquid soap dispenser next to the handbasin in the bathroom & another in the shower. I did not find this to be 'user friendly' and would much prefer to have 'real' soap. We had our own shampoo & conditioner so it did not effect us but guests who rely on this being provided would be inconvenienced. I understand the liquid soap is also suitable for hair washing but I personally would not like to use it.
Staff were very pleasant & most helpful during our stay.
Location is good with easy access to Museum Railway station and buses stop just along from the front door.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

After hours searching online, Hyde Park Inn emerged as one of the few CBD places that accomodates a family without costing the earth. Our adult daughter joined us in Sydney and we were very happy with our spacious family room. Comfortable beds with individual reading lights, new flat-screen tv with excellent reception and the channels we wanted, a compact kitchen with just what we needed -- this place suits us.
Check out the location. Cross the street and you're in Sydney's beautiful parkland and gardens. Walk to the Art Gallery, Museum . . . theaters, best shopping district, Darling Hbr.
Our room was well-maintained. Staff were efficient, and friendly throughout the property.
We've stayed in other CBD hotels and this is the one for us. Thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for four night. Good sized room, it was nice to have small kitchen area to make drinks, and store items in fridge. Enjoyed having lounge area to watch TV etc, better than having to lay on your bed. All in all, had a great time in Sydney.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which was quite.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We booked into the Hyde Park Inn over Christmas and New Year. Given the rates charged by hotels in Sydney over this period the HPI was reasonably priced.

Our only issue was that our room was a little dirty upon arrival. However we reported this to the reception who came and cleaned the room straight away.

The room it'self was large with full kitchen, loads of storage and very comfortable.

The HPI provide an in room breakfast that is left in your fridge the day before. This proved more than adequate and saved going out and spending more money.

The HPI is in a great location - could walk to everything including the ferries at Circular Quay. Some reviews said that there was a lot of street noise - certainly there is some, it's a large city centre after all. However we did not find it a problem.

Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights in this hotel, very good value and good location. Breakfast provided in your room, this saved going out and finding somewhere to eat in the morning. The hotel is on Elizabeth street and the free bus 555 runs past it down to circular quay. Very noisy outside the hotel and lots of shops and cheap eating places nearby. Our room wasn't made up on 2 days, luckily we weren't messy people so tidied our own room up ! If you stay here make sure you look out of the window at dusk to see the bats flying past

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

When we arrive there was hair on the cover of the bed....
The fridge contained food of another customer.
The floor of the kitchen stuck.
The internet tariff was so expensive (11$ one hour, 22$ a day), that we can think that Australia was an under developped country.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.